We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$152
View deal
Booking.com
$153
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Algotels
$109
View deal
Hotels.com$152
Trip.com$152
Travelocity$152
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveler rating
167
266
102
44
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
167
266
102
44
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi short ferry st croix small island beach bar christiansted boardwalk hotel guests hotel room bit dated great beach restaurants and shops private beach mini fridge buck island virgin islands snorkel gear dock
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 611 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2021

Great place if you just need a place to lay your head and a cool private beach to chill. We stayed here for the week and we were not disappointed. Best part of the week were the conversations with our ferry driver Miles. We will be back to St. Croix 100% because of him and his love of the island. He gave us great recommendations on places to eat, places to visit, places to snorkel, and all around advise of the island. He totally made this trip better for us first timers to the Caribbean. Thanks Miles, and thank you St Croix. Hotel on the Cay was worth the money, worth our time, and we will be back very soon.
By the way, the reef off the island is active and amazing. Great for snorkeling!!!

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 117glj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 2, 2021 via mobile

So the location of this hotel is great. The beach is the best on the island & everyone comes there to chill. The food and drinks are great on the beach . But this is the LITERAL only reason to stay here,

The room looks just like the pics . And is awful. It’s old. There must be some kind of septic issue because our bathroom smelled horrible for no reason. It was dank and obviously it’s hot. No one felt comfortable sleeping under the covers so we just slept on top with our towels … then the next day getting new towels was an issue. Would not return to the hotel. It’s really a motel . Like a roach motel that just happens to be on a nice island.

Oh almost forgot. The noise at ALL HOURS . Especially 2am from random party boats. It’s really aggravating if u want to sleep

The beach is lit though.

Room tip: Must ferry here. It’s always available. But have low expectations for cleanliness and comfort. Outside looks nice .
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank 005189115
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 27, 2021 via mobile

Not a good place for over priced. The hotel has cockroaches @@. This is a big no no! I stayed at the hotel for about a week for my scuba diving trip. On the 2nd night when I came back to the room at night, several roaches started to run when I turn on the lights. Besides, there are cracks on the floor and wall and the balcony sliding doors not functioning, etc. The place is definitely overpriced and I will never stay the place with cockroaches.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank leeahlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 26, 2021

We did not stay at Hotel on the Cay but had a great experience there for a day trip. Took the ferry off of the pier at $5/adult. Loved the clear shallow water, sandy white beach, picturesque view and beach BBQ. Was a last-minute decision and so glad we did.

Date of stay: July 2021
Thank stephaniesO4118FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 28, 2021

The beach and the water are lovely. The facility and the rooms are in poor condition. The restaurants and pool were not available as advertised. The staff was angry and mean except for the maids and office. On some nights local boats land with large groups who seem out of control.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank markbkeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews