We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moon Palace Jamaica
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ocean Sands(Ocho Rios)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rooms Ocho Rios(Ocho Rios)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Little Pub Inn(Ocho Rios)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Village Hotel(Ocho Rios)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,892)
Filter reviews
1,892 results
Traveler rating
1,131
440
176
69
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,131
440
176
69
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloud barflow riderresort creditawe spawater journeykonoko fallsvacation plannersla gondolamomo restaurantgondola restaurantclub noirpresidential suitediamond conciergepalace memberspublic relationspalace elitemartini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,892 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful week at Moon Palace Jamaica for our Palace Forum groups Ladies Trip! 11 women joined us for a fun filled week of sun and beach time in Ocho Rios!
We stayed in a beuaitful Presidential suite in the tower bldg with amazing panoramic views of the water! The staff at this resort really make you feel so special. Our concierges Ronick and Tania were there throughout our week to assist in all our dinner and excursian plans. Planning for large group was so smooth with their help. We had wonderful dinners at Pier 8 and appreciate the Mgr Richard Harriot always looking after us. LOved our huge lobster on our final night!! The food was wonderful and prepared by Gradine with great service by Sherrie and Tagene. Our Sommiliers Jason and Paul are the BEST!! Every night they looked out for us, to be sure we were well cared for, and kept our rooms stocked with our favorite wines for evening cocktails. They are two of our favorite staff at this resort. Nikki our diamond pool concierge is wonderful at taking care of all our needs during the day. It is so relaxing to know she has our chairs waiting for us every morning, and looks out for our every need throughout the day. That kind of service really lets us relax and enjoy our vacations! The dinner in the Gondpola Italian was AMAZING! All the chefs and Mgr came out to greet us and prepare a wonderful feast for our group.. along with a birthday celebration for myself and a friend. Jaime was so attentive in serving us. It was a fabulous night and they all made it so special! The chefs, Nicholas, Gordon and Charmaine and Shawn took such good care of all our dinners!. We had a fabulous dinner in our Pres suite prepared by chef Nicholas and attended by Shantelle, Andre' and Paul our sommilier. Jermain took care of us in Momo's and kept us all laughing through out the evening.
we had a great day at Mystic Mtn, doing the bobsleds and ziplines. It was so much fun! We hired Richard Brooks from Ocho Rios Excursions to take us all out for a fun shopping day at the markets and local stores,. He is such a wealth of information and so much fun! We also hired the cres form Island Dog watersports to take our ladies out for a day on the water. I highly recommend them with Colin and Dwayne as the crew! So much fun!
We had many fun nights in the lobby bar with Tammy, Odain and Coolie! It was non stop laughs with that group! Great service and many fun drinks flowed freely. As always Damien and Rayon kept the drinks flowing at several of othe bars that week. WE really enjoyed the piano music. He was amazing! The band at the loud bar are really good! We had many fun nights dancing there.
This resort is very laid back and has that island vibe that we really miss at the Palace Resorts in Mexico. The beach and watersports areas are clear water and beautiful views. Love the mini sailboats! The water sports crew is great! On the weekends, the rooms closest to town can be a bit loud.. but they end by 11 or 12, so we did not get affected by that noise very often.
Overall it was another wonderful trip to this fun Jamaican resort! WE look forward to returning in Oct!

Room Tip: Rooms away from town are quieter
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Connie D,

Thank you for your exciting review expressing all the festive engagements you experienced during your awe-inclusive vacation on site.

We are thrilled to learn that your expectations were most definitely exceeded as a result of the exceptional services delivered by our staff.

A whole-heartened thank you from each and every one of our team members, for expressing your appreciation had towards the unparalleled service you received throughout all our facilities.

Our team assiduously works to ensure that total enjoyment is attained whilst experiencing all our activities, Restaurants and Bars. The mentioned staff who contributed to your fulfilling experiences achieved whilst on property will be applauded for their wonderful services extended.

Thank you for making it Moon Palace Jamaica where we have been bestowed the opportunity of delivering nothing less than that of impeccable service, we excitedly anticipate your return in October to create many more irreplaceable memories!

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This resort was 'interesting' to say the least. If you never have been to an all-inclusive resort and this was your first, you probably would give it a higher review than I did. But I am comparing it with other 4 star or higher all-inclusives from Mexico, Aruba, Dominican, etc...I was with a group of 3 separate families and we all were somewhat dissapointed especially after reading all the outstanding reviews.

On some hands, the resort was great - the view from the beach with the mountain background, the pools were nice, food at most places was pretty good and some staff members were very attentive and friendly. Management seemed also attentive to our needs and requests so I can't complain that they didn't try and help, some things were just not in their control.

Beach - This is not really the hotels fault I suppose, but the beach is not very nice. The sand area is great but my kids never wanted to go in the water. It was rocky, very uneven and way too much seaweed all over. You also can't even go that deep since there was a rope/line stopping you. Maybe this was just a bad time for seaweed and other times are better? But all the rocks you have to pass over to get to some clear areas? And very shallow. The nice thing on the beach however is that they did have Jerk Chicken grilling everyday. They also provided certain water sport activities that you could take out which was nice. I would have liked if they did some more 'beach parties' and activities to get more of the adults interacting, just seemed too boring at times at the beach and pool areas.

Service all around the complex was hit or miss. There was no consistency. Sometimes you go ask for a pizza and they look at you as you are bothering them. Not pleasant or smiling. Other times you go ask for a panini sandwhich to be made and I waited 45 minutes for a vegetable panini. Really? Even if you tip more, the results did not change much. Now I don't want to make this blanket statement about everyone there, there were some staff that went out of their way and were very friendly as well.

Drinks! - This is probably where my friends and I had the most problem with. Like I said before, we have been to many all-inclusives and the drinks here were just bad. Always very sweet and low in alcohol content - plus rarely could you get a lime, only lime juice. It made no sense, we would have 10 - 15 drinks in a few hour time span and not even get a buzz. Just got filled up with sugar. So then we would try the hard stuff like just Vodka or Rum with a little club soda..and ask them to pour more...but still nothing. We may be very wrong, but it was our determination that the alcohol was watered down. I don't know how they do it to all those bottles or even if its true but it made no sense to us. Maybe there are other factors that we are not considering but that is what it felt like at least.

Dinners - We had good dinners at Gondola and Momo (even though my wife waited an hour in line for a reservation, it was probably worth it). We ate at the buffet at times and it wasn't bad. Food at the sundeck was pretty decent as well. The biggest problem was with Pier 8 steak house. Our group of 12 got there at 6:30pm but did not get out until almost 10pm. That is unacceptable, kids were falling asleep at the table. And when they finally brought over the steaks, one person who ordered it medium rare got his steak well-done and he had even upgraded and paid the additional money. He had to get the manager to comp it, which they did.

Activities - We went scuba diving through the hotel which was just ok. Even as we got to the boat and spoke to the guide, he told us 'you won't see much fish in Jamaica since too many fisherman catch them'. Well, he was right, we didn't see much fish at all and the diving was a dissapointment. Can't really blame this on the resort, maybe this is just Jamaica in general or just to the site they took us to.

The kids did the on site dolphin activity and I can say that they really enjoyed this and no one had any complaints about this. The only small complaint was the high cost of the pictures after, that's how they get you to spend some money since most use resort credits on this activity (and pay the 16% fee).

Hotel Room - This was another major problem. The air condition in our room broke three separate nights in a row - and they came by 3 nights in a row to try and fix it. Finally on the third try they fixed it but we spent 2 nights with no AC and it was hot. Then the water flow in the shower came to a stand still. They came 2 times to try and fix this. After the 2nd time when it still was not fully fixed, we decided not to bother anymore and deal with the extremely low water pressure. We are normally not complainers and just go with the flow but some things you have to speak up about.
The room in general was o.k but more on the small side than we are used to. Oh and on Saturday night, there was some festival going on in town and we heard loud bass going on until 5am! That night was impossible to sleep.

Music - You would expect that being in Jamaica you would hear allot of calypso, steel drums, Reggae - Bob Marley, etc... but when you are at most of the pools, all you hear is American music. I get it, most visitors there are American but we hear that all the time. You have to go to the kids area pool where there is rarely any seats available and its right in front of some big kids slide in order to hear any Island music. That made no sense at all.

Other activities like the Arcade room were nice. They were free to use which was also a plus. The night club was also nice and they played decent music and we had a good time in there. Loud bar was decent to play pool, but they said a band would play on 2 separate nights but both nights the band never showed up. The nightly shows were fine, didn't expect too much at a resort. The magic show and Michael Jackson shows were good.

Maybe I'm being too harsh to just give it an 'average' rating but I have to base it and compare it with my experience at other all inclusive resorts. Driving 1 1/2 hour from the airport was also not fun but I didn't take that into account in giving this rating. Things such as hotel room maintenance, staff/ service, fun activities, food/drinks, other amenities, value, and resort layout all came into mind. And when three of our families all concurred as we have been on the same other all-inclusives, it makes the decision easier.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buzzy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear buzzy71,

Your time invested to share your review is received with much gratitude from our team.

We are however quite saddened to learn that a less than spectacular vacation was attained whilst staying on property.

Your a/c discrepancy is also duly noted by our team and we are working on preventative maintenance to not have this reoccurrence with future guests likewise the same for the water pressure which you highlighted. Please be assured that these are not the memories we desire to have our esteemed guests depart with.

The loud music which you referred to being heard from outside the property is out of our control seeing that during the festive season, events may occur from time to time, thus we are deeply sorry for this inconvenience.

Be assured that these undesirable experiences are most definitely not our intention as we seek to create magical moments through all our getaway packages, furthermore, the team members are very hospitable cultured people so your encounter described is out of the norm, nonetheless, we will reinforce the importance of remaining consistent in customer service delivery.
The wait time in Restaurants is also another area we are focusing on with improving efficiency for our guests to receive their meals in a more timely manner.

As we seek to offer only that of first class service, I assure you that the encounters mentioned in your review were definitely not our intention.

We hope to be given the opportunity once more of hosting you and your beautiful family to a more extraordinary getaway than that of your last had with us.

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived on March 30th and leave April 7. The resort is beautiful and rooms are fine, nothing special but clean. Check in was extremely slow and they told us they would bring our luggage up but an hour later we got it from the lobby ourselves. We love the sushi bar and coffee shop. Highly recommend pier 8 and gondola for dinner: both great ambiance and food. Staff on site are all extremely friendly. Resort is booked to capacity and one elevator of the 3 has been broken daily. The lines are ridiculous and by the time one comes it is too full and you can’t get on...this is not making the vacation relaxing. You also have to get up by 5am if you want a chair to sit on by the pool or ocean...this again does not make for a relaxing vacation. If you want to eat at Momo you have to get in line at 11:30am and wait until they open at 1pm for reservations only for that day and typically by the time you get up to podium the tables are booked. There has got to be a better way. Many things could be improved.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Michelle C,

Thank you for the time invested to pen your vacation experience had at our Moon Palace Jamaica property.

Your recommendation made as it relates to our Pier 8 and La Gondola Restaurants as a result of the amazing service you received is highly appreciated, additionally, we are thrilled to learn that you had total satisfaction with the Sushi Bar and Boulangerie.

Whilst we are elated that the wonderful ambiance and great food captivated your admiration, we are saddened that a five-star getaway was not had due to the issues you mentioned. As we aim to offer nothing less than superb service to all our valued guests we will definitely reassess these areas and discuss how best we may implement a more comfortable manner of facilitating guests.

Despite your undesirable encounters described, our team would be delighted to be bestowed the opportunity of hosting you to a more spectacular vacation than that of your last with us.

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Moon Palace over spring break with 5 other families. We booked a group rate, Saturday the 31st to Saturday the 7th. The trip was 100% prepaid. We could not arrive until Sunday the 1st. Our travel agent notified the resort on several occasions that, although we paid for Saturday, we would not arrive until Sunday. After 15 hours of traveling from Indiana to Jamaica, we were told by the resort that we were supposed to arrive the day before and they don’t have the room anymore. After 20 minutes of searching, they found another room but we had to wait an hour to get it. I’m not sure why a room that we had already paid for wasn’t available immediately. The previous week, I had also booked 3 excursions- one of which was snorkeling. When i called to confirm the snorkeling, they told me that it had been cancelled and the boat was full. In addition, the meals are average at best and the reservation situation is nothing short of horrible. There are only 2 restaurants in which you can actually make a reservation. They only take same day reservations and in order to get one, you literally have to wait 2-3 hours in line. The bars keep running out of drinks and the wait staff is average at best, unless you are willing to throw a wad of cash at them. Then they are awesome. Or unless you are a premiere member, which means you get reservations whenever you want, get the elevators all to yourselves, get separate dining options, and basically don’t have to wait in line for anything. With all the other options out there, I can say I will never bring my family back again!

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank juliethall123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for investing the time to explain your encounters had on-site.

Our team is saddened to learn of your reservation misunderstanding experienced upon check-in, however, this aspect of the operations is done by our Cooperate office in Mexico. We have noted this concern and will focus on improving our efficiency in this area through better effective communication.

The team is heartbroken to learn of your unfortunate encounters had.
None of our restaurants on property require reservations with the exception of the hibachi table in Momo, as per standard this reservation is done by the actual restaurant at 3 pm, however, with accommodating all our valued guests during high occupancy we adjust the time to 1 pm, nonetheless, we sincerely apologize for this inconvenience.

Additionally, your highlight made of our bars running out of drinks is being assiduously handled by our operations team in an effort to mitigate these reoccurrences for our esteemed guests.

We thank you for selecting our magnificent resort for hosting your awe-inclusive getaway and despite these less than fantastic experiences descibed, we hope to be given the opportunity once more of hosting you and your beautiful family to a more extraordinary getaway than that of your last had with us.

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There are so many things that have gone wrong since we arrived on 3/31. The restaurant situation is abysmal. If you want to go to the Japanese restaurant, you have to get in line at 11:30, and wait until 1:00 when they start taking names. Yesterday we did this only to get up to the hostess who told us there was nothing available and to come back tomorrow. Ridiculous to spend hours of our vacation trying to put our name in for dinner. Waited for an hour and a half to go to the Italian restaurant and the food was awful. Secondly, the bar and restaurants we have gone to are consistently out of items-like pina coladas, jerk chicken, tequila etc. The staff is completely rude for the most part and seem put off when asked a question (except Michael at the one bar by the dolphin swim who is AMAZING and always willing to help). For the amount of money we spent to come here, we should be having a much better experience . I’ll be sure to go to the Hard Rock next time as everyone says that is the best place and they have great service. I will say the property is pretty and I like the pools and the dolphin swim was fantastic. Those are my only positives thus far.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank meganewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

We are appreciative of your time invested to describe your experiences had on property.

We thank you for the highlight made of our beautiful grounds and thrilled to be made aware that you found entertainment in the Dolphin Swim.

The team is heartbroken to learn of your unfortunate encounters had.
None of our restaurants on property require reservations with the exception of the hibachi table in Momo, as per standard this reservation is done by the actual restaurant at 3 pm, however, with accommodating all our valued guests during high occupancy we adjust the time to 1 pm.
It is the choice of the guest to hold their space in line for this booking whatever time they so desire, nonetheless, we sincerely apologize for this inconvenience.
Generally, it is not the norm for our team members to be rude as we are not of this nature, our sincerest apologies for this unpleasant mishap, on the other hand, be assured Michael will be applauded for offering exceptional service as you mentioned.

Your concerns have been duly noted and we are in the process of coordinating more feasible procedures resulting in memorable experiences for our guests.

Despite these less than desirable encounters, our team would be pleased if given the opportunity to host you for a more satisfactory vacation than your last with us.

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews