We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveler rating
739
54
7
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
54
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mahoeseaside cottagethe salt water poolneck massagebridal suitejerk fish tacosseaside barthe cliffoxtailwest endall inclusive optionbeautiful propertyall inclusive planwelcome drinkthe entire propertysnapperfront office
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

From the moment we arrived to the Spa Retreat, we felt like home.

Service was incredible and great attitude from the staff. Special thanks to Hassan, Ricardo and Alicia who made our stay extra special.

The drinks were the best we had in Negril! You must try Jamaican smile at the bar during Happy Hour while watching the sunset. It is special!

We look forward for another visit.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Danykr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Thank you for finding "True Relaxation" in the time you have spent with us! We are delighted you have found us-on behalf of our entire Team we do await you back for more happy hours at The Spa Retreat! Peace & Love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Quiet and what a view! We stayed in Seaside #5, it was a cottage that over looked the ocean. Food was great, nice pool and great snorkeling. We didn’t really get many photos of the area but there are two great dogs, Ozzy and Rosa who greeted us daily and love to go for a swim with you, it was wonderful! All the staff were great!!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
3  Thank TrailBlazer655440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Thank You for the time you have taken to find us and convinced you to visit! We are indeed happy you have fallen in love with our Seaside 5, food, pool, snorkeling.....and our Rosa and Ozzy! We are anxiously awaiting you return to many more Retreats! Peace & Love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

I’ve been going to Jamaica almost every year for most of my life and have stayed at a variety of places (large resorts, private villas, and everything in between), and I can honestly say that this is the #1 place I’ll recommend from now on. It has everything you could possibly ask for in a Caribbean hotel: amazing views, incredible snorkeling onsite, really nice pool, comfortable and well-kept accommodations, delicious food and great menu, and the friendliest and most welcoming staff! All of this is on a quiet- but not stuffy, secluded- but not desolate, and intimate boutique-style resort. They help you have the kind of trip you want; if you want an “escape” you’d be totally satisfied staying there all day, every day for a week and feel comfortable. Yet they have a list of recommendations for nearby dining at other spots, and have knowledgeable drivers on call to take you. Same goes for sight-seeing and other hot spots- they make it all so easy! We absolutely loved our time there, and plan on returning. They also have two of the cutest and friendliest dogs ever! If you’re an animal lover, you’ll be happy to know there are some sweet and happy pups there to play with. Really think this is the perfect place for a Caribbean vacation! HIGHLY recommend!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Kristen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank You for the time you have taken to research and to visit our property. We are delighted you have been pleased with your "New favorite Jamaican Spot". We are equally pleased in gaining a New Spa Ambassador. On behalf of the entire Spa Team we do look forward to having you back for many more Spa Retreats. In the meanwhile do keep us popular! Peace & Love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

From the time you step foot on this resort you will be extremely satisfied. Exceptional service, great drinks, great food, very clean & spacious rooms and most of all the beautiful views. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Negril after staying here. I would recommend The Spa Retreat hands down!! I look forward to staying here again and again.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
3  Thank lw0288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Thank You for the time you have taken to visit and to pen your feedback on how well you have enjoyed your "perfect romantic vacation". We are delighted we have gained another Spa Retreat ambassador and look forward to having you back for many more Retreats! Peace & Love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

1. Location: This is the primary reason why we booked here in the first place. And we were not at all disappointed. The property is situated right by the sea on an elevated cliff. The view is just amazing specially during sunset as the property is west facing. There is direct access to the water from the property to jump into the sea & enjoy snorkeling.
 
2. Cleanliness & Maintenance: The entire property is spotless & very well maintained. The rooms are very clean with top quality beds & linens. The staff visited the room twice, once the daily cleanup & another in the evening for “turn down” service. So we literally found our room cleaned & beds done every time we stepped in.
 
3. Landscape: The property contains very well designed cottages with premium wooden interiors giving us a feeling of tropical homes with modern amenities. We were staying in the roof top cottage and it was quite spacious. The resort is covered with a lot of trees & plants well placed between the cottages & all around the property which felt like staying amongst a natural beach front vegetation. The pool area is located by the cliff giving a pristine view of the sea & the sun-set. On entering the resort, we quickly found that this is one of those rare places which looks better than pictures posted online.
 
4. Cliff side BAR: I found this the best spot in the resort as we spent most of our time here. The bar is well placed between the restaurant & the pool area which makes it the hot spot in the property. The service was literally outstanding. It doesn’t matter whether you are sitting at the bar or taking a dip in the pool, we got personalized service everywhere. The bartender went any extra mile to make sure we are been served as per our interests & taken care of. I would like to appreciate the service provided to us by RICARDO who made awesome cocktails for us all along & made our stay very comfortable.
 
5. Privacy & Security: If guests are looking for privacy, this is the resort to be. The cottages are well distanced between each other. Since the number of total cottages are less as compared to total area of the resort, this gives substantial private space for each guest. The property is well secured with the main gate always guarded by security.
 
6. STAFF: The entire staff is very professional & well trained. We found them approachable & always striving to help the guests & provide personal attention as per your needs. After checkout on the last day, we headed to the nearby 7mile beach & realized that we forgot to handover the cottage keys during checkout. On calling the front desk, the staff promptly sent someone to pickup the keys saving us a lot of time & effort.
 
7. Check-in & Check-out: The check-in was a breeze as the front desk staff was ready with our paperwork within minutes. We were also provided with a welcome drink along with a complementary neck massage. The check-out was pretty quick as well. The staff helped us to get transportation very quickly.
 
8. Blue Mahoa Restaurant: The restaurant has both outside & inside sitting. The outside sitting is right by the cliff & is very beautiful (perfect for a romantic dinner). The service & quality of food was top notch. We tried the Jamaican specialties & they were yummy. So whether having breakfast by sea in the morning OR dinner under the exquisite lighting in the restaurant & its adjacent bar, it’s the spot we liked the most.
 
9. WIFI: The complementary high speed internet worked pretty well & I was surprised to see amazing signal strength all across the property. The WIFI speed was around 16-20 MBPS so we were well connected all the time.
 
10. VALUE ADDED SERVICES: The most useful add-ons provided was the complementary cellphone which we carried along during our entire stay. It had all the property contacts pre-loaded & helped us to call cab drivers or coordinate with the hotel whenever we were outside. Definitely a 5 star for this. The snorkeling kit was complementary as well which encouraged my wife to try her hand on getting into the water.
 
11.   SPA services: The SPA area is located on a deck right by the sea. The SPA staff was very knowledgeable & professional. The setting is very upscale & services pretty exquisite.

Overall we found this resort an excellent place to relax, eat, drink & enjoy the sea while getting pampered with all the exceptional service from the staff. I would definitely go back!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Shubi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Thank You for the time you have taken to research and to book your stay at our property. We are even more delighted you have taken the time to provide your detailed feedback on how well you enjoyed our property. We are certainly happy you have found your happy place , we anticipate having you back for many more retreats! Peace & Love

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews