We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blau Varadero Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$300
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
US$145
US$135
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$162
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$110
US$91
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$144
US$129
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$143
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$158
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,244)
Filter reviews
7,244 results
Traveler rating
4,048
2,402
576
141
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,048
2,402
576
141
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano barthe palma real restaurantfishinternational restaurantplenty of sunbedspizzastring quartetocean viewmain bara la carte restaurantsgreat holidaylunch buffettowel artsun loungersthomas cookopen top busper week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 7,244 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel - it had everything we needed after a week exploring Cuba: nice, spacious rooms and comfy beds, lovely long beach with plenty of loungers, nice pool area, and great food every meal with plenty of options, and the same for drinks, especially for an all-inclusive. The only issue we had was a very long wait for the lifts, they don't seem to have enough, other than that, I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CruzRguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, Director General at Blau Varadero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear CruzRguez,

Thank you for your publication on Tripadvisor and for having chosen Blau Varadero for your holidays. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team whose excellent service made your vacation enjoyable and fun. At Blau Varadero our passion is to provide the best customer experience to our valuable customers.

There can be nothing more satisfying to know that you had wonderful stay with us. Thank you for choosing our resort and for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future for another unique and memorable stay,

David Nuñez Alvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great view from our comfortable and immaculately clean room. Lovely pool and easy access to an amazing beach with plenty of sun loungers NB it can be very windy. Not an enormous choice of food in the buffet, but always enough to make a good meal. Excellent salsa classes each evening, and lots of live music. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Get a sea view if possible
Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jamesdickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, Director General at Blau Varadero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear jamesdickie,

We are very grateful for your comments on the hotel but more so for your comments on the staff and service, I’ll make sure they receive them. We want to thank you as well for recommending us with other travelers.

We also appreciate your constructive opinion about some of our services. We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

David Nuñez Alvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently returned from the Blau, unfortunately disappointed .
Check in was very efficient and we were allocated room 529, this was one of the older rooms which wasn’t a problem at all. The room was large but dirty, some previous occupant had spilled coke on the floor by the tv and 2 weeks later it was still there which means the floor had not been mopped nor swept (as we got dirty feet if not wearing footwear) the cleaners were very good at making decorations with the towels instead of doing their job., upon returning to our room one afternoon three cleaners were in the room next with the door open and they were stood there drinking beers from the mini bar!
Food was ok but only lukewarm most of the time but after filling in a feedback questionnaire it did improve but not tremendously. Outdoor bbq was good and fruit stand by the pool.
We walked down the stair well to go to dinner every evening and there were cigarette butts lying on the floor for the duration of our stay and the white marble floor was discoloured at the edges (20cms) due to lack of cleaning. Also the aluminium hand rails were not all secure and were missing all of the end caps exposing sharp edges so please be aware when using them.
We played cards in the lobby area several evenings but our hands got dirty off the wicker armchairs and I mean black. Also the waiter from the piano bar would not serve us drinks in the lobby but would come and collect our empties...why??
The grounds were kept beautifully right the way down to the beach..well done.
Waiters and waitresses were spot on and a big big thank you to Yanni, Frank, Harley and the biggest waiter there the gentle giant whose name I cannot remember so sorry.
Overall hotel layout was very good, plenty of entertainment to keep you busy... some a bit loud .lol
Varadero town is 15 cuc each way in a taxi that’s well worth the experience which could be a 1929 Ford or modern yellow cab . Tourist bus is 5 cuc and you can get on and off as many times as you want for the price.
Fantastic holiday but sorry Blau we will definitely not be returning

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms on an upper floor
Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Mr-T-staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, Director General at Blau Varadero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr-T-staffs,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you very much for your very constructive comments. We are constantly working to enhance our guests' experiences and feedbacks like yours help us to get better.

We would like to invite you to a next stay where we surely will exceed your expectations.

Best regards from Cuba,

David Nuñez Alvarez
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Two weeks at this hotel don't get me wrong we all had a great time the hotel was a 4 star and we were told it was one of the best in Cuba in the top 3 it was not a 4 star it was just a 3 star all day long the staff were great and very helpful the stairway was dirty the floors were never moped a very good choice of food but was always warm never the beach and grounds with very large swimming pools were excellent the old cars were fantastic all in all a great holiday but I had to ask myself the question? Would I go back No I would not as I have stayed in much better hotels for a lot less money

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
3  Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, Director General at Blau Varadero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear mark k,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you very much for your very constructive comments. We are constantly working to enhance our guests' experiences and feedbacks like yours help us to get better.

We would like to invite you to a next stay where we surely will exceed your expectations.

Best regards from Cuba,

David Nuñez Alvarez
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to go back to the Blau for my husband's birthday this year and stayed the last 2 weeks of March 2018.

We booked a select room, & requested via the TUI website a quiet room on a high floor with a pool view.

We were very happy with the room that we were given - on the top floor of a side wing, away from the main atrium. It had a large private balcony with a pool & sea view, and was very quiet.

The food was varied & plentiful, and the hotel facilities are still excellent, despite the devastation caused by hurricane Irma last year.

The Cubans are remarkably resilient people, and nothing was too much trouble. The staff work very hard, and some remembered us from last year, which was lovely.

The only issue we had was that on 4 separate days of our stay our room was not serviced, leaving us without any clean towels to have a shower. We had to contact reception each time, and once had to wait 90 minutes for the replacement towels.

I would have given 5/5 for our stay if this had not happened.

We booked 2 trips during our stay:-

The sugar, cigar and rum trip with our tour guide Hubert was excellent, and very interesting.

You get to see a sugar plantation, taste a raw sugar cane drink, and visit a nearby sugar processing factory that had to close in 2002 due to Cuba no longer being able to export the sugar. It had been in operation since the 1840's - so a sad reflection of the continuing difficulties facing the country.

You get to see a historical mansion in Cardenas, which is now a museum. Our guide Fidel had a very dry sense of humour, and was entertaining.

We also visited a rum house in Varadero, and saw cigars being hand rolled at a cafe by the marina in Varadero.

The second trip we took to Guama I would not recommend for the following reasons:-

It was advertised by TUI as a snorkelling adventure in the Caribbean sea.

The reality was that it was a 3 hour journey in a cramped tiny minibus.
The area where you are taken to snorkel is a rocky scrubland, and not a beach as we were led to believe. It has a tiny beach bar, a grotty place to eat and nothing else.
The rocks leading to the sea are very slippery, and there are numerous sea urchins nearby that you can easily step on.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side wings at the back of the hotel face the pool & sea and are quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LynnR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, Director General at Blau Varadero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear LynnR60,

We are very grateful for your comments on the hotel but more so for your comments on the staff and service, I’ll make sure they receive them. We want to thank you as well for recommending us with other travelers.

We also appreciate your constructive opinion about some of our services. We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

David Nuñez Alvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews