We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$298
Booking.com$266
Westin.com$196
Priceline$196
Orbitz.com$196
Destinia.com$400
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveler rating
375
80
50
44
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
375
80
50
44
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool las gaviotas beautiful hotel lobster balcony room snack bar all inclusive option key lime pie sea urchins relaxing stay north side lounge chairs snorkeling gear room number small beach restaurant staff ceviche
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 601 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2021 via mobile

Decent place but you are far away from everything. Therefore everything costs a third to double more what you pay in town. Need pesos? Sorry, their ATM only gives dollars. Rent a scooter? It will cost you $35 per day vs $20 in town. Food and drink? The same.

There are no decent, appropriately priced restaurants anywhere nearby, so you will have to take a taxi or rent a car/scooter for highly inflated rates.

The DJ blasts horrible club music all afternoon, and if you’re super unlucky you’ll have smokers right next door to you (seriously, you can’t go outside the room?) poisoning your balcony experience.

Other than that, it’s a nice hotel with good snorkeling on premises.

Room tip: Rent a car at the airport or a scooter in town.
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank dwo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro Ruiz , Director General at The Westin Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2021

Dear dwo99

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent experience at the Westin Cozumel. Our goal is to serve all our guests with the highest level of service and satisfaction.
We are always concerned about guests’ wellbeing and strive to make their holiday an unforgettable experience, therefore be sure we will take action in the hotel entertaiment and music around the property.
We hope we can host you back soon

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2021 via mobile

Location location location! Excellent staff from bellmen, front desk, housekeeping, restaurants, bars (pool, beach & indoor) top notch professional, eager to please, friendly beyond measure. We felt welcomed always.

Our room was remade every day from the time we went to breakfast & returned. The hallway on our floor seemed to be mopped & fresh smelling throughout the day.

The breakfast buffet was fabulous! Everything you can imagine, egg dishes, meats, ftruits, cheeses, starches, Spanish dishes…outstanding!

Our room (I believe all the rooms) had a MAGNIFICENT view of the beautiful Caribbean ocean, we could see Playa del Carmen & CanCun from our room & the beach.

There is a wonderful little snorkeling cove.

Quick five minute ride into town, on the north side, away from all the hustle and bustle, and cruise ships! Still close enough to get to shopping if that’s on your radar.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Russnlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro Ruiz , Director General at The Westin Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2021

Dear Runsslor

I am delighted to read, that we were up to par to your standards. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence. Our team will never grow tired of reading such complimenting reviews or of providing the type of service that warrants feedback such as your.

Our resort will be ready for you all the time!

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2021 via mobile

Tastefully designed hotel to maximize breathtaking views from every corner. The beach is rocky but makes for wonderful snorkelling. Food and drinks are fresh and well made. The best part of the resort is the attentive staff!

Located 8 mins from downtown and the airport.

Downfall is the worst gift shop to ever exist. Pack absolutely everything as this place doesnt even have sunscreen to sell. I don’t understand why it looks like someone robbed it but they only have about 2 shirts and 1 swimsuit.

Looking forward to my next few days.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Olivera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro Ruiz , Director General at The Westin Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2021

Dear Olivera M

I truly appreciate your sincere and constructive comments and we are very pleased to know you had a delightful stay with us and that we were able to fulfill all your expectations. We strive in having a great ambience to satisfy all of our guest needs, so we are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are actually offering more options in our gift shop. thank you for you comment and apologies for the inconveniences on not having the complet items.
Again thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2021

We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights at the Westin Cozumel. We requested connecting rooms as we were traveling with 2 very young kids. We were told when we booked that this request was subject to availability, which we understood. But when we arrived at 1pm to check-in, and reiterated the request, nobody said there was any problem, and in fact we were led to believe that this would be honored. We were given the keys to the first room (as only one was ready - which was considerate), but they sent us to the wrong room and the keys didn't work, so we had to go back down again to fix the issue ("Oops - that was the wrong room"). Then at 6pm when we got the keys to the second room, we learned the rooms were not connecting. The staff were apologetic, but pretty much hid behind the whole "subject to availability" clause. Had they told us at 1pm when we arrived, it's likely other arrangements could have been made (including perhaps kindly asking our neighbors if they might agree to be moved). But that evening there was nothing to do apparently, and so we had to squeeze into one room even though we paid for two. As compensation - we were offered 2 free breakfasts - even though we were 4 people (at least if you are going to give us free breakfast give us for the whole family). The next day we were moved to a new room that did connect, though again the keys didn't work at first. And on our last day the keys stopped working again as well, so another trip downstairs. (felt like there was always an issue) The managers never reached out to us afterwards (even though I asked to speak with them), nor was anything mentioned at checkout. (they seemed absent all the time). Overall, the resort seems nice, with ocean view rooms (though the rooms are showing some wear/damage and the food is just ok). But our whole experience really made us not want to return. Which is a shame.

Room tip: Get a high floor for amazing views.
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wojiaotian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro Ruiz , Director General at The Westin Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2021

Dear Mr. wojiaotian

I thank you very much for sharing your feedback. I am verry sorry to read our team let you down in some of your expectations. Be sure, we strive to accommodate the guests according their special requests; please keep in mind these are always subject to availability as previusly informed, as you know, even the rooms they provide were not conected, there was a room accomodation for your family for being rooms one next to the other, at the time of you check in our desk clerk undertood this was the need and they keept the rooms for your family, there was must be lenguage barrier that affected and make the procedure more difficut, I have reviewed your case with the Front Desk team, and believe us, they did their bests for you to be the nearest as possible and to have a wonderful vacation.
We regrest to read our compensation as a good will to make you feel more welcome did not meet your expectations and also the fact our associated accomodate you during your vacations was not up to your needs. I apologies also for the room key issue, this problem is being addressed with the team in order to avoid issues with our future guest.
Again I thank you for your review and I invite you to give us the opportunity to host you in the future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2021 via mobile

Took a quick to Cozumel and was very happy that I chose the Westin…great room, great amenities, loved the Sky Lounge!
Stopped at the Snack Bar on the way out to spend our last hour, great service, great drinks and the nachos were just enough to fill me up for my trip back home!
Special shout out to our waiter William, he was very efficient, friendly and attentive!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ELBLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro Ruiz , Director General at The Westin Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2021

Daer Mr. ELBLovesTravel

Thank you fo your comments and fo your recent visit. It is wonderful to read that we met and exceeded your expectations. Our aim is to impress each and every one of our guests and I am happy to know that we succeeded in your case. My special congrats wil be for William because he was abble to ensure you enjoy you visit in our restaurants and bars.

Thank you again for comments and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews