We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
50 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$254
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/05/22
Riu.com
$254
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
travelup.com
$247
View deal
Hotels.com$254
Priceline$258
Travelocity$254
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,339)
Filter reviews
9,339 results
Traveler rating
4,353
2,978
1,121
465
422
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,353
2,978
1,121
465
422
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maria margarita sports bar pizza bar steak asian restaurant quiet pool entertainment staff coco bongo main buffet specialty restaurants fantastic holiday ocean view junior suite buffet style main pool senor frogs isla mujeres
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 9,339 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2021

Hotel needs a lot of work lots of paint chips and glass in the bathroom were broken. Toilet needed to be repair as soon as I checked in. Walls are very paper thing you could hear everything going on in the next room through the wall. Food was very simple and limited, there is no room service available. Towels and bedding are very old. LOTS of mold in the pools.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank villasara2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2021

Dear villasara2013,

Thank you for your stay at our hotel and for sharing your feedback.

We regret to learn that your experience did not fully meet your expectations this time as our priority is to provide an enjoyable experience to all of our guests.

We regret to read you were not satisfied with the room facilities and that you encountered the mentioned maintenance issues. Although RIU is constantly working on the renovation and maintenance of the individual hotels, we would have liked to have been informed about your inconveniences during your stay so our team member could have helped you to enjoy a more pleasant holiday.

Please rest assured that we will forward your impressions to our management team for an appropriate follow up and we really hope that you allow us the chance to host you soon again and share a more positive experience.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Riu Caribe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2021

Had a great trip resort was beautiful service was great no problems at all The shows are not to good need more onsite activities other than that great food lots of drinks service was great I enjoyed my birthday

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Thank KEYKEY113
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2021 via mobile

Good

* Entertainment staff & some reception staff
* Cleaning Staff leave room very nice
* Pool & beach size
* Alcoholic drinks

Bad

* Shower head & door didn’t work properly
* Hotel walls very thin, awoken numerous nights
* Leaking toilet
* Food - Horrendous, nowhere near 5 star
* Outdated facilities, chips everywhere in pool
* Tennis, equipment not replaced quick
* Room key stopped working numerous times
* Gym - Terrible
* Some reception staff not polite/friendly
* Hotel blocks most the sun from midday

This is the first time I have felt the need to leave a review. I could not be paid to come back to this hotel. First holiday with my girlfriend, expectations of a “5 star” hotel way higher than what we experienced. We are not huge drinkers (alcohol) meaning the food was the most important part of getting our monies worth… we actually ate outside the hotel 5 of the 9 nights we were here as there is literally no change in food in the buffet restaurants at all, from daytime to nighttime. Breakfast was average but then again you can’t go wrong with a omelette and fruit.

The gym is completely outdated, barely any equipment. The only enjoyment we did find was playing tennis.. this was then ruined as people had lost the tennis balls on the roofs so the hotel said they would be replaced the following day.. 4 days later still not replaced, the rackets were also without any grip.

For anyone that loves drinking alcohol wanting a cheap holiday the Riu Caribe will probably work for you but if you want a good variety of quality food I would strongly recommend paying more and going to a more luxury hotel.

Side note.. highly recommend Coco Bongo & Thai Lounge (both completely separate to Riu Caribe).

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank P9732QXmichaelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2021

Dear P9732QXmichaelc,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback with us.

It is great to read you enjoyed most of our staff members welcoming and attentive service, the room´s cleanliness and the beach and pool area!

On the other hand, as it is one of our most important goals to give a great and memorable service to our guests, we are concerned to find that we may have missed out on some details and that you weren't fully satisfied with your recent experience.

We lament that we could not meet your taste with our gastronomic offer, apart from our breakfasts. We always try to good food to all our guests and our chefs strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes.

Rest assured; your observations have been forwarded to the responsible department for a proper follow up with the purpose of improving as we sincerely hope we have another chance to welcome you soon again.

We wish you all the best,

Hotel Riu Caribe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2021 via mobile

Our third time here and still love this place. This time, visiting with friends and family for my 50th birthday celebrations. Due to covid, some things are a little different and restrictions apply. However, three weeks before setting off from the UK, we weren't sure if we'd make it at all, so are grateful to all of the staff who are working hard to deliver what they can during this difficult time. It was great to see Israel again, our friendly bartender who was here on our first visit in 2014 and still serving us today. Always smiling, always happy, and always 'happy hour' when he's on duty.
Thank you all.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank fiftypaice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2021 via mobile

The riu caribe is a lovely well kept hotel, the gardens are really nice as well as the pool area. The beach is well kept with powder white sand and the sea is lovely and warm, the guys do a great job at clearing the sea weed. All the staff are friendly and helpful, the staff are very good in the restaurant at making sure people wear masks and they will tell you if your not. we downloaded the riu app, which is helpful when you need something eg mini bar filling they are usually there to replenish within the hour, same for extra pillows. The food is good and can always find something to eat, the pizza parlor is also good.
CONS
When we arrived we had opens bottles of water and coke in the mini bar which had been opened, these went straight down the sink especially in current climate of COVID, although the hotel expects you to wear a mask and the restaurant is good at policing this, it can’t be said for the rest of the hotel, people walk around with them round there wrist or under there chin. If you want a quite holiday don’t come to this hotel the music is loud from midday until 6ish, this can be heard on the beach and in your room. Although the food is good I was disgusted the morning I asked for a doughnut that the chef wiped his forehead with a paper towel from the sweat that was pouring down him and then with the same hand gave me 2 doughnuts, yes hand no tongs .

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Nickyr1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2021

Dear Nickyr1970,

Thank you very much for sharing the pros and cons of your recent stay with us!

It brings us great pleasure to know you fully enjoyed our surroundings and facilities, as well as the great attention of our staff and our wide gastronomy selection. However, we regret that your experience was not a thoroughly satisfactory one due to the mentioned inconveniences.

At the same time, we are surprised by the challenges that took place over the restaurant and upon your arrival at the room, as they do not reflect our usual standards. Please, allow us to assure we take the health and well-being of our guests and employees very seriously, and that we strive to ensure the safety of our visitors. In any case, we would have liked to have been informed about them, as our team would have been able to adequately assist the circumstances.

We have taken note of your comments and shared them with the relevant departments to ensure our guidelines are being met, and to do an appropriate follow up.

We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you soon to offer you a perfect vacation.

Kind regards,

Hotel Riu Caribe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews