We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A highlight of our trip along with Glass Window

I had a tough time finding it the first time we tried. I followed the dirt road and it ended far... read more

Reviewed 12 July 2020
Edward W
,
Port Charlotte, Florida
A nice 1-hr walk underground

Hatchet Bay Cave was a recommended visit by a local we met on the plane over. As previous reviews... read more

Reviewed 20 September 2018
John N
,
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Read all 54 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Eleuthera
from US$923.08
More Info
from US$369.00
More Info
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
21
18
6
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
21
18
6
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rope ladder dirt road field flashlight chamber shoes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2020

I had a tough time finding it the first time we tried. I followed the dirt road and it ended far downhill in a field. Turns out that it is much closer to the road and nowhere near the dirt track I took. There is a strange sign near the cave entrance that reads "Try Me" in white paint. The turnoff from the highway is clearly marked.

We were well prepared with flashlights, long pants and good shoes. Also brought pink sting which we left in the cave. The easy main part is about 900 feet long. It consists of three adjoined chambers and several offshoots.

After that you have to go down a ladder to a lower chamber filled with water. This is where we ended our hike and ascended through the square shaft nearby, complete with rope ladder. The easiest way back to the entrance is through the cave itself. We went outside and took a round about path through the fields to get back to the car.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2019

Interesting caves complete with bats and graffiti dating back to the late 1800s. Bring flashlights and step carefully!

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank JJanowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 April 2019

Great caving site. Cave was longer than I expected, a flashlight is a must for all members of the group.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Hatchet Bay Cave was a recommended visit by a local we met on the plane over. As previous reviews stated Turn AT the Sign. The road in was bumpy/rocky with the vegitation at roof top. Just a short drive in and there was a clearing with a weathered sign sticking out of the tall grass. Not the pristine rock fence entrance as seen on previous postings. But a quick look confirmed we were there. We have done wild caves in the past so this visit was relaxing as we looked at the numerous names on the walls. Our flashlights were not large but adequate for the experience. We only went about halfway as we tended to look around the corners to photograph formations that were undisturbed. "Follow the String" was the advice we had received, which we did to prevent loosing our way in the labyrinth. With the extensive topside growth, I would recommend a guide if you plan on walking through to the back exit ladder. We were greeted with refreshing rain as we returned to our car.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Was told this was easy t o get to but we couldn't get through the path to get to the cave. SO disappointing.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank nefertiti3560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews