We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveler rating
271
74
17
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
74
17
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish piescallopssmall hotellocal seafoodhot smoked salmonextensive menudining roomthe sticky toffee puddingpost officereal alewarm welcomemodern bathroomfabulous foodcharming hotelbooked a tableself cateringbeautiful location
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

If you want to visit one of the most beautiful spots in Europe and be hosted by someone who is able to created and authentic atmosphere combined with a high level of quality then that is your place to go!

Although this is a very remote and peaceful place you are close to Glasgow and just a 3 min. ferry sail to the beautiful island of Bute.

The food is amazing (fresh, local and prepared to a very high standard), the staff is just the best in the world and the host is amazing.
Enough said? :)

Room Tip: For an amazing view of the sea-loch when you wake up book on of the two rooms to the front of the hotel!
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cantanto999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much Dear Cantanto, its always a great pleasure to read such a lovely review. Till the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Amazing hotel, fantastic food with fresh local produce beautifully presented, any request was made with no hesitation, the staff are all warm and welcoming, by far the best place to eat on the secret west coast, thank you to Pat and her team,

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
1  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Your very welcome Scott. Thank you for this lovely review. Look forward tp seeing you back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

We called in for a drink and snack lunch midweek. Lovely extensive menu from which we had excellent soup. Very good ale served at what we consider the correct temperature. Welcoming wood burning stove.

We didn’t take advantage of the available accommodation.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and most appreciate your lovely comments. Hope you will return and perhaps stay on sample some of our menu and accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We met three friends here for lunch en-route to Tighnabruich. Our friends had eaten here
a number of times and knew that we would be in for a treat.
The hotel is a small family run business and this showed in the welcome we received and
the quality of the food produced.
A chalkboard had a wide choice of dishes however the owner recommended Fish or Steak Pies as she had just finished making them which we were happy to try.
My Fish Pie was among the best I have eaten with a variety of local fish including prawns which were delicious. The Steak Pie was given the thumbs up too.
The Pasta dishes that two of our party ate were also given a five star rating.
Everything was freshly prepared and served by a lovely chatty waitress.
We would have loved dessert but had no room for it.
Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Didn't stay so cannot comment.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank BellaGlasgowScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely revue. I remember you all well and was so pleased that you appreciated my recomendations. We are lucky in Colintraive to have so many local produce to enhance our dishes. Look forward to welcoming you back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2018

stayed for a week due to work commitments,the rooms were clean tidy and comfortable,the food was amazing and Patricia and her staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, especially when it came to my dietary requirements.The hotel lies a short 2 minute walk from the local transport links.In summing up i would have no hesitation in recommending the Colintraive Hotel for either business or pleasure purposes,and look forward to visiting again soon.

Room Tip: all the rooms are situated upstairs and are all very good, i also believe there is a large modern house available for larger parties to let.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

thank you Mark, very kind of you and your always welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews