We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,316)
Filter reviews
1,317 results
Traveler rating
999
219
60
22
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
999
219
60
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews working farm fire pit on site paddle boards onsite cafe family field short walk gathering cafe waters edge clean facilities lakeside pitch great facilities cleaned regularly great site stunning views well stocked shop fantastic location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 1,317 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first camping experiences, went with friends and kids and all had a great time. An amazing location, right on the lake, there’s a small play park too which the kids loved.
On site cafe area with coffee and food - we had pizza on the Saturday night, was great to sit around the fire eating pizza with friends and not having to worry about cleaning up after!
Pooley bridge walking distance away with a few nice pubs including Sun Inn which has a kids play area too.

We are already planning a return trip next summer and possible before they close for the winter too!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank raj85uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first trip to the Lakes, as a family with 2 young children and a dog, and what in introduction!

We all fell in love with Waterside immediately - the views over Ullswater were incredible in any weather (and we had lots of different weather)! There is easy access to the water at several points along the site, making it really easy to get out into or onto the water. We canoed, swam, walked the shoreline and skimmed stones. We contemplated hiring a paddleboard from the onsite hire store, which does anything from 1 hour to all day hire, but the weather wasn’t the best it could have been, so decided against it. Our children loved the play area, where they made lots of holiday friends and kept begging to go back for a play! The onsite café – The Gathering – was great, with pizza nights, burgers, breakfasts, decent coffee – the food was really good and was reasonably priced, and it really helped to lighten the load for us and make our trip more relaxing (can be hard on a camping trip with kids in tow)! The laundrette was really useful, although, if I was being tough I’d say that it could benefit from an extra machine as we had to return a couple of times to get our wash-load of (mainly) kids socks done! The onsite shop was well stocked, and wasn’t extortionate like some campsite shops can be. I had hot showers, but it was a bit hit and miss in the male showers. But there were plenty of them, and nice and clean and lots of space.

There were a couple of nights where we could hear noisy camps as it got dark, but all was quiet by 10.30pm except for the sheep chattering amongst themselves, the gentle waves of the lake lapping on the shore, and sometimes the rain beating down on our roof !

We could have easily stayed at the campsite for the 10 days of our stay, but as we’d travelled quite a distance we tried to get out and about a bit. The campsite is really well situated for many day trips – we visited Aira Force waterfalls, Hallin Fell, Keswick for the Kong climbing centre and bouldering, and Consiton Lake for a boat ride. And there was so much more that we could have seen and done.

For lazier days, it is only a short, and interesting, walk to nearby Pooley Bridge which has 3 pubs which offer food, a great ice-cream shack – complete with doggy ice cream which was a hit with our pup, a gin shop, a mini-market store, and a gift shop with the best fudge known to man!

We’d all give Waterside 10/10, and hope to get back there next year for more adventures!

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank RiannanM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An ideal location for direct access to the lake for our paddle boards and inflatable kayak. The pitches were great (you do need some heavy duty pegs for the extremities of the pea gravel electric hook up pitches - the shop sold us some!) with easy access to the water. The facilities were cleaned regularly and the washing machine was very useful and reasonably priced. The staff were very helpful and the on-site cafe was a real bonus for a treat and break from camp cooking! The campsite is within easy walking distance from the Ullswater Way and the Ullswater Steamer in Pooley Bridge. Pooley Bridge offers lots of choice for eating out and is about a 15 minute stroll from the campsite. All in all, a fantastic campsite and location!

Room tip: Some pitches can be booked, the field was free-choice of pitching location.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank U319UNjoannaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We have just got back from 5 nights at the Waterside House Campsite. This is our second visit this year and hopefully not our last. The site is clean with great facilities and has the most beautiful views across the lake. We had new paddle board with us this time and it’s the perfect place to launch from for a chilled paddle around the lake. The campsite is a short walk from Pooley Bridge along the Lakeside path which we enjoyed many times each day. The staff are lovely, very helpful and even managed to book us an extra night. We love everything about this site and we WILL be back. We would highly recommend this site to anyone. Please remember though that this is beside the Lake so the weather can change quickly and 2 days were pretty windy. We were glad we chose to take our bigger tent so we could sit inside but still enjoy the stunning views. If you are ever in the same dilemma take the BIGGER tent Thank you to the amazing staff. You are doing and awesome job and we will recommend.

Room tip: If you have a choice of tents got for the bigger one so you have inside space to sit. It can be windy but still stunning.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Corey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Has to be the busiest campsite we have ever been to and was not enjoyable due to the crowds! My husband described it as the Benidorm of campsites!! When we checked in we were asked to stay 6 metres away but this was impossible! The facilities were great & always clean but unfortunately will not be returning or recommending due to the amount of people they cram in

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank zanzibarrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews