We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$94
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Royal Villas Resort(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel la Siesta(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Playa Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Resort Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$569
US$444
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$456
US$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Inn at Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,218)
Filter reviews
4,218 results
Traveler rating
1,920
1,220
673
243
162
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,920
1,220
673
243
162
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobby bartime sharela pergolala alhambraitalian restaurantcastilla beachpool viewall inclusive packagea la carte restaurantsinformation desksushi barkids clubeuropean planbeach vendorsdinner buffetall inclusive plandinner reservations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 4,218 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great time at the resort, tons of activities for the kids, the food was great and tons of varieties! Highly recommend this hotel if traveling with kids. The service was great, the hotel was clean!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank camilacarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCIDRESORTS, Director General at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Camila,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at el Cid Castilla, we really appreciate it.

We are glad to know that you had a great vacation at our resort, liked it he activities for your kids, the cleanness, the quality and variety of the food and the attentive and friendly staff.

We hope to see you and your loving ones soon; we are looking forward to attend you again next time you visit Mazatlan.

Cordially,
Mark Covarrubias
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pool Bars, Pool Entertainment Staff and Restaurant people were great. They were helpful and entertaining. Pools were clean, activities were fun and the restaurants were good. We tried the Italian, Japanese/sushi, Mexican and the Argentinean which were all good. The Argentinean and Mexican had Nummy Mexican coffee. We went to the buffet the 1st night as that was are only choice and it wasn’t good. We stuck to the restaurants.

Bottled water was everywhere. No problems getting that. We did have to get up early for pool/beach chairs but that isn’t anything out of the ordinary for hotels. We expected that. El Cid you’re not out of the norm but taking people’s stuff off the chairs isn’t necessary. If you weren’t at your chairs things were removed.

We didn’t check in until 8 pm so we figured we would get the room we requested. Ocean front King bed with Rollaway in the Castilla tower that we paid for. Nope, they didn’t have our room. They said we could get ocean front still but in an older building. The roll-away bed was NOT free we were charge $60 US to use for the week. We were told there was no charge but when we checked in/out they insisted we pay for it. We tried to get a late checkout and offered to even pay for one as our flight wasn’t until the evening. Nope. They wouldn’t let us stay longer. If your booking a late flight plan on checking out at noon. Hotel front desk and customer service needs to be more accommodating to their guests.

All Inclusive did not include all restaurants, room service and all drinks (canned/bottled beer and top shelf). I didn’t feel like we couldn’t get good drinks though. La Concha by the beach was part of El Moro and was the only one we couldn’t go to.

20+ Brass Bands on the beach every day. Do not go to the beach to relax. I couldn’t believe the hotel couldn’t control this. Play one song and move on for your tips. But there would just be another one that would start up. We were ocean front and we couldn’t even go to our room and relax at the end of the day. If you like the beach you will only be able to relax from 6 am-1 pm.

You only received food service at your pool chairs If you had the upgraded/brown wristbands. How would you know this when you book? We went to the restaurants for lunch. Snack bar during the day by the pool was filled with a variety of foods. Some days better than others. You could go to the restaurant to get lunch which was better food.

We booked the Deer Island Tour to snorkel through the Hotel Aries Fleet. There was no fish or anything to see. Nobody snorkeled. The bathrooms on the island didn’t work. It was quite gross by the end of the day. I would not recommend if you are going to snorkel. Drinks were good, boat was nice and the crew was great. The tour was from 9 am-2 pm. They didn’t bring our lunch to the island until 2 PM by boat. Good thing we didn’t need to be anywhere but people were wanting to get out of there.

I doubt we would stay at this hotel again as relaxing on the beach during the day and in my room at the end of the day is important to me on vacation. I also have never been charged for a roll away bed for my son on a trip and thought that was crazy. The front desk staff or customer service didn’t understand this and didn’t try to accommodate us when we asked for a late check out. There are many places to stay in Mexico and great hotels. Vacations are not cheap for families. We want to go somewhere that hotels are accommodating to their guests.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank LKCMinneapolis_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms had great views of the ocean and pool. The wait staff was very friendly and responsive. The restaurants were great with the Italian restaurant being fantastic. Dinner buffet was ok. The only concern was that you had to make dinner reservations 24 hours in advance otherwise there were no openings. Beautiful views and very clean resort.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are awesome as you also see the ocean. Balconies are very nice.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sueepaulson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCIDRESORTS, Director General at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sue,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review about your stay at el Cid Castilla. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the views of the ocean and pool from your room, liked the service from the attentive and friendly staff, the restaurants, specifically the Italian and the dinner buffet.

It’s great to hear that you spent a nice vacation at our resort overall. We hope to continue being your choice next time you visit Mazatlan. We will be pleasant to attend you again.

Sincerely,
Mark Covarrubias
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From check in to check out, everything went smooth. Get the VIP brown bands and never worry about anything, such as room service or water. Need something, just call down and ask, it will be right up to your room.

Room Tip: 15 floor or higher is the best
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCIDRESORTS, Director General at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Patrick,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your comment about your recent stay at el Cid Castilla. It’s great to know that you spent a wonderful vacation at our resort and that we fulfill your expectations.

Thank you for choosing us and for sharing your review through TripAdvisor. We hope to see you soon, we will be delighted to attend you again next time you visit Mazatlan.

Sincerely,
Mark Covarrubias
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pros: clean hotel, ok service

Cons: hotel where locals go so overly jam packed with Mexican nationals, need to be up at 7am to have a chance at a pool chair, a la carte reservations open at 7am and full at 7:02 and can only book one day in advance, restaurant food is fair at best, no fridge or beverages in room, water and coffee in room for a fee, beach had 20+ brass bands blasting music 10 feet away, beaches were packed, stung by a stingray in shallows, etc

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews