We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, very friendly owner”

Kikau Hut Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$60
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small intimate restaurant. The relaxed atmosphere, local art, beautiful gardens combined with excellent service give it a special ambiance for all diners. European food with island flair, coeliac friendly, gluten free and vegetarian options along with a children's menu and free transfers by arrangement make Kikau Hut special. We are wheelchair accessible also.
Reviewed 6 February 2019

We had dinner once at Kikau Hut. Very good food, had a lot of tips from the owner, who had a chat with us at our table.
Walked there from the Edgewater torch in hand.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Patricia_viajera2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2019

Had a wonderful evening . Gordon the owner was passionate about his restaurant and the food and was at pains to describe the potato special and generally was interested in his dinner guests.We were picked up for free from our nearby accommodation which was a bonus; this has to be pre arranged. The ambiance was relaxed and accentuated by the wonderful live music and singing.The seafood platter was extraordinary and beautifully presented; every bite was an absolute delight and the dessert platter was an indulgence.The banana wontons melt in your mouth.My husband's catch of the day was equally excellent.A very special evening .

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traveldoc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2019


Friendly atmosphere great entertainment chef catered for our dietary requirements which was much appreciated.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon B, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Hello,
Glad to hear you enjoyed your evening and we were able to cater to your dietary requirements. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2019 via mobile

kikau Hut has to have some of the beat quality of food on Rarotonga! The surroundings and staff were pleasant.
You won’t be disappointed with the food here.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Colin_Chequers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon B, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Hello,
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us, thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2019

We booked in for New Years eve dinner. Set menu.
Cost per person was $64-00. The service was great and we were well looked after by Lena.
Live entertainment for the evening was provided by Tani & Rose. Great to hear them singing again.

A personal touch was getting picked up and dropped off at the end of the evening. Very much appreciated Gorden.
We will return on our next visit.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Bugsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon B, Manager at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Thank you for your feedback!
We look forward to seeing you again on your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kikau Hut Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kikau Hut Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing