We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$297
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Explorean Cozumel(Cozumel)
US$296
US$198
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel B Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$146
US$120
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$145
US$117
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Mexicana Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
US$631
US$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Plaza Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coral Reef Inn(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
36
65
55
12
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
65
55
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive paradisecruise shipno elevatorswim up barmega martsmall tvhotel guestsdaily maid serviceroom fridgeenjoyed my stayenglish channelssandy areabeach sidetacosecond weekfresh towelsla choza
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018

This beach side location is wonderful in Cozumel. The location is south of the "square" by six blocks, but reasonable shopping is close by - as is the Mega Store. You have to take care of food and beverage business at the No Name Bar (under the hotel an including the beachfront. Need a place to stay? Need a drink? Need to take a break from walking. Well, here it is.

Room Tip: Location and service - #1
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2018

This is a dive resort. Make no mistake about it. It is old and there are virtually no amenities. The reason to stay here is because it is centrally located in San Miguel and all th great restaurants, shopping and tour guides are close by. The beds are not comfortable, but that is a small price to pay for me. The A/C works well and there is an in room fridge. Television reception is poor and English channels are sparse, but that’s not why you’re in Mexico. Every room has a view of the water and the sunsets are spectacular. WiFi is available in the lobby. The No Name pool bar is a lot of fun and during the day is a destination for cruise ship employees who can get a bit rowdy. Food is good, but expensive when compared to the local restaurants. You get a slight discount for staying in the hotel. The in house dive company is great and the largest operator on the island. I’d youre a diver you are in good hands with Dive Paradise.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an ocean view. You can lose.
Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
Thank MagicLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Alberto G, Gerente at Barracuda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

thanks for your comments that helps a lot to be better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2018

The Hotel Barracuda is a great value for the money. Located close to everything in Cozumel, and has a fun bar connected to it. Great for a quick dive trip, will definitely stay at the Hotel Barracuda again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Alberto G, Gerente at Barracuda, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thanks for your comments it was a pleasure to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 December 2017

What's good: maid service- really great. Location. Own jetty. Opposite Mega- a big supermarket.

What's not good: only switch on hot water between 7-10 in morning and 6-8 in evening. Completely useless if you are using the onsite scuba company where you dive in the mornings and return lunchtime.
Wifi - can only get in reception and the pool/bar area
Also, phone reception not great so you can't rely on your own data.

'No name' bar is on site, reasonable menu for food but, when cruise ships are in (5 days a week) then there is a deal for the crew from the cruise ships. They take over the beach, pool, bar. Staff prioritise them over you. I was literally on a lounger where staff went around me to serve everyone else but utterly ignored I was there. So if you want to feel like you have gategrashed someone else's party in your own hotel be my guest.

It's basic, I don't mind basic. But just a little further down is hotel cozumel. I met loads of people from there who recommend it. It costs only a little more but is all inclusive and they all said it was good. I had to pay for everything. Weren't even allowed to take my own water bottle to the beach.

So value for money? And lastly, rude. On exit, I'd left a big tip in the room. When I handed in my key, I wasn't greeted, wished good journey, thanked. No instead I was barked at - literally - making sure I had left money. By the way at hotel cozumel, tips are included.

Would I recommend barracuda? No. Absolutely not.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay, don't get ground floor and far away from bar as possible.
Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank LittleSwissLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Alberto G, Gerente at Barracuda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017
Google Translation

gracias por sus comentarios lo que no entiendo es porque hasta que salen escriben sus quejas estoy seguo que si nos dicen su problema se lo resolvemos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2017

A favorite of my Mexican Hacienda hotels. Modest room, good location for a disconnect.
The sea side balcony is to sit back and read or just enjoy the view.
Pool and restaurant area was a bit lively, at night very peaceful.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelDarcheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Alberto G, Gerente at Barracuda, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews