We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Med Punta Cana
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$347
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$293
US$171
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$278
US$153
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$391
US$229
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$371
US$259
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$178
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$434
US$254
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,356
US$596
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,836)
Filter reviews
9,836 results
Traveler rating
5,126
2,941
1,075
450
244
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,126
2,941
1,075
450
244
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini clubkids clubpetit clubhispaniola restaurantcircus teamchef de villagezen poolflying trapezecrazy signsthe white chocolate breadla cavecouscous teamindigo bartennis teamtiara suitestrident spaceland sports
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 9,836 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have experience with club med resorts (6 times to Ixtapa, 1 to Cancun, now 1 to Punta Cana) so you can trust that our family with young kids believes in and relies on Club Med for beautiful locations, clean resorts, friendly staff, wonderful activities variety, and great food. We have never been so disappointed as our recent experience to Punta Cana.
Guests: The resort caters more to adults, and to families with older children (teens). It is very loud and they are keen to play hip hop dance music as much as possible, sometimes different songs at the pool and at the beach, at the same time. Unless you are adults only and can escape to the Zen oasis area, you will have to listen to very loud techno music for most of your day, and well into the night (the bars pump it out until 1- 2 AM most nights). One mid-day, aquagym was on the beach and the blaring music was filled with profanity words (*uc*) over and over again in the song. We complained.
Rooms: We stayed in the family Ovando building on purpose because its very central , walkable to everything, but then you hear all the noise.....I read other people who stay far away may be quieter but then they have to rely on the shuttles which are inconsistent. Ovando is updated and the space is good for a family (2 separate sleeping rooms, 1 big bathroom. Simply decorated as are all club meds. but functional and good. You can tell though that updating is shoddy. There are cracks and holes in walls and doors already.
Food and dining: extremely disappointing. Staff are very slow to clean tables, floors are always dirty, birds and flies constantly landing on buffet food and eating/pecking at everything. the staff do nothing about it. I complained to the chef and staff that there should not be birds and flies allowed to be in the restaurant landing on and eating all the food that we then have to eat. They just shrug their shoulders and say that's the way it is. Well on day 7, my daughter got violently sick with a GI illness, and vomited non-stop for 2 1/2 days. Thankfully the infirmary on site has a pediatrician who comes in and he was very good, gave her shots and medicine, and she was well enough on day 4 to travel home. Again i complained to front desk and to the chef that there is a problem with the food or water (hep A? E coli? , something bad). And they dismissed us instead blaming kids and their germs.
Security: I had my sneakers stolen from our hotel room front door. We had a lot of rain while we were there and the sneakers were soaking wet. To avoid making a mess in our hotel room floor, we sensitively left our shoes propped up against our door to dry. When we next opened our door, they were gone. We complained to front desk who again said there was nothing they could do. Guests leave wet clothing , towels, shoes outside to dry all the time, so be warned if you do this.
Overall: we loved the location of the resort, the beach and ocean is beautiful. they do a lovely job of cleaning the grounds, maintaining the grass,flowers, and removing seaweed from the beach. But the dining experience and then the lack of customer service support really took us over the edge , and I am sad to say , has likely tainted our club med experience permanently, and we will not return. For the price point, there will be better options.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MacMo2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club Med Ψ, Customer Relations at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago


Dear MacMo2018,

Thank you for your review of our resort Punta Cana. We are pleased to hear that you loved the location of the resort, beach, ocean and that the grounds were satisfactorily maintained but we regret to learn that your vacation was not completely trouble free. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your experience in regards to music, noise, resort caters to adults and teens, birds and flies in the restaurant, your daughter became ill and your sneakers were stolen. We have forwarded your comments to the appropriate operations managers. If you wish to address your concerns further regarding your daughters illness and stolen sneakers we ask that you contact our Guest Relations department at 800-548-1335 and us.guestrelations@clubmed.com.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to a Club Med in the near future.

Best Regards,

Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First trip at a Club Med resort. We were very impressed by the Go team, the seamless transfer from airport and the amazing Mini Club. We have been to many resorts in Punta Cana and this has been by far our best experience. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Club Med
Thank peterj20182018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club Med Ψ, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that Club Med is your favorite resort in Punta Cana. We hope to see you back soon! The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've waited a while to write this review because I wanted to remember our vacation without thinking only about the health issues that plagued us on our last few days. Time has allowed me to recognize once again that there are some wonderful things about this place - the lovely beach, the parties, the food (desserts included), the loads of activities and many of the staff all really stand out. We adored the New Year's Eve party on the beach and the very French/ European environment. This was our second trip - this time we booked one of the least expensive rooms, it was too far away from things to be convenient and the golf cart shuttle too erratic to count on (drivers often seemed unhappy to give us a lift or just couldnt be found). Stay close to the Zen Oasis or family centre, so its easy to get changed for sports activities or dinner, and to avoid using the central public washroom which is as you can imagine it would be if many others in the resort are ill at the same time. Cleaning staff could not keep up.

Close to the end of our one week stay, our teenage son drank the water from the tap in his room - we were told afterwards by the doctor that the water in rooms is not potable. While there were bottles of water in the room, there were no signs pointing this out, which is irresponsible at best. Our son fell very ill, got dehydrated quickly and spiked a high fever. The clinic on site was fantastic and our son was rehydrated via drip and given antibiotics etc. I fell ill on our travel day with another stomach illness and had a hellish trip home.

So ... with regret that there s so much good about Club Med Punta Cana, we wont be coming back, sad to say. We'll give Beaches a try instead.
:(

Room Tip: Avoid buildings on far edge of resort - some are almost 1 km from Zen and resort shuttle not reliable.
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank COCOFromOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club Med Ψ, Customer Relations at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello COCOfromOttawa,

Thank you for taking the time to review Club Med Punta Cana.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our New Year's Eve party, beach, food, activities, and our GO's. We regret to learn you and your son fell ill during your stay. We have passed your comments and concerns on to the appropriate departments for their review. If you would like to discuss your issues further please contact our guest relations department at canada.guest.relations@clubmed.com at your earliest convenience.

We look forward to the opportunity of restoring your faith in Club Med and welcoming you back in the future.

Kinds regard,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our third Club Med (after Cancun twice and Ixtapa once). We continue to enjoy the Club Med experience with our family of 6 (kids age 12,11, 6 and 6). Punta Cana is a very nice property - much larger than Cancun and Ixtapa with many more amenities, yet still quite manageable to get around by foot. The adjoining suites were spacious, comfortable and quiet.

We loved the Zen pool and our kids made frequent use of the soccer fields, mini golf and large main pool. The beach is nice but not as pristine or suitable for swimming as Cancun. Where Punta Cana really falls short is the service in the restaurants. While the food itself was good enough (though below the standard at Cancun and Ixtapa), the service in the restaurants was lacking, e.g., normally very slow to offer drinks, pick up used plates, etc. The Mexico resorts are much better at this, which makes for a far more pleasant dining experience. Also, the check in and out was poorly organized - even as Gold members.

Punta Cana has the potential to be best family Club Med in the Americas - it just needs better service and management.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJBWisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club Med Ψ, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review! We are so glad you continue to enjoy the Club Med experience and that your children are able to enjoy the soccer fields, mini golf and our large main pool. We appreciate your feedback, we will work on bettering the service in regards to the restaurant service and check-in/check-out. We hope to have you back soon! The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We used to do family Club Meds when our kids were young but more recently we've stuck with Turks & Caicos adult one (back in December). Because we wanted to go to the Dominican and this club Med looked nice we decided to give it a try.

We booked into the Zen section which is at the far end of the resort with an adult only pool and beach section. This made it very nice because we were able to enjoy quiet pool and beach time. There were lots of umbrellas by the water so even arriving after an early game of golf we were able to find a nice spot by the ocean. The entrance to the water is rather rocky but with beach shoes is quite manageable and the water was a nice temperature in early March. The pool had less shade so we waited untiil late in the day to hang around there. There was also a private bar by the pool and that was a nice touch. They could have used some live music there in the evening but did do a couple of events there.

The food was all in the family section and that was super busy with kids, lots and lots of kids. There were a couple of options for eating by the water and we really enjoyed those tables although sometimes they were hard to get. The food itself was quite good and I'm a picky eater so that's definitely worth noting. Wine could be upgraded at a cost and this was encouraged and was fine with us. Club Med has changed, no more of those large meet and greet tables but lots of smaller tables for couples and small groups and that suited us just fine. The staff was friendly and the service was very good.

We like a piano bar or place with sax, local singer, etc. to hang out before or after dinner. The area for this was a very large bar open space and the stage was set to the back. It was really hard to get a place to sit and throngs of kids were everywhere so it was also difficult to sit and enjoy the musical entertainment. It is a family club Med so I guess this is to be expected but it would have been nice to have a smaller venue by the Zen pool.

All in all it was a good experience, kind of miss the crazy GO things that used to happen in the '80s but just like us Club Med has gotten older.

They still have the circus and lots of family things that would have definitely appealed to our young kids 30 years ago.

It was fun but I am definitely looking forward to the adult only Turks & Caicos Club Med in December!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Runswithdolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club Med Ψ, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the detailed review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the Zen section and the private bar by the pool. We are also happy to hear that the food did not dissapoint! We greatly appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration as we move forward. We can't wait to see you at Turkoise in December! The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews