We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
78
11
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
78
11
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews made us feel great food the north yorkshire moors chips chef
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Claire, her team and the locals really helped us out, going above and beyond to help us find accommodation at very short notice when all around was fully booked. Our solution included breakfast and evening meals at the Inn which meant we enjoyed right tasty food with very generous portions. Can highly recommend the steak and ale pie (delicious) and the black sheep beer! A real gem of true Yorkshire spirit; good humour and a willingness to help. Thank you for making our stay in Castleton such a good one.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank RachaelNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Booked in last minute for two nights in the North Yorks Moors.
Lovely clean room and made to feel very welcome.
Fabulous home cooked breakfast sets you up for the day.
This is a thriving village pub at the weekends, well supported by locals which is always a good sign.
Definitely recommend and plan to return.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ingham977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2017

this pub is a very well run pub owned by my'sister' and 'brother-in-law' Claire and Dave'Digger' Johnson and i have been to that family friendly/dog friendly pub on numerous occasions and the last time was last saturday with my lovely lady Denise and they made her very welcome keep up the sterling work guys

Room tip: good views over Castleton and the moors
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2017

my wife and I stayed for one night while attending a wedding, had a great stay
room very clean good shower bed very comfortable. Breakfast superb you need to be hungry to eat it all. A cracking pint of Black Sheep. overall an excellent stay

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRENDAN Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

What a fab, friendly pub. Delicious Sunday lunch (great selection of meats, freshly cooked veg and vegetarian options) and an excellent range of beer and gin. Lovely way to spend a rainy afternoon after a day cycling over the moors.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JensteelS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews