We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Lol.travel
Expedia.com
BahiaPrincipe
WIOL.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13,987)
Filter reviews
13,988 results
Traveler rating
5,065
4,262
2,373
1,195
1,093
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,065
4,262
2,373
1,195
1,093
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold club don pablo jerk chicken the grill a la carte restaurants main buffet beach restaurant snack bar nude beach dolce vita japanese restaurant beautiful resort air transat wedding gazebo negative reviews air canada ocho rios
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 13,988 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I enjoyed my day at the hotel and I must say the food was good....Orlando the dining room server, christina the pool waitress and brown man from the bar his name starts with K think its kestel you guys were great nuff respect to the hard working staff at the hotel u guys keep up the good work....The dining room manager he was great I saw him working and helping his staff like he was a regular worker great job I had to tell him keep up the good work...Sandra Martinez thanks very much for your help you are indeed a great person.....overall the experience was great

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank norlettg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica, Other at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to maintain the quality at the hotel.
Thank you for enjoying your time at our resort and sharing your positive comments about the service, the staff, and our services.
We also appreciate your acknowledgment of our team members who have been of great service during your stay at our resort and we are eager to inform you that all the staff mentioned has already received your congratulations.
We hope you will visit us again and we will do our utmost to accommodate your needs and make your stay enjoyable.
Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2021

We had a mostly good experience at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica. We initially booked at the Luxury side, but they are not open yet, so we rebooked at the Grand. Unfortunately for us, this meant dealing with a multitude of loud, screaming children (including in the room next to us). If you are looking for a more relaxing setting, I'd recommend waiting until the Luxury Adults only side is open. If you don't mind children, then you might still enjoy the atmosphere at the Grand.
The staff was very kind to us throughout our stay, this is one of the best parts of the resort I would say. My husband and I were very impressed with the friendliness and the COVID safety protocols followed by staff members. All staff are diligent about mask wearing, spraying your hands with sanitizer, and cleaning all surfaces in public areas. Special shout outs to Gerrick at the beach bar, Joe at the sports bar, and Gregory who works at the front entrance. All 3 are great guys who really looked out for us on our trip.
The pool area is really nice, very clean, lots of fun events and music during the day. The beach is also beautiful and definitely more relaxing if you want less of a party vibe.
The crowd is very diverse which we really appreciated, fun to meet people from all over different countries and also lots of local Jamaican people.
We did enjoy all of the food, we had 2 restaurant dinners included with our stay, right now there is only one restaurant open per night so you do need to book reservations ahead of time. Our meals there were very good. Otherwise, we ate at the buffet, which we were quite happy with. Lots of variety in food choices, and all of the food was very good. Definitely try the jerk chicken, it was delicious!
Entertainment was impressive! They had a different show every night, some of our favorites were the traditional dancing group, the synchronized swimming show, and the beach party was really fun with the amazing fire dancer.
Probably my only negative comment is that the rooms are in a bit of rough shape. The cleaning staff do a great job, but the furniture is quite worn, the bed I would call extremely firm (and we like a firm bed) and not comfortable for sleeping on. We spent very little time in our room because it just wasn't comfortable and didn't give us the romantic vibe we were hoping for on a couple's trip.
Several things I wish I would have known ahead of time:
-I recommend going to the bank and getting lots of small bills for tipping. I did go to the ATM, but no one has change for larger bills and we ended up running out of our small bills, leaving us kind of stuck when wanting to tip staff.
-The Jamaican government is enforcing a curfew, with the earliest times being on the weekends. Because of this, excursions are more limited and book up quickly. I wish we would've booked something on our first night we arrived. Unfortunately when we did try to book they only had options left that we weren't interested in. Also there are definitely more excursion options available on weekdays so I'd recommend booking for those days if possible.
-The hotel is about an hour to hour and a half drive from the Montego Bay airport. Between 2 flights, time in customs/immigration, waiting on our transport, and the drive, it was a full day of traveling there, and a full day of traveling back home. Had I realized this I think we would've booked for more days, to make the long traveling time more worth it.
-Some of the staff definitely work on commission and will try to get you to book something with them (ex: for the spa, at the privilege club desk). I have a hard time saying no to people, but would recommend just politely saying no right away unless there is something you really want to do. If you are hesitant they will keep pushing, which is understandable when working for a commission.

Overall, I would recommend this resort, keeping some of the negatives in mind, but they are offering some great deals right now on pricing, and were VERY safe regarding COVID precautions.

Room tip: I would recommend to specifically book a "sea view" or "ocean view" room as this may be quieter.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank 694adriar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica, Other at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2021

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to maintain the quality at the hotel.
Thank you for enjoying your time at our resort and sharing your positive comments about the service, the staff, and our services.
We also appreciate your acknowledgment of our team members who have been of great service during your stay at our resort and we are eager to inform you that all the staff mentioned has already received your congratulations.
We hope you will visit us again and we will do our utmost to accommodate your needs and make your stay enjoyable.
Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 May 2021 via mobile

Thanks to delgardo from the bar you are an amazing individual your customer service was d best i wish u all the best hope when i come back I'll see u im coming bk pretty soon u never treated us any way

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 466ladonnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica, Other at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2021

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to maintain the quality at the hotel.
Thank you for enjoying your time at our resort and sharing your positive comments about the service, the staff, and our services.
We also appreciate your acknowledgment of SDelgardo who has been of great service during your stay at our resort and we are eager to inform you that all the staff mentioned has already received your congratulations.
We hope you will visit us again and we will do our utmost to accommodate your needs and make your stay enjoyable.
Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2021 via mobile

Shut it down immediately! The grounds of this resort is beautiful ! But once you check in your room.. bugs .. dust.. mold..broken A/c broken fans. No shower curtains . And when I presented my issues to staff I was advised to” Contact Bahia the corporate office , your money was not paid to the front desk “. I was treated very poorly at this resort . I checked out early due to the dissatisfaction. Two of my family members begin to get sick . Bahia principe Jamaica needs a face lift immediately.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank tiffanyfH9523SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica, Other at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2021

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to maintain the quality at the hotel.
We apologies for your expectations not being met at this time, it certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years.
Our staff always tries to give the best possible experience to the guests, and we give the proper follow up to all the requests and necessities during the stay of our customers.
All your observations have been forwarded to the Management of the resort as the guest’s satisfaction is our priority and rest assured we will be constantly striving for excellence in our services.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2021

Visited with my wife in November 2020 for our honeymoon. The initial service was underwhelming and the room had a persistent draft, especially on the first night. We stayed for four nights and the service fluctuated between being good at times to barely acceptable.

The food was good most times but there was not much of a beach to enjoy (shallow and stony in parts). Most of the daily fun was at the pool and they had nightly events. Overall, I gave them three stars for the service.

But what has left a very bad taste in my mouth is the offer of membership to the so-called Bahia Principe Privilege Club. At best, it is a way to funnel people from the Bahia Grand to the Bahia Luxury (although the Luxury side was closed at the time). In hindsight, I think they give you sub-par service at the Grand so they can try to sell you a "Privilege Club" membership to better service at the Luxury (and other hotels in the RCI program).

Sounds like a good plan, except that it turned out to be a scam. First of all, the Privilege Club presentation took five hours, at least, out of our vacation time. It sounded like a good deal, so we were foolish enough to stick around and then sign their contract. Imagine my shock when I tried to use the so-called "privileges" a few months later, only to find out that what I was told by the sales rep misrepresented what was in the contract.

Speaking of the contract, it is not very explicit in telling you exactly what you are getting, so the rep, in my experience, used that vagueness to tell us what he thought we wanted to hear. Now that we have recognized there is no real benefit of becoming a Privilege Club member, we are being told we can't get back the money that was spent.

In addition, the Privilege Club wants us to sign a contract that prevents us from sharing our experience online. I am beyond disappointed and upset that Bahia Principe, a seemingly reputable brand, would be part of this scam. If you are vacationing here and someone approaches you about attending a presentation, don't walk, run! If you have already been offered and wondering if you should sign up, don't!

It is now that I am doing my research I realized that so many people have been ripped off, and Bahia Principe is still allowing this to go on. If I could have given them a negative rating, I would have.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 647andred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica, Other at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2021
Google Translation

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews