We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,596)
Filter reviews
1,596 results
Traveler rating
1,032
402
102
36
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,032
402
102
36
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ixchel ii playa norte the penthouse bedroom suite golf cart full kitchen ocean front standard room chairs and umbrellas beautiful beach hot tub hidalgo street beach service best beach on the island flat screen restaurants and shops the main drag
Filter
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 1,596 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

We thoroughly loved the hotel. Our room was a suite. It was decorated beautifully. The rooms are more like condos, so you can purchase food at the store, snacks, drinks, and prepare food yourself if you choose. The bathroom had a large walk in shower. The bedroom was spacious, but the bed was very firm. Everything was clean and beautiful.
The staff was fabulous in the hotel and on the beach. The drinks and food were tasty.
They offer money exchange, however, they were always out of pesos. There were several exchange places near by. But, we were counting on that service our first night. You get a better rate using pesos.
We will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 February 2016

CLEAN! Which is the most important thing when staying in a hotel. The maid service was constantly sweeping and mopping.
STAFF - wonderfully friendly - all of them. Front desk, maid service, towel guy, beach service, everyone so welcoming. We requested 3 different things for our room and they were at our door in less than 5 minutes.
Affordable.
A fantastic perk that makes the hotel really worth it is that the rooms come with a purified water dispenser which they will replace when you run out. Remember this is not an all-inclusive place so the fact that they provide this is really great.
Keep in mind that some service, such as beach/food/umbrella/beverage service, does take time -- you might wait 10-15 minutes for your drink or lunch order to come back to the beach. Given that they serve A LOT of people that are constantly ordering, this is expected so please be patient. They work very hard and want people to be happy so be nice and return the smile even if it takes a while. That's just Island Life - it's laid back.
Also keep in mind that this is a public beach so when you are solicited by the local people 100 times a day for trinkets and massages, this is expected and has nothing to do with the hotel so don't take it out on them. I didn't mind the constant solicitation because it takes 2 seconds to say "no gracias" and they move along. No big deal.
This is a very nice place but if you expect 5-star and to be pampered, this probably isn't the place for you. But if you are a laid back person with time to spend relaxing on the beach who likes cleanliness and nice people, I highly recommend Ixchel.
While none of the servers expect extra tips and are very sweet regardless, PLEASE TIP THEM! They deserve it for the work they do.
I would recommend this place to anyone vacationing in Isla Mujeres.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BunnBunn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2016

Dear BunnBunn_10,

Thank you for choose Ixchel Beach Hotel, for your holidays.

We are glad to know about such a good time you spend at Isla Mujeres enjoying the beach and sun.

We highly appreciate all direct comments of our customers, like yours, positive reviews reinforce our mission to provide the best experience for our Guests and helps us to keep up the good work!.

On behalf of all the Staff we want to thank you.

Sincerely,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Best location on the north beach! Staff are helpful and friendly!. last year we had a wonderful 1 BR suite with balcony, and booked directly with hotel asking for a similar room. When we arrived, we were given a plain hotel room, no balcony. Were told the 1BR was over 100$ more a night! The room was very basic, bed and NO dresser to place clothes, had to live out of a suitcase! Very disappointed in room. Would have been much happier in the suite, but had not counted on the much higher charge than the previous year!
Also, the mattresses are rock hard! Beware if this is not your preference....(I recommend that they get mattress pads! We both woke up very achy and frequently!)

Room Tip: Definitely try to get ocean view with balcony!
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dramy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2016

Greetings dear dramy,

Thank you for your sharing your experience.

Your input is highly valuable to us and based on your comments we would like to take this find opportunity areas where we are committed to improve such as finding additional options for dressers and mattress pads, following up to achieve our goal on constantly providing the best possible experience for our guests.

We invite you to give us the honor to visit us again in order to experience these improvements.

Warmest regards,
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

This December was our second visit in three years of two weeks each time. Our two bedroom suite each time had 1200 plus square feet, lots of room and balcony space for 5 of us. Kalak the onsite restaurant also runs the beach chairs and umbrellas and is as good as any of the multiple beach/water front restaurants-- we ate there almost daily and found them actually pretty good and pristine clean. We saw NO mosquitos in a total of 4 December weeks visiting. We would not speculate for up island mangrove areas. However there is intermittent wind on Playa Norte where the Ixchel is making it bug free mostly. The property is low key, well managed, quite making it seem more upscale than the price would indicate. One block away there are maybe 50 restaurants and we could find variety and quality to keep all five of us happy. We decided to eat all meals out because of the good quality and prices.
The beach is good for kids, is shallow, good for laps and pristine clean. Mayan ruins are a day trip away for overcast or rainy days. No negatives. It is all barrier free for folks with child gear.

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2016

Dear James L.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience!

It is a pleasure for us to make you feel at home and besides, being privileged with our beach that everybody enjoys. Your comments motivate us to keep up the good work and excellence in our services.

Undoubtedly, we hope to see you again in the near future to make your next stay as memorable as the others.

Kindest regards,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2016

The staff is exceptional! Very friendly and helpful. The beach is great. Pool is clean and refreshing. Views are wonderful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The only complaint I had was a water leak due to a ruptured water pipe. We had water leaking into our room which resulted in ruining the only pair of shoes my son had with him. I was compensated 500 pesos, but that was not enough to replace the $175 pair of size 16 Nike sneakers.

Room Tip: Make sure it has a balcony. A corner suite has great views.
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2016

Greetings dear Betty C,

Thanks for your input!

We are so glad to know that you have enjoyed our accommodations and location however, we would like to apologize for the inconvenients that it may cause the water leaking and we work hard by doing our best to accomplish your satisfaction.

If you might return to Isla Mujeres in the future and if you should consider to stay with us once again, we will be looking forward to become your holidays in to a memorable experience.

We wish you all the best!
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews