We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,920)
Filter reviews
4,920 results
Traveler rating
2,342
1,445
608
252
273
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,342
1,445
608
252
273
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vip section vip pool la bambola palm trees sports bar caribbean street main pool dominican republic specialty restaurants ocean view vip room open concept main buffet entertainment area italian restaurant other resorts entertainment staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 4,920 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2020

Far overated hotel. Barely 2
Star hotel and certainly not as advertised by tui. Broken beds replaced with broken beds. Then replaced with camp beds. If I had wanted camping I would have booked a tent. Whale watching trip expensive and definitely not as advertised. Do take extra change of clothes in waterproof bag. You WILL need them. Tour guide on this trip completely inept. Lack of seating to accommodate. Lack of life jackets for number of passengers. Complete farce start to finish. Bus late. Too many stops to change passengers from bus to bus. Like riding on a shopper hopper. Definitely one trip to avoid. Categorically one hotel to avoid Management rude and discourteous hotel tui rep a complete waste of space and doesn't work weekends. Full focus on you paying for trips rather than solving issues. On the up side. The regular staff cleaners and gardeners work long arduous hours and do their utmost to please where possible. Would I ever book here again? NEVER. NOT EVEN IF THE HOLIDAY WAS FREE.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank chriscctv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2020

Dear chriscctv1,

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to write your review.

We are very surprised to read your words towards the attitude of our Manager since in RIU we care a lot about the customer service provided and we always try to provide it with professionalism and kindness. We would like to apologize if the attention you received did not lived up to your expectations. Feedback such as yours helps us in focusing on any failings to the standards we strive for and we will forward it to our management team.

On a more positive note, we are glad to read your compliments regarding part of our staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

Hotel over all very good food very good themed restaurant very good shows when on in the evening but been to quite a few places and a lot of riu hotels and this is by far the worst for the entertainment team I've ever seen they all need replacing and get new people in and at least put there own show on and not chat up customers and do the things they want instead of entertaining the people that pay them this needs to be addressed or people will not come back my opinion.PS bar staff restaurant staff cleaners receptionist and all other staff brilliant.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 416davidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2020

Dear 416davidh,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the travel community!

We are happy to learn that overall you had a good time during your stay at our Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro! We appreciate your kind words and compliments towards most of our products and services. However, we apologize for not reaching your expectations with the work of our entertainment team! We'll share your concerns with them so that they can take your words into consideration!

We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future!

Greetings,

Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2020

Stayed here for 5 days. We weren’t impressed with the staff in the restaurants, staff wasn’t very attentive or nice and the food was mediocre. Room was outdated but clean. The best part of our stay there was the beach, long stretch, almost no seaweed (very little), clean sand and beautiful turquoise ocean! That’s what we came there for and it was definitely not a disappointment! If I decide to go back to Punta Cana I would choose a different resort, this one is pretty outdated.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Grazyna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

Dear Grazyna,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the travel community!

We are happy to learn that overall you had a good time during your stay at our Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro! We appreciate your kind words towards our beachside. However, we lament that you found some inconveniences that made your stay less enjoyable which we apologize for! We have taken notes of these concerns and suggestions and will share them with our Management team so that they can take them into consideration!

It was our pleasure to take care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon in one of our worldwide hotels!

King regards,

Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 January 2020

This is a beautiful resort but has some serious problems. At our 9:30 p.m. check in, one employee, was trying to check a group of eight and we were after them in line,while two other dress shirt staff stood around and talked. Then the first one tried unsuccessfully to multitask is all. I finally got another guy to help. We asked if this was an ocean view room as booked and were told that it was. When we got up to it, it
it faced buildings and a pool. This room was unacceptable so we moved to another that is partial ocean view. Be aware your view will likely be obstructed by the many gorgeous palm trees.

Two restaurants were closed on Sunday night at dinner. When we went into the Italian one they said that it was all reserved. This is supposed to be a "no reservations needed " hotel. I pointed to an empty set
table for two at the back and was again told reserved. So we went to the Japanese restaurant and were told that 39 people had reserved those empty seats. Others were in front of us and were told the same thing so we were upset and went to the buffet. This is not the staff's fault but they have to deal with it.

After dinner, I discussed these two restaurant problems with a very compassionate desk staff named Ferdinand who said that he would take it to meetings with the restaurant manager.

The food is delicious with many choices. I also mentioned how dissatisfied we were with the poor check in staff and that I hoped that I'd have better experiences for the rest of our two weeks.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank S2519UBwendyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

Dear S2519UBwendyc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the travel community!

We are happy to learn that overall you had a good time during your stay at our Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro!

However, we lament that you found some inconveniences that made your stay less enjoyable which we apologize for! We have taken notes of these concerns and suggestions and will share them with our Management team so that they can take them into consideration!

It was our pleasure to take care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon in one of our worldwide hotels!

King regards,

Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2020 via mobile

We took our kids on a surprise vacation for Christmas. We’ve been to Mexico a couple of times and were looking for a nicer beach/ocean. Ocean and beaches are BEAUTIFUL!! Hotel leaving a lot to be desired. Overall, didn’t feel like the food was as good as we have had in the past and the service wasn’t near as good. I’m also writing this after 5 nights of tossing and turning in this rock hard bed and spent the last 24 hours with gi issues. Don’t think we would recommend or come back.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Mommadubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2020

Dear Mommadubbs,

Thank you very much for your review.

We would like to sincerely apologize if we did not provide you with the holidays you were looking for and we hope that you are now completely recovered. Please let us inform you that in case of stomach discomfort, we always encourage our guests to reach out to our front desk staff so they can provide medical attention immediately and detect the cause of the illness.

We have already shared your comments with our Management Team for an adequate follow-up.

It is our sincerest hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide you with a better experience.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews