We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$136
BlueBay
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Be Live Collection Marien(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$129
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 08/04
US$268
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 08/01
US$187
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 08/04
US$130
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ApartHotel Costambar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$38
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aparta-Hotel Lomar(Puerto Plata)
Free cancellation until 08/03
Book now, pay at stay
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartments at San Marino Playa Dorada(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (5,956)
Filter reviews
5,956 results
Traveler rating
2,670
2,072
788
266
160
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,670
2,072
788
266
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean grilloctopusquiet poolcatalina buildingvintage clubbeata buildinga la carte restaurantsroyal packagecarlos santanamain poolentertainment teamswim up barocean worlddominican republicitalian restaurantparadise islandcable car
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 5,956 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Love the entertiment they are the best grupp åt the hotell aktivitet is the best and the show love it and hos they are with the guest you will be a familj so fas i will go back to same hotell every timet

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHresorts, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

There is really nothing to complain about this resort. All staff we encountered from housekeeping to bartenders to cooking staff were friendly and helpful. We were assigned a room on the bottom floor and asked for one on an upper floor and it was ready for us the next morning. The housekeeper didn't speak English but she understood from me that I wanted softer pillows and got them for us right away. The resort is very clean everywhere from rooms to dining areas, beach and all public areas. The food is plentiful and there is so much variety ! We only tried the Ocean Grill a la carte and the food was very good. There is a nice coffee station set up outside the dining room with snacks. The animation team is excellent and committed to helping everyone have fun. The beach is beautiful and you can walk quite far in both directions. There is a 2 storey shopping mall less than 5 minute walk from the resort, within the gated area of Playa Dorado that has many shops, a movie theatre, well stocked pharmacy, restaurant and bar, bank, etc. Very convenient ! I would not hesitate to recommend this resort. It is smaller and easy to get around with very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms in the Caribbean generally smell musty. Rooms at the back of the buildings are quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHresorts, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your recent vacation with us! The resort team works hard to provide excellent service so it is always gratifying when that is reward with kind words. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

I stayed there the week of March 19th with friends and family. This was our third time at this hotel within 15 months. We love this place, the hotel is nice and everything is close by. the staff is super nice, food and drinks are good. Elvin at the beach bar is great! Jose Miguel at the italian restaurant and snack bar at night is super friendly and works great. The entertainment team is excellent, they work really hard to get the guests to participate and make you feel like family. Special thanks to Carlos, Chocolaté, Alison, Shorty and Compota for making our trip memorable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Already looking forward to booking our next trip in a few months, would be great if returning guests get special discounts!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHresorts, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your return visit and for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay and for your kind words about our staff, the food, and the hotel itself. Please note that returning guests do have a 10% discount when booking directly with us. We look forward to welcoming you on your 4th visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

A large complex. It takes a day to get your bearings around the facility. Large outside Pool with lots of lounges (but get up early to put your Blue towels on some for best location). We had Lots of Sun, so both got sunburn etc,,,even with 30 factor on, get higher. Staff all very helpful & smiley etc,,, Lot of workers here, very clean resort. Lots of Buffets & a la cartes. Lots of Food around & the drinks don't stop. A small tip at the bar means your glass never goes empty. Beach steps away & Beautiful, soft warm sand with tiki huts. A lot of Vendors around in their blue shirts selling everything from hats, towels, soap stone figurines, jewellery etc etc etc,,,can be a Pain but tell them "No Thanks" & eventually will go. Great place to return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Pool can be noisy
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LarryM674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The Gran Ventana has a wonderful location on Playa Dorado at the tip of the Peninsula where both the sunrise and sunset can be viewed. The beach was lovely and despite numerous guests who reserved Palapas with towels even though they weren't even at the beach there were Palapas to be found if you walked a bit away from the main beach access. The pool is lovely again except for the difficulty of getting chairs because of rude guests who reserved chairs that they weren't even using. But I don't fly to the Dominican Republic to sit by the pool so that didn't bother me directly.

The hotel had numerous activities geared for different interests. During the week I was there Yoga was taught by an outside professional Lenore from NRG2Go. Lenore gave fantastic Yoga classes geared to a wide range of ages and abilities. Despite the lack of clear listings by the hotel Lenore was able to draw good groups at her classes. The morning class was taught on a pleasant lawn area just off the path to the beach. In the evening the class was held by the quiet pool in the Beatta building. Excellent yoga with attention to the needs of the individuals in the class.

The entertainment staff was lively and engaging and the evening shows provided a range of distractions from hilarious Childrens antics to traditional dance shows and karaoke. The wait staff worked very hard to satisfy a large crowd in the buffet and tables were turned over promptly and efficiently. Local fruits were plentiful and tasty. The range of food was sufficient for most tastes.

Many reviews complain of the beach vendors but I found it to be a way to engage the local population which is somewhat isolated from these tourist areas. Be aware the beach vendors are very good negotiators and they start at prices that are 3 or four times higher than what similar merchandise can be purchased for in local shops. Even the tourist "mall" in the center of the Playa Dorado complex. There is a group of stall "stores" about a mile west along the beach where you can also bargain for local goods. Be prepared to bargain hard or you will pay more than you can for goods. I bought a couple of stone carvings for less than 1/4 th of the original "asking" price. They are very aggressive sellers so don't be afraid to walk away. The local artisans produce some very nice jewelry carvings textiles et.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHresorts, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Gran Ventana and that you enjoyed Lenore's Yoga classes as well as the resort. We will certainly pass your compliments onto the staff and very much look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews