We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveler rating
425
47
26
18
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
425
47
26
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bridal suite christmas party wedding venue wedding reception evening buffet function room wedding breakfast special thanks dance floor thank you so much food was lovely perfect venue beautiful wedding evening reception fantastic evening full english breakfast quiet location
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights recently and left with very mixed feelings. The place is clearly very successful as a wedding venue, but as a hotel … .? There were some definite pluses. Lovely quiet position, friendly staff, large comfortable bed and bedroom. Major plus was the quality of dinner - basis menu items but really well and tastily cooked. But there were negatives as well. The room servicing was variable (bed not made, clean towels just thrown on top). Breakfast choice and presentation youth hostel standard. Some parts of the building tired. The BandB rate was a trifle high for what it was, and total payment demanded on booking (never met that before!)

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank donjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeefordPlaceBattle, General Manager at Leeford Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your observations and kind comments. Just to clarify we are very much a function hotel and operate as this on most weekends for weddings, parties, christenings etc as well as during the week for dinners and lunches.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I love to visit this part of the country and we have stayed here now for a number of years. Good value for money, charming friendly staff, quiet location comfortable rooms where you wake up to an excellent breakfast. We will be going back, that's for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TrevorC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeefordPlaceBattle, General Manager at Leeford Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. It's always lovely to hear from guests who return regularly and we are so glad that you still enjoy being guests here. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel whilst attending a family wedding. Room was okay, which we shared with a massive spider!! On arriving for breakfast the following morning, we placed our order for two full English breakfasts. We were advised service was slow so we waited, and waited, after 30 minutes still no breakfast. One of our party - who had eaten his breakfast, went into the kitchen to find out what was going on, only to find the kitchen empty, no food was cooking. Eventually we found staff at reception who were apologetic. By this time it was almost time to check out so we said we would accept a refund in lieu of breakfast. We were informed breakfast was included in the price of the room and therefore not refundable! As we were not served breakfast how was it included??? The room was overpriced at £110 and then not to get breakfast added insult to injury. Not impressed by the attitude of the staff either.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank CarolH1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeefordPlaceBattle, General Manager at Leeford Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. Breakfast is cooked to order and when we have a large number of guests wishing to eat at the same time this does sometimes mean a slight wait. On the morning mentioned in your review, the kitchen cooked and served the exact number of breakfasts that related to the number of guests present for breakfast. We can only presume that other guests who had already eaten chose to take delivery and consume the breakfasts that you had ordered. The kitchen may have looked empty when the guest entered but there are several parts to the kitchen that are not seen from the door to the garden room. When you spoke to the person on reception, they offered to have 2 breakfasts cooked for you - this was at 9.45 am and check out was at 10.30 am, so still plenty of time for this to be enjoyed. You declined the offer however you did sit and enjoy cereal before you left the dining area. No refund was offered as breakast is included in the price of the room (£105.00) and self service tea/coffee and cereals are they to be enjoyed for anyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

As usual myself and my family attended the annual BBQ. What can I say, year after year we experiance the warm welcome and friendly atmosphere along with the brilliant service from all staff who go the extra mile for you.
Would highly recommend to anyone!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank cjreynolds95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeefordPlaceBattle, General Manager at Leeford Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. We are delighted you had such a good time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

I came to visit Leeford for their annual summer BBQ. As always the food was exceptional, only to be outweighed by the service; the staff here are fantastic and always strive to make enjoyment is a top priority. Has a nice family feel to the place; a welcoming aura goes a long way. My room included everything I could possibly need along with a lovely view of some Sussex woodland! All topped off with a brilliant Full English. Would Recommend.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank jakekellam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeefordPlaceBattle, General Manager at Leeford Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here and thank you for your recommendation. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews