We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$385
US$285
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$319/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 07/28
US$156
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karibo Punta Cana(Bavaro)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/19
US$51
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$327
US$216
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$174
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$561
US$178
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$378
US$279
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$409
US$276
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$290
US$186
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$675
US$498
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,221)
Filter reviews
1,221 results
Traveler rating
686
297
118
71
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
686
297
118
71
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen pooljohnny bravodon pabloblue sectionprivilege clubconstruction siteroom facing the poola la cartebahia principe ambarlobby barbrazilian restauranti love my jobtowel gamesushi bargarden grillcloser to the beachreturning guests
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,221 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We just returned from the Bahia Princioe Ambar Green. We had a great time with friends. The property is beautiful and well maintained. As a part of what is a massive complex, it can be a bit overwhelming to get a grasp of where things are. The good news is the trolley drivers were super helpful in getting you where you needed to go. The beach was full of seaweed, which is a bit of a bummer. We spent most of our time at the pool. The bartenders were a lot of fun and the animation crew was great providing games and entertainment. The barbecue at the pool at lunch was really good. Staff was very helpful for the most part - getting drinks at the buffet was a bit slow and even though we received a call about picking up our luggage they didn’t show so we had to rush to get to the lobby on our own. The butler was sweet and gave me a plate of chocolate covered strawberries when I admired them one day. My only true complaint was the lack of umbrellas at the pool. You had to reserve them before 7, (who wants to set an alarm on your vacation!) or you had to broil in the sun all day. There isn’t a lot of natural shade so there weren’t a lot of other choices. Buy more umbrellas! Otherwise, we enjoyed our time at the Bahia Principe. We met some very interesting people and most likely, we are several pounds heavier than when we got there. Thank you for the lovely time.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank kmartin45714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online Reputati... C, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Martin,

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to know that you have experienced a wonderful stay during your last visit to Dominican Republic. It through of this communication that our guest give us the opportunity of evaluate our performance and services.

We would like to welcome you once again atAmbar Green to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

For a future assistance please contact info.ambargreen@bahia-principe.com

Best regards,

Jasmin Reyes
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at Don Pablo Resorts at Bahia Principe in Mexico and thought we would have the same quality experience in Punta Cana but that was not the case. Both Ambar Blue and Ambar Green are Adults only. We wanted to stay at Ambar Blue because it is closer to the beach but it closed the day after we arrived so we stayed at Ambar Green. They said it was only a 10 minute walk to the beach but that was probably from the Lobby and our room (3rd Floor, Villa 84) was as far as you can get from the Lobby. And then after you get to the sand, you will need to walk a lot more to find a chair.

We didn't know how much Ambar Blue's closure would effect us. All the restaurants including 2 of the best in the complex were closed. The Gourmet Restaurant in Ambar Green, also one of the best in the complex, was also closed. The Ambar Green main buffet was closed but the Ambar Blue buffer was open. It was just a slightly longer walk from the rooms. The Ambar Blue Beach Restaurant was closed. That is where Ambar Green guests would usually eat so they opened the Olas II restaurant for lunch but that was not as convenient. They did open the Matsua restaurant for breakfast but it is small and often there was a line so they had transportation to the Ambar Blue Buffet. Overall, we were not impressed witht he food at the buffets but the food at the better (Don Pablo) restaurants was excellent

The most disappointing thing about the trip was the beach was covered with seaweed. We know this happens but when we got there and for the first 4 days, it was piled up 3-4 FEET high all along the beach. The water was also infested with seaweed making swimming unenjoyable. They had a big crew and heavy equipment on the beach every day cleaning it up. But if you walked about a half mile east, the beaches were clean and seaweed free. We actually took out towels and went there one day. Aside from the beach, the resort was exceptionally clean.

The rooms were exactly the same (excellent) as we had in Mexico However the rooms were in essentially one large building where you always heard doors slamming and echos from people talking in the halls. There is WiFi available in the rooms but there is only 1 grounded outlet to recharge my laptop and that is for the hair dryer in the bathroom. The food was good to excellent but the overall experience left much to be desired. I was also disappointed that all the bars and restaurants in the Don Pablo resorts did not have Johnny Walker Black Label (and likely other premium liquors)

We still like the Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection Resorts but will probably go elsewhere before we go back to Punta Cana

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2skidivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

All feedback from our guests is valued, to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.
We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again and be able to change any negative perception, demonstrating you the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Regards from the Caribbean,

Jasmin Reyes
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my third visit to the Ambar and I was still not disappointed. We enjoyed our stay very much.

I was a bit skeptical with the renovations going on but the noise did not bother me one bit.

I was a bit disappointed to find that the Ambar Blue pool (close to the beach) was closed so we had to go to the Punta Cana pool which is very crowded but we would instead return at the end of the day from the beach to enjoy the Ambar Green pool which is great and kids free.

The food was great and we were able to reserve a la carte restaurants for 6 nights with our desired time. We enjoyed them all. Since the last time I was there, a new restaurant opened near the Jacuzzis and it great for breakfast.

I was very impressed with the shuttle service. Very efficient. They would bring us to our desired location and back without waiting much. For example, we had a reservation at the Fantasy a la carte restaurant and we were there within minutes.

We had a room facing the pool as requested and it was nice and cleaned properly. Plenty of towels.

All my encounters with various staff was great. No complain whatsoever.

There was a lot of seaweed on the last day of our trip but they are trying their best to clean it up. We were able to swim all the other days we were there.

No problem with beach chairs, plenty available...unless you want to be in the front row.

The weather was great all week. I would return again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online Reputati... C, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Linda,

It is a pleasure and a great compliment to know that your experienced an awesome trip in Ambar Green.

For a future assistance please contact info.ambargreen@bahia-principe.com

Best regards,

Jasmin Reyes
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were impressed by Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green.When I saw how big this this resort was I thought it would be hard to get good service and me being a beach person the walk would be hard back and forth but the shuttle service to anywhere we chose.Jorge and Calvin were amazing.Thanks to Dulce at reception and the rest of the staff were always ready to help us.Great food, service and Staff at the Breakfast buffet and Restaurants was fantastic,it brought tears to our eyes to say goodbye to them,simply amazing people who went out of their way for us.I also want to say thanks to the Concierge Manager a kind Mexican man who was great.I wish I could remember his name.Our room was always clean when we got back from the beach and pool by our sweet maid.We will be returning there and hopefully get a chance to bring the whole Family.Besides the Seaweed problem the resort was always doing their best to deal with.Would someone get back to me on which months is the least Seaweed so I could plan the next trip.
Thanks to everyone at AMBAR GREEN for making this a Memorable vacation.

Room Tip: Choose Pool view on the 3rd floor
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Floyd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Floyd,

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to know that you have experienced a wonderful stay during your last visit to Dominican Republic. It through of this communication that our guest give us the opportunity of evaluate our performance and services.

Thank you for recommending us. Our exceptional staff will be proud to know all your nice comments.

For a future assistance please contact info.puntacana@bahia-principe.com

Best regards,

Jasmin Reyes
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my girl paid around $900 for 6 days all inclusive. This resort is huge. It's consist of 5 resorts isolated from the rest of punta Cana like a encapsulated town. There are free trolleys to travel. As a guest, your free to use any thing in every resort. Their pools are beautiful and hotels look Luxury. Lots of food to choose from from Mexican, buffet, French, Italian, Japanese and much more. Everyone is nice and service is top. You can't get a better deal in this price range.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Simon,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience, and for highlighting our beautiful pools, plentiful buffet food and extremely helpful staff.

Looking forward to seeing you soon and be able to provide you the most wonderful experiences!

For a future assistance please contact info.ambargreen@bahia-principe.com

King regards,

Jasmin Reyes
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews