We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$72
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Oka'an(Chichen Itza)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$140
US$42
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen(Chichen Itza)
US$40
US$39
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Casa de las Lunas(Chichen Itza)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hacienda Chichen(Chichen Itza)
US$129
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$42
US$41
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Quinta Marciala(Valladolid)(Great Value!)
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonte(Valladolid)
US$138
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,522)
Filter reviews
1,522 results
Traveler rating
811
470
139
69
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
811
470
139
69
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmayan observatoryprivate entrancesuperior roommain buildingno elevatorlarge balconylight showlunch buffettacosgolf carta la carte restaurantticket boothstained glassjacuzzi tubbeautiful groundsbeautiful hotelstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 1,522 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2015

Our family (2 adults + 3 kids ages 6,8,10) stayed here on our trip to see Chichen Itza. We rented a car and drove out from Cancun. It was an easy drive, and made the trip to Chichen Itza incredibly relaxing! The hotel is really nice with different "bungalows" across the grounds and each little grouping surrounding the pool. The kids thought the mosquito nets over the beds made it seem like we really were "in the jungle". We at at the restaurant in the main building one evening and it was one of the best meals we had while in Mexico - sitting outside, strolling band, great food. It was really nice. The staff was very helpful, even coming to find us one night when we left the lights on on our car, and returning a book that I had left laying in the lobby on a different day. The parking lot is a little ways away from the buildings, but they pick you up in a golf cart and transport you and your luggage. The walk over to Chichen Itza in the morning along with being there before the crowds was awesome! Not to mention not being "rushed" like bus tours often are. We also drove over to the big cynote and it is worth a visit and only a few minutes away. The buffet there was not very good at all and really catered to the bus folks, so I highly recommend eating at this hotel instead! The only "problem" in the whole place is that there are a lot of FROGS in the pools. There were signs saying they treated with chlorine every night, so not sure how the frogs survived. We didn't see them when we swam during the day, but I would not recommend a swim at night - between the large bugs and the frogs, my kids were going no where near the pool. Of course, it did serve to further emphasize the jungle theme :-)

Room Tip: Didn't see the lodge rooms. We stayed in one of the bungalows. They were GREAT!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2015

Thanks for visiting our beautiful resort with your family. Happy to learn the kids had a great time.
Summer is approaching. Come back and explore Uxmal; your family will absolutely love it !

Hasta la vista !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2015

The Mayaland Hotel and Bungalows are absolutely the BEST place to stay when touring Chichen Itza. The hotel is steps from the entrance to the archaeological park and the hotel has it's own separate entrance into the park. (you can avoid the crowds) If you are going to tour Chichen Itza, avoid the long drive from Cancun in the morning ... instead, stay at the Mayaland Hotel and walk over to see the Mayan ruins at 8:00a before all of the busloads of tourists show up. Great Hotel. Spacious Rooms. The Bungalows are so cool !! Great grounds and pools. Helpful and friendly staff. Reasonable Price. Extremely convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArizonaJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2015

What a true, nice review, one all of us at The Mayaland truly appreciate, along with your visit.

May we be honored by being your hosts again in the near future. Hasta la vista !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 March 2015

A wonderful hotel at a decent price located within a few steps to the ruins, and a view of the site.
Friendly staff, clean rooms and delicious food at the buffet. In am, there are lots of birds outside the window including the parrots.Clean pool.

Room Tip: ask for the room on the top floor overlooking the ruins, you can book directly via the hotel website.
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kinga k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2015

Thanks for visiting The Mayaland and for your kind comments.

We look forward to being your hosts again. Hasta la vista !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 March 2015

We chose this hotel because we could walk in the back door of Chichen Itza. It was, as advertised, a short walk to the park. We opted for the least expensive room as we were staying only one night. As others have reported the buses outside do get a bit noisy in the morning, not terrible. The view from our balcony of the "observatory" made it.
The room was large, a bit dated, but charming. The bed was very comfortable. We ate lunch and dinner at the hotel. The food was very,very good. The hotel arranged passes for the evening light show. After the show, we were entertained by a three piece group, while dining.
The grounds are lovely, the staff both knowledgeable and accommodating.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel are a bit noisy in the AM.
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2015

Thanks for your visit !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Stunning location, very disappointing room and services. What a pity that the rooms are so disappointing because the location is stunning: beautiful jungle garden with private entrance to Maya site Chichen Itza. We stayed in one of the bungalows and this was very disappointing: Dark rooms without any atmosphere. Room and especially bathroom needs urgent thorough renovation. Diner in restaurant is very expensive and very disappointing. Disappointing breakfast buffet as well.
If WiFi works it is excellent but 50% of the time it didnt work. The hotel has everything to offer a superior experience but too much is lacking. A real pity !

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amsterdam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Thank you for staying with us.
We are all sorry you were disappointed. Kindly give us the opportunity to be of service to you again.
We are gradually, quietly remodeling all rooms in our venerable hotel. But even those that are in waiting do not deserve your harsh comments. Sad. Surprising that they come from a top, well traveled contributor toTripAdvisor.

I hope you read some of the reviews posted by over 840 contributors. You'll get my point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews