We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandals Royal Plantation
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Inn(Ocho Rios)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,730)
Filter reviews
2,730 results
Traveler rating
2,192
367
119
36
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,192
367
119
36
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswobbly peacockle papillonbeach butlerroyal grilleast beachterrace restaurantfrench restaurantpeter fraserfrench balconyarnold nugentbutler servicelobster bltrose waterour honeymoonfood and beverage managereast wingthe general manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 2,730 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the best honeymoon we could have imagined. From the minute we stepped off the plane in Montego Bay and headed to Ocho Rios, we were pampered beyond belief. Our butlers, Audell and Chadsworth, were incredible. They were so thoughtful and made sure all our needs were met before we knew we even had needs! The Beach Butlers, Cleon and Danellione, kept our drinks flowing every second we were on the perfect private beach. Finally, the entertainment directors, Jason and Akeem, made sure that we were having fun every second of our trip. It was the best vacation I have ever been on and hope to return for our 5 year anniversary!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank NAPowell2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is definitely the best Resort I have ever been. It is faultless in every single detail. Service, staff, food, beach, entertainment, drinks, SPA, and so on! Firstly, you arrive at the airport and there is a private transfer waiting for you that will take you straight to the hotel (for free, already included). The driver is very professional and non-invasive. Once you arrive at the hotel lobby, they offer a a glass of Sparking Wine and take all your bags for identification. I don't even had to care about taking it to the room or caring it. Within 5min our Butler arrived at the lobby and presented himself (Sean) with an impeccable polite manner. He took us for a tour at the Resort (which didn't take long as it is a small resort) and explained everything to us. Afterwards we went to the room (our bags were already there) and there was the most beautiful beach front view that I have ever seen! Breathtaking, just in front of our bed! He kindly ask us to sit down and sign for the check-in (yes, the check-in is done in your room, not at the lobby!). Very private and exclusive treatment. He gave us a cellphone so you can call him or the other Butler - Gladstone - (they switch shifts) whenever you desire or needs ANYTHING! If you loose the cellphone they will charge 25 USD.
He offered us as a complementary service to unpack our bag and put everything in the closet, but we didn't found it necessary (although I believe he would do it waaaay better than me =))) ).
After that, we went to the beach (cristal clear water) to enjoy the day and have lunch (the food is perfect). Everything was perfect! The Butler sometimes came to delight us with a water coconut (and we didn't order for it!) - he did this for our pleasure and to be kind. The service at the beach is also perfect! The waiter never leave your glass empty! When we arrived at our room by the end of the day, our butler Gladstone have left a shrimp plate beside our bed, also as a kind gesture, as we haven't ask for it.
And like that, the days goes smooth and perfect! After having dinner we always went to the Wobbly Peacock to have a last drink at the end of the day (try Walk on the beach - is perfect), and there was a great and friendly team. Every staff truly become your friend by the end of the trip, they are soooo kind and nice to have a chat!

I have only 3 things to complain:
- one day, we have asked for the service room a plate of assorted cheese at our room and it never came! But, no worries about that. They must have forgotten.
-The second thing was concerning our wedding anniversary. I have informed that it was our wedding anniversary, looking for something special that the resort could offer. Resorts usually do that (flowers upon arrival, private dinner with special discounts, etc). But nothing of this happened.
- The SPA is extreeeemly expensive. I couldn't understand why! Me and my husband paid for a massage almost 500 USD. It's ridiculous.

But, being honest, the place is perfect in every way! And I would like to give a special thanks for:
- Sean: our butler (perfect, very kind and dedicated)
- Gladstone: our butler (also perfect, very professional, never pushing us and made all the effort to find us a SCALE at the last day. He had to borrow from the resort next door. Soooo kind!).
- Oliver, very nice guy!!!
- Shannel - we love youuu!! Perfect waitress and singer!
- Jason - the incredible entertainment!!
- Junior - the bartender that made perfects drinks
- Simone - our therapist! Best massage ever!
- Andrea - what a voice!! Perfect person and singer!
- Karena - kind and special friend!
- and finally, the best best best gospel singer EVER: Mathew! So nice, a genuine good person, and has the most stunning voice!


Thank you Sandals! Hope seeing you soon!

Room Tip: Stay at room 303. Away from the noise and perfect view.
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank barbarabraga4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we came here for an intimate wedding and honeymoon. the resort was beautiful, but the staff was exceptional. they became our family since my husband and i were there alone. could not of dreamt of a more perfect wedding or honeymoon. we already booked to go back in 3 years.

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellena H, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jessica!

Thank you for your review on our Sandals Royal Plantation. First, we would like to say congratulations on your nuptials and thank you for choosing our resort to celebrate your special occasion. We are happy to know that your wedding was successful and it was everything that you dreamed off. It is also great to know that our staff played a huge part in planning your wedding and ensured that you had everything you need to fully enjoy your stay. It will definitely put a smile on their faces knowing that you left the resort without any regrets selecting this resort and is counting the days for your next vacation. We do look forward to hosting your next stay and we can assure you that you will definitely have another wonderful experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have recently spent a fantastic 14 days at this lovely resort. The staff are outstanding and the location is stunning. Special thanks to Michael and Natalia for their service and entertainment at breakfast and lunch, Danielle and Cuelo for their untiring pool and beach drinks service and to our fantastic butlers, Orayne and Ricardo for first class attention. We think it should be pointed out that there are a number of steps in this resort, which are not explained in the description and it makes it very difficult for vulnerable guests. Also we understand that there is a complete refurbishment of bathrooms planned which is greatly needed. We really look forward to our return visit next year and reuniting with so many new friends.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank tellyg5418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our sixth trip to Jamaica and our first visit to Royal Plantation. Mike McHugh at Dream Makers Vacations handled all of our details for the trip. Mike provides outstanding customer service and answers any questions you may have including our question about when the steel drum band played at Ocho next door because we really enjoy them. We booked the Club Mobay service and it really saved us time on arrival because customs was very busy and I would always recommend this service as on departure the lounge is fantastic and a great place to enjoy the last few hours in Jamaica.

Royal Plantation is very intimate compared to the other Sandals properties we have visited, but the service and food were a step above. Our butlers Robert and Kadesha provided outstanding service and did so without being intrusive in any way. Cleon and Daniello were awesome providing beach service each day and there was no request that they would not fulfill. The response always was “you are on vacation, so enjoy!” Our room attendant Stacey was phenomenal and had our room in tip-top shape everyday.
We have always been very happy with the food at the other Sandals properties we have stayed at, but at Royal Plantation, the food quality and presentation is in a class by itself. Chef Martin and his staff are to be commended for their great work!

The beach at Royal Plantation is small and divided into two sections. There were always plenty of beach loungers and even I did not need to get up at dawn to ensure we had our favorite place on the beach.
We really enjoyed our week at Royal Plantation. I would rate this and Sandals South Coast on par with each other. South Coast would get the nod for the beautiful beach and Royal Plantation takes the cake for the food quality and presentation. If you are looking for a quiet resort with outstanding service and food, you will not be disappointed with Royal Plantation.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
4  Thank veggie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellena H, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there!
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our Sandals Royal Plantation. We are happy to read that you were able to enjoy every moment of your vacation. Our aim is to go above and beyond to exceed each guest’s expectation and we are pleased to read that this is exactly what happened on your vacation. It is great to know that our staff members were able to exceed your expectations as they normally do during your stay and you were able savor our extensive dining and activity offerings. We do so appreciate you taking the time to share your review and we look forward to welcoming you friends again in the future for another wonderful vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews