We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Nearby Hotels
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$263
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$376
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$265
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Emporio Cancun(Cancun)(Great Value!)
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$593
US$395
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
US$558
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,940)
Filter reviews
5,940 results
Traveler rating
4,082
1,301
337
132
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,082
1,301
337
132
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher and dryerinfinity poolduna sports barstudio villala isla mallfun teamstarwood ownersheavenly spafull kitchensteak nightmall across the streetheavenly bedpersonal conciergeoutdoor mallpool conciergeswim up bartime share
Filter
Updating list...
1,766 - 1,771 of 5,940 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2016

We love TripAdvisor, it gives rightly the power back to the consumers. Here is another great example...

We paid great deal of money for a Suit with OCEAN VIEW. The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa gave us a suit with PALM TREES (see picture). We asked the Front Office for a different room after having seen the room. The answer was: We don't have any other room at the current time. Not much interest in trying to understand that a guest has not received what he has paid EXPLICITLY for, and less willingness to try to solve the problem for the so-called guest.

We said to ourselves: don't let the "view and lost money" ruining our family vacation. However we wanted share the incident with other travelers to make the travel business better for the consumers. So my wife did, while staying at the hotel. It did not take many hours before the so called management contacted us and offered a room with REAL ocean view. We accepted it (see picture with ocean view). Later on that day, the concierge called to ask if everything is fine now. We told her that we were happy with the new room, but we were not content regarding the handling of the incident and possible compensation/refund for the past three days for a product we did not get. She promised that she will have her manager to contact us. Did we hear anything back? NOPE! We tried to follow up with the concierge TWICE, but nothing happened.
Travel tips to fellow travelers: Make sure you get a room you have paid for. It's different between Ocean view and Palm Tree view - one with sea, and one with leaves.
I am sure the MANAGEMENT will contact us again, after their guest service management practice gets exposed. I guess the management knows how to handle problems. Guests’ problems are not management problems. They become management problems once they are on TripAdvisor. It’s not business, it’s just sad.

We should never let the marketing machine fool us consumers without a voice balancing out the power. What do you think?

P.S. Like many other hotels, the Wi-Fi quality is a joke. Come on… we live in the age Internet of Things.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room you have paid for. It's different between Ocean view and Palm Tree view - one with sea, and one with leaves.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foolisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry to hear of your experience and not meet your expectations. . We would like you to kindly e mail us to: lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com to follow up on this and to have more information about your experience.

Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 March 2016

This is our third visit to this resort and it gets better every time. The courteous staff who go out of their way to ensure that you get everything you need is one of the best features. The rooms and grounds are very clean and everything is of excellent quality. The beach is beautiful.We would recommend this spot for anyone looking to enjoy a week of relaxation.

Room Tip: Higher floors but all rooms are good.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank KathyFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your loyalty to Westin Lagunamar, we are glad to read that this was your third visit. It is a pleasure to always welcome you and give you the Westin Lagunamar you are expecting. Thank you once again for posting your amazing comments and see you very soon!

Warm Regards from Sunny Cancun!
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 March 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful time in Cancun. The Westin Lagunamar was great, especially the people. So welcoming and helpful. Carlos Garcia, our concierge was excellent and extremely helpful. Highly recommend the private tour to Chichen Itza and Ek Balam. We're looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Glen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing The Westin Lagunamar to expend your vacation in Cancun, we really appreciate your comments and we will recognize or great concierge staff. We hope to welcome you back near future.

Warm Regards from Cancun!
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 March 2016

With so many top notch all inclusive properties in Cancun, I wasn't sure whether I made the right decision before arrival. But it ended up exceeding my expectations all the way. To start, we are family of 4 and not big eaters or drinkers, that's why we chose a non AI. Upon arrival we were greeted by warm reception staff, though our room is not ready(no elite member privilege though, since this is a timeshare resort), we were given access to fitness center, pool and everything else. All the staff there are very helpful and friendly even during peak time when we were there.

Resort facility: top notch, the beach is well maintained. Pools(4 feet deep) with zero entry and slides, great for family . 3 open air hot tubs. plenty chairs next to pools and on the beach, even with hut. Kids club and daily pool side activity are fun, and we enjoyed a lot.

Rooms: updated with everything you need. separate whirl pool with sliding door to share TV time with family is my favorite and must every day. Washer Dryer in every unit. Balcony in every unit

Restaurants: This is the highlight of our trip. The quality and price really amazed me, even the room service quality is better than anything I experienced in US, though sometimes language could cause a little bit hiccup, but not biggie. We are seafood lovers and the quality of the seafood in their casual restaurant is reasonable and really tasty. The material is fresh and chef is of top class. Even our picky kids liked their kids meal, and didn't get tired of it for a week. The buffet breakfast is not worth it, I wish I opted for just ordering from room service or their casual restaurant menu. I didn't expect the value out from a Westin, thanks to favorable exchange rate.

We definitely will come back!

Room Tip: higher floor for sure. Lower ones will be blocked by palm trees etc
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jxdjycd .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Dear Guest,

We are delighted by reading your amazing review! Thank you for choosing The Westin Lagunamar for your getaway in Cancun! And we are happy to know that we exceeded your expectations. Location, rooms and beautiful huge infinity pools with a paradisiacal view make every experience a renewed and relaxed stay. Looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

Amazing resort, incredible staff, creative and fresh food and of course ... that beautiful water were all part on the wonderful experience! The spa was outstanding A Maya massage from Gibrom was the best I've ever had, and I have traveled the world.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Randy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for nice comments about our accommodations. Thank you for choosing our resort. We hope to welcome you near future!

Warm Regards from Cancún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews