We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Oka'an(Chichen Itza)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$72
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$140
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda Chichen(Chichen Itza)
Free cancellation until 07/21
US$129
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen(Chichen Itza)
Free cancellation until 07/28
US$40
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Casa de las Lunas(Chichen Itza)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$42
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Quinta Marciala(Valladolid)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayan Bongalow(Chichen Itza)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,522)
Filter reviews
1,522 results
Traveler rating
811
470
139
69
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
811
470
139
69
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmayan observatoryprivate entrancesuperior roommain buildingno elevatorlarge balconylight showlunch buffettacosgolf carta la carte restaurantticket boothstained glassjacuzzi tubbeautiful groundsbeautiful hotelstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,522 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

WHY IS THIS PLACE NOT JAM PACKED? This was a spontaneous booking for myself, my husband and our 8 month old baby and it was the BEST decision ever. The breathtaking gardens, pools, birdwatching, walking paths, huge bath rub in the room, private entrance to the ruins, views of the mayan observatory at Chichen Itza (from our room!) and the entire property was like waltzing into heaven. But on top of that, the staff surpassed anything we could have imagined. Travelling with a baby is tough, but not here. One night, the bartender scooped up our baby and wandered the property so that we could enjoy our dinner! We felt like kings and queens here.

We also both had massages at the spa, which were impeccable. I work in the massage and spa tourism industry and was very impressed.

Francisco and Jeremiah were particularly wonderful staff and made our visit even better with their kindness and helpfulness.

Cons:
- You cannot pay with credit card at the spa. I imagine if they change this is would get way more visits
- Only one restaurant was open for dinner and prices range from 20-40USD$, but there are more basic snacks at the bar

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel itself and loved it - a superior room was perfect for us.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ashleyholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thanks for your visit and your AMAZING comments on your stay at The Mayaland.
We'll let Francisco & Jeremías know hoe much you appreciated their service!
We look forward to having the honor of being your hosts again.
Hasta la vista !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 February 2018

My wife and I returned a short time ago from another fabulous visit to the Mayaland Hotel and Bungalows in Chicen Itza. This was our third stay in 5 years at this lush tropical resort located immediately adjacent to the Mayan ruins in the national park. Although we live in Mexico and have a trove of incredible destinations at our disposal, Chicen Itza and the Mayaland are my wife's favorite destinations to celebrate her January birthday. The Yucatan in January is quite peaceful. The Christmas and New Years celebrants have departed, and so has any hint of mosquitoes. The weather is mild, and just about perfect in our opinion. This time we stayed in the Lodge at Chichen Itza, a part of the Mayaland Hotel and Bungalows complex on the opposite side of the property from the main hotel building. Our palapa was located in a beautifully manicured, tranquil, grouping of three buildings, each with several spacious rooms, clustered around a semi-private pool primarily for the use of this grouping. Our room was gorgeous with hand-carved details on doors and headboard, a (very comfortable) king size bed, an ample bathroom (immaculate) with jacuzzi and most impressively, a palapa ceiling that was close to 20 feet tall. What makes this resort so amazing are the people who run it. As always we were taken care of in the best of all possible ways. Unfortunately my wife came down with a cold during our stay. The staff delivered meals to our palapa when she didn't feel well, and showed us great sympathy. The main dining room in the Mayaland hotel building has indoor and outdoor seating, and continues to be top notch. In the evening there is live guitar music and singers. The mid-day buffet which is available every day in the main building offers a wide selection of local and international foods, and especially some of the best tacos! In all, this was another great experience. We are planning another visit in 2020 which will be the 50th anniversary of my wife's first stay at the Mayaland, Hotel while on her way to Central America with her mother. Thanks Mayaland for another wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casi-Poblano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Your GREAT series of comments on The Mayaland enlighten our hearts and give reason to our efforts, those of all of us.
THANK YOU ! We all truly appreciate them.

Kindly let us know when exactly in 2020 you intend to return. I welcome the opportunity to personally meet and great you on
your wife's 50th anniversary of her first visit (in the days on my late grandmother, co-founder with my grandfather of the Mayaland
Lodge back in 1923.

I look forward to meeting you, your wife and all your family.

Until then, may you all enjoy safe and happy travels !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2018

We drove from Cancun airport and got to the hotel around 5 pm for a one night stay. This is the perfect place to spend the night for the Noches de Kukulkan light show and an early morning tour of Chichen Itza. Our check in was quick, and service was flawless. We asked for directions to Chichen Itza and how to buy tickets, they were happy to provide us with all the needed information. Notice that the private entrance to the ruins is not open for the night show, only for visits during the day 8 am to 4 pm. The 5 minute drive to the main Chichen Itza entrance is super easy even at night . The room surprised us in a good way! We booked the room with view of the observatory and in my opinion that is the way to go! Floor to ceiling windows and a big balcony with comfortable seating where you can enjoy the view. After coming back from the light show around 9:30 pm we visited the Mayaland restaurant. We loved the service and the food. We absolutely loved their Margaritas!!!! In the morning we enjoyed room service breakfast right on our balcony. Then off to enjoy the ruins during the day right through the private hotel entrance. We will recommend this hotel to our family and friends!

Room Tip: view of the ruins
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LoreRivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

What a thorough, fantastic review of your stay with us ! THANK YOU !!

We all look forward to having the honor of being your hosts again.
Hasta la vista.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

This was our second night on our tour of yuchatan, and we specifically picked this place due to its proximity to the ruins, we booked through trailfinders who endorsed this was a 3 star hotel (note 3 star not 4 star as the write up says)

Before we left both us, trailfinders and condor Verde who we had booked the private tour with all confirmed we could check in at midday and we paid a premium to do so ...

When we got here we were advised we could check in, once they spotted it was a double room for my husband and I (2 men) there was confusion all over the front desk ... we were then told our room wouldn’t be ready for another 90 mins and we could wait in the bar

I complained and explained I didn’t come here to sit in their bar I came to enjoy the ruins, apparently it was ok however to tell me to go to the ruins tomorrow and go enjoy the pool here, you can get changed in the toilets .... if you saw the toilets you would know how wrong an answer that was...

A 90 min wait then had another 30 mins added to it , then another 10 .... finally exploding at the front desk and asking for the manager again finally and mystically allowed them to find a different room to put us in ...

.... btw when you check in you get offered a local drink ... except if your a same sex couple as we were the only people to not be offered one (including the people in the queue before us (who were also complaining about the cleanliness of their room) and the couple behind us .. who got their room straight away )

Whilst I can’t tell if this is specific homophobia or just plain rudeness apparently it was acceptable because we booked through booking.com (which we didn’t it was trailfinders and a private tour company) so maybe they have an issue with them ...

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Heffstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

You have it all wrong... sad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

We booked a bungalow at the site but found it to be very dark, close to the swimming pool and offered little privacy. We asked to change and were provided with a room overlooking the archeological site which was much brighter. Although this room was less expensive, the hotel charged the full rate for the bungalow, which we felt was not good customer relations.

The hotel is in an excellent position for access to Chichen Itsa with its own private entrance. The grounds of the hotel are also beautiful and very well maintained. The food at the restaurants was acceptable if not brilliant whilst service was of a high standard.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Jimpat500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thanks for your visit !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews