We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$385
US$285
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$333/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$327
US$229
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$457
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Be Live Collection Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$338
US$268
Be Live Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Karibo Punta Cana(Bavaro)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$391
US$285
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$561
US$178
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
US$186
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$765
US$527
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,583)
Filter reviews
6,583 results
Traveler rating
3,573
1,844
715
248
203
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,573
1,844
715
248
203
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal sideinfinity poolpiano barcata tapathalassa restauranttapas restaurantthe sea blue restauranttao catrodeo steak housejuice barroyal guestsla toscanayucacalifornia rollswim up barsister resortsea grass
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 6,583 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a nice time at this resort. We have been to the Caribbean six times so feel qualified to compare and review. Our big disappointment was the beach. We were looking forward to a beautiful beach and were very let down to find that this beach is surrounded by a floating barrier, necessary to keep seaweed off the beach. Even so, the beach had a layer of seaweed that was unsightly and smelled really bad, especially in the evening. The staff worked continuously to keep the accumulation down and did a good job of that. However, the barrier and the seaweed beyond it spoiled the view. Snorkeling in the enclosed area was not great as the ocean floor had seaweed growing on it. We were able to find one small school of pretty fish and sea urchins in places. We were unable to sail as the water sports staff could not open the "gate" while we were there because the seaweed on the other side would then come into the enclosed area. Upon arriving, it seemed as though perhaps there was not a room for us or a glitch of some sort. We were quickly "upgraded" to a honeymoon suite which seemed a bit dated although the bathroom was lovely. We would have preferred a more beachy feeling bedroom area but didn't want to make an issue of it. The room was very clean and housekeeping did a great job of keeping us stocked with everything we needed. As others have mentioned, hot water was not always available but we managed...cool showers are not bad. The a/c had a hard time keeping up with the heat and humidity. Our room and clothing always felt damp. And, as others have mentioned, we were accosted, by name, each time we were in the lobby by one of the salespeople who wanted to give us his sales pitch. We liked the man but would have preferred not to have to contend with that each time we went to a meal at Thalassa. The restaurants were good but not great. Our favorite meals were breakfast at Thalassa and other meals at either Sea Blue or Sorrento where the pizza is great! We really enjoyed the salads everywhere and the iced tea was really good. The service was also good. The pools were beautiful and very clean. The number of beach chairs and beds were more than adequate for the guests. We never had any trouble getting what we wanted, either on the beach or at the pools. The grounds are really worth mentioning! They were absolutely gorgeous and beautifully maintained-definitely exceptional. As an aside, the family Catalonia adjoins this resort, separated by a quiet drive. Although a couple children were in our adult area, it was not a problem. We did not go to the buffet or shows which were in the family area. The best entertainment in our area was the saxophone player. We had a good time and while we do on occasion return to a resort we probably would not do so here, primarily because the beach was not the clear turquoise blue water to which we are accustomed.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor of Villa 36 which was centrally located.
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachlover1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your observations. We will share your comments with the involved department. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at 9:30pm and were told they were over booked so they were sending us to the Dreams down the beach and would pick use up at 12 noon the next day and give use an upgraded VIP room for our trouble. At noon someone came and picked up 4 other people but not us so we got a cab and went there our selves they apologized and gave us our VIP room which was on the 1st floor with a private pool and the room was newly done Looked nice the pool was nice but the round tub leaked all over the floor.The people next to us their shower leaked all over their room and the one on the other side was leaking from somewhere and flooded the hall.room service some times they came and sometimes they didn't. I will not return here will go back to Bravaro Princess much nicer.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Bigblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We sincerely apologize for not being able to fulfill your expectations during your visit. We care about all of our guests' satisfaction and we feel concerned to know your experience at our resort wasn't pleasant. Rest assured that we will personally convey your comments and suggestions to the areas in charge, in order to avoid this kind of uncomfortable situations to happen in the future.

Receive my apologies and my sincere commitment to work on our opportunity areas as we want to serve you brilliantly next time you visit our resort. Please, do not hesitate to reach me out directly, your additional comments will help us to improve the quality in all of our services. 

Warmest regards, 
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just back from this holiday and overall a good hotel.

Negatives first!, but not many. The beach was a big disappointment, piles of seaweed every morning. A lot of people were there clearing it up, but the smell wasn’t pleasant and the sound of tractors and diggers driving up and down the beach did not make for a restful beach experience. However, I’ve since learned that this never used to happen, and actually only lasts 6-8 weeks, so can only assume it’s due to global warming?

There are only actually two pools at this hotel, one noisy and one quiet, the infinity pool. We spent most of our time at the quiet one, which was lovely, but not enough umbrellas for the beds.

There’s no buffet restaurant, only for breakfast, which is a shame, as you sometimes just want something light. There is one at the sister hotel adjoining, but more of that later.

Now the good bits!

It’s a lovely hotel and the rooms are spacious. The staff are all very helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble. The wi-fi is very good and works across the whole site. Although a great hotel, I only gave four stars as it lacked the extra touches of a five star. Things like a turn down service, welcome fruit or wine, chocolate on your pillow. Not bothered by this, but usually five star means you get these little touches.

There are several restaurants all with good varieties on the menus, Mediterranean, Caribbean, Steakhouse, Asian, Japanese, vegetarian etc. Though, apart from the Steakhouse, the steaks weren’t cooked well, sometimes a bit tough. Overall though the food was very good.

Some of these restaurants were in the sister hotel, literally a couple of minutes walk away, as is the buffet restaurant which is huge and has a good selection. However, the sister hotel has children there, which the Royal doesn’t have, as it’s adults only.

Entertainment at night was usually just someone playing an instrument or singing just outside the main restaurant or a disco or karaoke in the piano bar. There is also a beach party on a couple of nights. There is a theatre on the other site, but can’t comment on this as we didn’t go.

The drinks are all good brands and there’s always a waiter on hand, good service.

There is a small gym and a spa, but we didn’t use either. Air conditioning was very good and the safe was free.

We went on two TUI organised trips, one to Saona island and one to the capital, Saint Domingo. Really enjoyed these, but both were a twelve hour day away, and you need to have a bit of a tan before the boat trip to avoid burning! Both a bit expensive, but we did enjoy them.

Room Tip: Don’t be fooled into paying $480 for a room upgrade! Some people did and all they got was a slightly bigger room
Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your observations. We will share your comments with the involved department. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is my second time in Bavaro but this time was disappointed. The beach wasn’t at all as the pictures. Very disgusting get into the sea a lot of seaweed. Also they offered the service to give you a room later for the people that was leaving after the check out, but the service was in the spa area where the shower doesn’t have any privacy and doesn’t have any dressing room. Very uncomfortable. Only the smile of the people that is working here was an amazing experience.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We sincerely apologize for not being able to fulfill your expectations during your visit. We care about all of our guests' satisfaction and we feel concerned to know your experience at our resort wasn't pleasant. Rest assured that we will personally convey your comments and suggestions to the areas in charge, in order to avoid this kind of uncomfortable situations to happen in the future.

Receive my apologies and my sincere commitment to work on our opportunity areas as we want to serve you brilliantly next time you visit our resort. Please, do not hesitate to reach me out directly, your additional comments will help us to improve the quality in all of our services. 

Warmest regards, 

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a great time on our honeymoon! The resort was absolutely beautiful, well maintained, and clean. Food was delicious with lots of variety since we could go to the family part of the resort as well and eat at any of those restaurants as well. It was nice not having to make reservations for dinner at the restaurant which made our vacation more relaxing as we could stay in the pool as long as we wanted without having to worry about getting ready for dinner at a certain time. The staff there were amazing and always greeted us with a smile. Miladis at the Beach Bar was amazing and always had our drinks ready for us when she saw us walking up. She made our vacation wonderful and we looked forward to going to the beach bar every night to visit with her. Yenci was also great and made some amazing Mama Juana sours!

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words, it was great to bring you the best service possible.

We are very glad that we met your expectations and you left with the feeling of satisfaction and happiness, that's our main goal! We would love to see have you back very soon, you are Catalonia family!

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews