We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,608)
Filter reviews
1,608 results
Traveler rating
470
659
266
106
107
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
659
266
106
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel zone murphy bed in the living room great beach full kitchen through rci breakfast buffet timeshare pitch outdoor restaurant convenience store bit dated bus stop beach bar spent a week ocean view mexican food other resorts water aerobics
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,608 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Overall a nice place, the décor is outdated but had everything you needed complete with Murphy bed. The staff was excellent and the beach was one of the best I've ever experienced complete with umbrellas, snack bar food was excellent. Buffet style food was just average including breakfast and dinner options. Maid service was also very good and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank skgrover11795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lic Israel C C, Quality Department at Casa Maya Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear skgrover11795:

We are pleased to know that we fulfill your expectations and that you enjoyed the treatments of our staff and facilities on the beach. Thank you for being our guest during your vacations and take the time to share your experience about our service.
We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services. Please be assured that we will share your impressions with the buffet opitons in order to make adjustments. We always welcome our guests’ feedback since it helps us to improve our services and maintain the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We will be happy to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely, your home. Casa Maya
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Quieter Hotel north of the Hotel Zone with family atmosphere. Upgraded from studio to 1 bedroom with oceanview for extra $175. Well worth it! Food Fantastic. People very friendly, Wilberth took care of our needs on the beach everyday. Looking forward to going back as this was our 1st time in Mexico!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
1  Thank bhogge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lic Israel C C, Quality Department at Casa Maya Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear bhogge123:

We are pleased to know that we fulfill your expectations and that you enjoyed our staff and staff. Thank you for being our guest during your vacations and take the time to share your experience about our service. We will give your regards to Wilberth for the excellent service that he gave you.

We will be happy to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely, your home. Casa Maya
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Casa Maya is really family welcoming, older hotel on a fantastic beach. The resort staff is really friendly and helpful, the rooms were spacious and clean, and the beach was gorgeous. The resort staff led fun activities every afternoon (Bingo and other games, beach volleyball), and the food and drink service on the beach was great.

The hotel is located in the general hotel zone, but between the major

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank ya0sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lic Israel C C, Quality Department at Casa Maya Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear ya0sun:

We are pleased to know that we fulfill your expectations and that you enjoyed the animation activities and our service ont he beach. Also knowing that our hard work to give an excellent service and food made you stay more pleasant. Thank you for being our guest during your vacations and take the time to share your experience.


We will be happy to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely, your home. Casa Maya
Quality Department





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We've been coming here for the past 13 years and have always loved it here.
It is a home away from home for us and just seems to be getting better. This year's improvements were heating the 3 swimming pools which were at the perfect temperature and we spend hours and hours in the pool. Casa Maya is on a prime beach location, ideal for children, with gentle waves and a long shallow entry. It is an older complex but very well maintained with large apartments, overlooking the ocean and with a balcony. Here are our top 5 things we love about Casa Maya (in no particular order):
1. Everything is very spacious (rooms, beach etc.) and it never feels crowded.
2. Great restaurants with reasonable prices and super friendly staff - try the buffets which are different every day of the week - tip you can buy buffet discount tickets on Sat/Sun.
3. Most guests are Mexican (70-80%) and come here with their families. They are so friendly.
4. Every night you can see the Captain Hook Pirate Ships and their fireworks.
5. We spent many hours this time in the small heated pool by the gym, which is very quiet and many times we were the only ones.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 2nd building on the upper floors facing the ocean. Odd numbered units (e.g. 2813) have a sunset view of the beach.
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lic Israel C C, Quality Department at Casa Maya Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Stefan S:

We are pleased to know that we fulfill your expectations and that you enjoyed the treatments of our staff and facilities. Thank you for being our guest during your vacations and take the time to share your experience about our rooms, restaurants and facilities.

We will be happy to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely, your home. Casa Maya
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Spring Break 2018 was amazing!!! Just got back to the US and had to write how great our trip to Casa Maya was. It all started with a great welcome from the front desk staff and the concierge. After a 5 hour trip from the states to a warm and sunny beach hotel, the welcome was tremendous. As you walked into the lobby, you look right out at the gorgeous water. What a great sight!!!!
As Saturday and Sunday are big turnover days our rooms were not quite ready when we arrived so we just secured our bags with the staff and went to enjoy the pool.

We finally got notified that our rooms were ready, we went up to our rooms to notice we did not get the rooms that we were scheduled to get. So we went back to Veronica at the front desk to ask what happened and she was very apologetic and explained that the rooms are still occupied that we were supposed to have. She could see our disappointment on our faces but never the less we went back to the pool to enjoy our time. A few minutes later Veronica came down to the pool to find us, she let us know that she is getting our rooms moved to what was expected and to give her 15 minutes. WHERE ELSE DO YOU GET THAT SERVICE???? Sure enough, Veronica brought the keys down, made arrangements for our bags to be moved, and the rooms were spectacular. Thank you Veronica and the rest of the Casa Maya front desk staff. Always smiling, always greeting the guests!
The rooms were recently renovated, I have read some reviews about outdated rooms and I can tell you we were not in one of those rooms and just about every room on our floor looked similar to ours. The kitchen had a new stove top, dishwasher, plenty of counter area, large refrigerator and freezer. The kitchen table was big enough to seat 6. The living room had a couch and love seat, flat panel TV, and a Murphy bed. The bedroom was separate and the bathroom was accessible from the bedroom or the living room. It was a perfect layout. Our room was spotless, the beds were comfy, the balcony was great to watch the sunrise.
Food at the Casa Maya is limited to 3 restaurants. The breakfast buffet, the dinner buffet and Coco Loco which was the poolside lunch place and bar. We did not have breakfast or dinner at the hotel, since we chose not to be at an all inclusive we wanted to experience other local places to eat dinner. Lunch on the other hand was absolutely delicious all 6 days we were there. Between the waitstaff and the chefs, they knew all of our kids names and said hello to them every day. The food was freshly prepared and was excellent. Our waiter Diego was awesome, he was always there when we needed something and made sure to check with us when the kids started to order things. We will miss Diego, Tomaz, the chef's and all of the staff outside. You all do a wonderful job!
The pool area has entertainment all day long for adults and kids alike. The staff work hard to make sure you are having a good time! Juan is by far the best at his job and all of us including the kids would love to see him everyday. His smile, his interaction with all the guests just make you so welcome. Juan and the rest of the staff make the daytime activities great. From bingo, water balloon fights, beach volleyball, pool volleyball, scavenger hunts for the kids, water polo, water aerobics, yoga/stretching, darts, they have something for everyone.
Overall, I would recommend the Casa Maya for a great trip to Cancun. We felt safe at the hotel and all around the hotel zone. The public bus system is the best way to move around the area, the people are friendly and we can not wait to come back again. See you soon Casa Maya, for now thank you for one of our best vacations in a very long time!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are mostly in the shade. The rooms on the outer side of the hotel have great sunrise or sunset views!
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CraigS4010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lic Israel C C, Quality Department at Casa Maya Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Craig S:

We are pleased to know that we fulfill your expectations and that you enjoyed the treatments of our staff and facilities. Thank you for being our guest during your vacations and take the time to share your experience about our service. We will give your regards to Veronica for the excellent service that she gave you.

We will be happy to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely, your home. Casa Maya
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews