We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barracuda(Cozumel)
Free cancellation until 07/28
US$85
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel B Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Mexicana Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Plaza Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beds Friends Hostel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$26
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Coral Reef Inn(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amigos Hostel Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
US$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$78
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/23
US$234
US$226
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,064)
Filter reviews
2,064 results
Traveler rating
949
623
293
114
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
949
623
293
114
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbabieca dive centermurphy bedcruise shipactivities directorone bedroom suitetower roomshot tubbeach areafishjuan carlosday passthe general managerall inclusive planthe wait staffall inclusive packagetimeshare presentationtime share
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 2,064 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our 5th visit to the El Cid while cruising with the family. This year the pool side servcie was not quite has good as past years. The main problems was not enough servcie around the pool area when wanting food or something to drink. Overall we had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank hburn2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCIDRESORTS3, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear client,

First off, thank you so much for taking the time in sharing your recent experience at our resort through TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to have you as a frequent guest here at our resort and that you and your family had an awesome time during your previous visit to our facilities, nevertheless, we are sorry to hear that the pool service side might have caused a slight unease to your visit, we will definitely work on this regard with the objective to ocntinue offering you the high level of service that has distinguished to our resort.

It would be fantastic to see you again anytime soon.

Best Regards,
Andrés Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved my stay and the staff. The pull down bed was not the most comfortable but i loved the room set up; being there on business, the large table in the room was most convenient. The room was always very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCIDRESORTS3, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mrs. Paquin,

First off, I would like to thank you for taking the time in sharing your comments with the followers of Tripadvisor.

I would like to offer a sincere token of gratitude and appreciation for your kind remarks in regards to the resort and more importantly its staff.
Our main goal is to create memorable vacations for our guests, we are pleased to read that we were able to achieve this goal with you.
Thank you also for your feedback about the pull-down bed, we will take this into account in order to correct and improve on the details that could have made your stay an even better experience.

It would be fantastic to see you again in a near future.

Sincerely,
Andrés Maillard
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Had booked an all inclusive resort day pass with the hotel. First impression was in the lobby, at the front desk. We waited behind anther couple that had debarked from the same cruise, listened as they were told that
their credit card was declined, and listened as they were asked for another form of payment.

While the fellow cruisers/ guest called their bank, 1 of the 3 employees came to assist us. They informed us that our card was declined also. NOTE: I had informed my bank of my Travel Itinerary prior to traveling therefore, I requested that they scan the card again knowing that the card wouldn’t have been declined. They scanned the card again and it was accepted. I am not sure if it is just a coincidence that we both were told that our cards were declined but when you are traveling to a foreign county it’s hard not to be skeptical. Maybe they were just not properly trained on how to operate the front desk. Not sure whatever the reason may be, just be prepared for all situations with a backup plan just in case and make sure to inform your banks prior to traveling to save yourself the possible hassle! See my other review on El CID resort pass for further helpful review.

Did not receive info of what the rules were for use of the hotel grounds, hours, etc. didn’t know where to get towels for pool or lounge chairs. The staff, the FIRST impression / greeting that you receive when you arrive isn’t the very best for the money paid.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank solofishergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We are El Cid Platinum members are thoroughly enjoy coming here every year. We always scuba dive with Babieca Dive centre and feel we are well looked after. We especially like the quiet peaceful ambiance of this resort and the ocean front views! Great place for non-divers as well- the snorkling is fabulous. Food is delicious and served with a smile. The most important thing that makes this resort-- the staff! We've been coming here for years and prefer this El Cid resort because we feel like family coming here, not only to relax but to visit! Thank you for making us feel so special at our home away from home.

Room Tip: For divers- ask to be in the small building- it's easier to go back to your room after your dive!
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorilee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCIDRESORTS3, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to receive your excellent rating and comments based on your recent visit.

It is for El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel a great pleasure to hear all these wonderful things coming from such a distinguished guest like you.
We are very grateful to have you as a member in our facilities, and to know that our resort has always been like a second home to you.
As an institution it is our commitment to make sure that our guest receive the best quality service and that there stay is as pleasant as possible.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to our resort soon

Sincerely,
Andrés Maillard
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

This is our second year in a row of visiting this resort. Overall we still enjoyed our stay. Had our three and a half year old with us this time. I'll run through the pros and cons.

Pros:
I had a tricky situation in getting my reservation and Yuyenith Nava at El Cid's main office helped me a ton.
The housekeeping is incredible and the best we have ever had anywhere.
The activities director Mili is a very warm and kind person. She is representative of the friendliness of the people of Cozumel.
The ocean in front of the resort is beautiful, free from seaweed, and full of all types of tropical fish. We snorkel multiple times daily and saw eels, Ray's, most of the tropical fish around etc. The steps are moss covered so watch your step.
We don't mind the cruise ships as far as the boats themselves. They enhance the view for me personally, the traffic they bring to the resort is another story.
Cons:
Construction going until 930pm? Nowhere is that ok.
Our first room had no running water so after unpacking we had to pack back up and move. We were given a couple free breakfasts.....
The food this time wasn't the best, some undercooked, bland etc. We weren't all inclusive fortunately but they need to work on this.
The drinks cater to an all inclusive type as well, but this is Mexico you need to offer tasty margaritas. Not just a sour mix and tequila. Use orange liqueur, good tequila, fresh lime and sugar.
Timeshare a bit more pushy this time.
Rooms can be noisy depending on occupancy.
Our particular rooms doors didn't really lock that well.
The cruise ship people seem to take over during the part of the day they flow in, tend to get more service as well

Tips:
Couple of good restaurants around.
Paprika, Ernesto's, Pancho's at the puerta Maya pier was pretty good as well.
The shop attached to the resort is run by a few very sweet women and have basically everything you need, buy a couple gallons of water because we weren't provided much by the hotel unless we paid for it. I liked spending my money in there because of how kind they are.
The cruise piers are cool to walk around but don't spend too much money there.
Chankanaab was great, we enjoy paradise beach. Not so much Playa Mia this time.

We might be back but not sure this time.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
Thank Jbtayl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCIDRESORTS3, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for taking the time in sharing your comments on a basis of this last visit to El Cid La Ceiba Beach through Tripadvisor.

We are glad to identify in your comments that you and your family spent a great time during your vacation with us and that our staff members assisted you and served you as you deserved.

Nevertheless, it is a shame to realize that this holiday in Cozumel has not been as pleasant as you desired since those negative situations occurred during your stay prevented you and your family of a comfortable holiday. We are grateful you take the time to list each of them to make it even more clearly for us in the areas that we have to reinforce and make improvements.

At El Cid Resorts, our mission has always been to offer you and the rest of our guest the highest quality of service and the maintenance work executed on the facilities has the purpose to continue offering you the level of service that has distinguished our resort. Nonetheless, we can assure you that your comments are very important for us and we will work on the action plans in order to improve the deviation mentioned in our service, and then, have the opportunity to achieve our objective which is the satisfaction of our guests.

Hopefully, you can give us another opportunity to be your hosts and serve you and your family merit in the future.

Sincerely,
Andrés Maillard
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews