We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Princess Mundo Imperial(Acapulco)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 08/02
Book now, pay at stay
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
A&V Hotel Boutique(Acapulco)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 08/02
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco(Acapulco)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 07/29
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Acapulco Malibu(Acapulco)(Great Value!)
US$58
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
7
18
12
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
18
12
5
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

it's a shame, I had stayed there a few times before and recommended it to other people, but after my most recent experience I won't go back - for starters, the young woman on the reception staff was incredibly rude and unprofessional - it was my impression that I was being lied to because she didn't want to be bothered moving me to another room after I complained about the cleanliness of the windows of my room - didn't even smile, or offer to have a housekeeper come to try and address the problem - the place has great views of the yacht club and bay but the hotel has a real problem with pigeons that nest in the areas above the windows (making the windows dirty) and on the windowsills (meaning it's impossible to open the windows and enjoy the views and ocean air due to the bird droppings) - the hotel appears to be undergoing a slow renovation, but until they deal with the bird problem and the attitude of certain of their staff, it seems an unhealthy and unfriendly place to stay - there are other places in the vicinity that are affordable and have the same views

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas90266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Why once grand hotels lose their "touch" and become almost a better hostel would be worth a separate study. In the 50s, this hotel was one of the few top hotels in the then small Acapulco. Built above the Acapulco Yacht Club, there was no other house nearby and just the fantastic view on to the old, traditional Acapulco, overlooking the picturesque bay.
The hotel, once a "Majestic" is now called Aristos Resort Complex and More. So that name evidently generates all sorts of expectations in the visitor's mind.
Such expectations are quite bitterly disappointed for most, I would guess.
In the case of the Aristos what contributed to its downfall was probably the fact that other areas of Acapulco are now "hip" and the really wealthy now have their own luxury apartments two or three bays farther on, closer to the airport. Furthermore, the Aristos is not right on the beach, as most newer upper middle and upper class hotels, and the beach that is nearby, Caleta, is most often overcrowded and 10 minute walk down the hill away.

What you do get in the Aristos is:
- a spectacular view, probably among the best if not the best of any hotel in Acapulco.
- clean and rather large rooms, but certainly dated, good and large bath towels - but no hand towel
- an excellent room rate (I paid the equivalent of USD 58 a night, booked via hotels.com; so there are people who even rent for months)
- two swimming pools
- a nice lawn area that is still used for weddings/outdoor receptions

What you don't get:
- a restaurant or a bar (yes, not even breakfast is served, and the hotel is in the process of trying to find a contractor to run the huge . but now empty . kitchen;
- a chair in your room
- wifi in your room
- competent receptionists

On the latter point: everyone was very friendly, but the receptionist had no idea how to get to the closest diving shop/service (it is a 10 minute walk away), how to get the wifi working (it only works in the lobby where there are a few scattered sofas and little light, and only once I had figured out that the indicated network did not exist and eventually got access only to a different network and with the help of a very friendly technician who happened to be around at the time).

So would I got back?
Not to stay overnight if I did not have to, but perhaps to show someone that great view. There are many better options in town, also at reasonable rates.
But, if better managed, this hotel could well have a rosy future again.

Room Tip: a room with a view to the bay, probably a bit more expensive, is definitely preferable.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank WiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The hotel is far away from the city center and the sea, you need to go by car, in very high traffic. Unsafe location by night. The hotel is very old. Very basic hotel, this is not a hotel it is a hostel. The furniture is very old, linen gray, old, towels with holes, blanket with red spots.
Room in need of repair, bathroom plumbing is very old, rusty, not a pleasure to use. Light on the wall is broken and dangerous. Website was not accurate show photos.
The service was the worst I've ever had, and we travel a lot. The room had four beds (we were two), not a king, as booked (for a couple). After a quarrel, we changed the room. The room cleaning was pretty poor. Parking is not available, we left the car on the street
I do not recommend even for one night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 November 2011

my mom and i went there in1986, and had a wonderful vacation. i plan on going abck in january 2012. the staff were very nice and this hotel is very quiet. for a real vacation!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brijit2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2007

Visited Acapulco for the first time, was there for a convention. I am a new Mom and have not traveled in quite some time. I was a bit nervous that I would be in a very party area. Quite the contrary. This hotel is located at the far end of Acapulco, Which is the traditional side of Acapulco. "Very relaxing" and it was about minutes away from sites I wanted to visit like "La Quebrada". The hotel is beautiful, if your looking for flat screen TV's and art deco furniture, this is not the place for you. I loved that I walked toward the reception desk to check in and the lobby is partially open with this incredible view of the Acapulco Bay. The rooms had tile floors, everything is white with blue trimmings. Quite beautiful actually. The staff was very friendly and even had a driver take me to the airport at 5:00 am. I would definately love to go back to this hotel and recommend anyone to visit, the price is very reasonable and I like the classy look of a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank deeherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews