We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
52
66
21
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
66
21
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busshared roomkiyomizudera templeshower roomsubway stationcurtainsprivacyhostelbedswififloortoiletsgionlocationfridgebackpackerslockers
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff, lovely dorms, very clean and it's in a great location. Lovely ramen noodle restaurant down the road with very good prices also really nice udon noodle restaurants very near by. I would recommend to anyone. My girlfriend and I walked to the train station most days as it only takes about 20 minutes.

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank thenomadlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Good hostel with friendly staff. We had some problems and they tried to help. Some of the most touristic places are nearby and a the touristic bus lines stop at 3 minutes from the hostel. I would totally repeat

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Jaume G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

My first time staying in a shared dorm room and I was pleasantly surprised. Bed was comfortable and the curtains allowed privacy. Everything was clean enough and comfortable enough and the staff were friendly and helpful. Location was great, only a ten minute walk away from Kyoto attractions and Gion district as well as being close to loads of little restaurants. Overall great stay and experience!

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Pros: The curtains on the beds are great, gives you privacy and absorbs some sound. Good location. Good comforters and A/C. Free shampoo and conditioner. Wifi is good. Sheets are clean.

Cons: The beds are foam with a wooden board underneath. I don't think they replace the foam all that much. It starts on the 2nd floor, so even if your room is only two floors up from reception, it is really three. The bathrooms close to your room don't have real sinks, no soap and smell really bad. I mean, I went to India after this and the hostel bathrooms there smelled better. The real bathrooms are on the reception floor. There is no real common area, just a small area with a table and one chair. It also smells like a strange mix of mildew, body odor and heated up soup.

Conclusion: Try to find something else. If you can't, this will do for a few nights. Kyoto itself is great!

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Maybe it's just our luck (or unlucky) because our stay just full of upsetting experience.

Due to the change of our arriving date because our airline decided to do so, we had to make additional one day earlier booking in addition of the initial 4-day booking. So two bookings: (1) first day, (2) the next four days. When we arrived, we mentioned this situation to the receptionist, and asked whether we could stay without moving on the second day, and we were told we could stay without the need of moving beds (dorm style).

However, while we were out on the second day, we found out at the afternoon, to our surprise, that some of our beds (6 beds out of 11 that we booked) have been cleaned up and our stuff have been moved away. The only reason given is we have two different bookings, which we had warned initially, and because another customers had make booking as well so we had to move, which we also had asked about when we arrived.

To make matter worse, the staff spoke broken English, which made communication quite hard, especially, in explaining the situation from their side to us. This caused some of us quite upset and edgy. When we requested to speak to manager or owner of the place, apparently none to speak to. The only answer we received was the same repeated answer, that is, we had to move because the beds have been reserved. Had that information given to us in our first day, we would have comply, though grudgingly, and cleaned our stuff ourselves.

In the end, there was nothing else we could do, but forced to accept what they had done to us.

If you need guesthouse with better service and staff that speak English well, don't bother with this one. There are plenty of other great places in Kyoto.

The only good thing about this place is the location right next to the street that leads to Kiyomizudera, one of the famous temple in Kyoto, and also few bus stops away from Gion.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews