We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Solymar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Dos Mares(Varadero)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,450)
Filter reviews
7,450 results
Traveler rating
1,648
2,591
1,474
934
803
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,648
2,591
1,474
934
803
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarenas blancasseafoodlobby barbungalow suitehavana clubyounger crowda la carte restaurantschickenpublic relationsfrieshave a good timepicky eaterpizzabeatles barnight lifewhite sandother resorts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 7,450 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was my first time in Varadero and for my family in Cuba too, the hotel is nice in the lobby area and the pool, the rooms are a little more deteriorated but they are currently in the process of remodeling, in one of the 4 rooms we found with some details to fix but we called the reception and they quickly sent someone to fix it ... the buffet was not very stocked as far as variety of things as I have seen in other hotels in Cuba but it was not bad either, the staff very Attentive and pleasant ... the beach very beautiful and my suite too.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank Jesus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Hello Jesus R

I am grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and I promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel.
Nos disculpamos por los problemas técnicos que se presentaron; no hay absolutamente ninguna excusa para aquellos detalles que se pasan por alto,ya que todas las habitaciones deben ser revisadas ​​a fondo diariamente. Nos aseguraremos de que el procedimiento se está reforzando.

thanks

J. Marqués
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is very outdated and in need of much repair. We had booked a superior ocean view room but when we arrived we were put into a room where the shower door was broken, the dresser drawers did not close properly, the toilet was leaking and the door to the balcony did not close properly. We complained and got moved to another room the next morning but it was not much better. There was only 1 door on the shower and the toiled would not flush. We eventually got both those items repaired and the room was acceptable. The staff was very accommodating and could not do enough for you. The beach was beautiful. The buffet offered the same food every day. The food in the sea food restaurant was not eatable - there were 4 of us and none of us at our meal. The grounds of the hotel were very nice and clean. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Z3734AMconniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Z3734AMconniem
we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining expérience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit.

Thanks
J. Marqués
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been coming to Barcelo Solymar since 2008. This was our 6th trip I think. We came for two weeks and my sister-in-laws for one week. I think the resort has an excellent beach, wide and sandy. We spent many hours at the beach.

We come back because of the people who work here. They are really friendly and try to help when you need something. We have become friends to some. Like Jose and Liz Beth in the dining room.

The hotel is old, many things do not work that well - such as the sliding door to the balcony, reading lights in the room, water dripping from the ventilation grill in our room 1428, missing shower door panel, broken tile in the shower just below the tap for tub. The balcony door was fixed after we complained, and we got extra towels to put on the floor to catch the drip. I hope the management take a good look at the condition of the rooms and do routine maintenance. We never had any problem with the bed in the past. But this time we did. The bed in 1428 needs to be replaced. Some other people also complained.

The restaurant was definitely much improved after their recent renovation. It is bright and well organized. We have had no complaints about food here but this time the food was even better. There many choices of meats, fish and vegetables. They also had a deli section with cold cuts and meats and pickles. There is a new pasta bar. In the morning they have a special station for different types of omelettes.

We tried the Italian restaurant and the Seafood restaurant. Both are good. We did not like the Mexican restaurant. We also enjoyed the manager's dinner for the repeater guests.

The bar in the lobby makes good coffee and the drinks are good.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay inspite of the deficincies we found. We just did not let them spoil our vacation.

The resort is close to the village of Varadero. Just a few minutes of walk. We enjoy walking in the village. This a plus for Solymar.

But a good bed is a must and I will request a room with good beds if you decide to return. My special thanks to Ana at the guest services.

Most of all I hope that the management fixes the problems in the rooms so that people can have an enjoyable stay at this very beautiful resort.

Room Tip: Write/call hotel to request a good room
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SUBRATA_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello SUBRATA_CA
we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.
It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours.
We do apologize for the technical problems you encountered; there are absolutely no excuses for details to be overlooked as all rooms should be thoroughly checked on a daily basis. We will make sure that the procedure is being reinforced.


Thanks
J Marqués
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love the staff ,,been to this resort seven times now ,,,very clean ,,food is pretty good ,,,beach is absolutely beautiful ,,,and the Cuban people are amazing ,,very safe ,,layed back ,,nice place to fall in love all over again ,♥️

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carriann1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello carriann1969
We appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them.

J. Marqués
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are outdated and the price is very high.
The food is uneatable, seriously!
We had a religous friend with us, who for religous reasons does not eat shrimps (she eats only kosher food). She just wanted to eat plain white rice in the asian restaurant, so she asked the waiter (who didn't know) and then the cook himself several times, whether there are any shrimps in the rice.. the cook assured her there's none.
Well suprise suprise, while eating the rice she saw shrimps in it.
You can imagine she was very upset and upon confronting the waiter he shrugged it off and said "ah yes, those are shrimps". No apology.

What if someone has allergies?
This is very dangerous and inexcuseable.

Though our experience at the mexican restaurant was better, our overall experience with the food was horrid.

ישראלים, אל תתקרבו למלון!!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guy R
Thank you so much for your recent review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I understand from your review that you were disappointed with some issues at our hotel.

Again, please accept my most sincere apologies, and I wish to have the chance to welcome you back in order to give you the outstanding and memorable treat you deserve.

J. Marqués.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews