We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,436)
Filter reviews
1,436 results
Traveler rating
747
529
113
31
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
529
113
31
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle executive floor the river city hall subway station tour group top floor direct access large hotel within walking distance bell staff breakfast buffet bit dated comfortable rooms non smoking concierge desk corner room
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,436 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

First impression of large luxurious lobby with excellent service from front reception despite check-in quite late at night. Rooms did not disappoint, comfortable and modern. Wide choice of breakfast buffet, western and Japanese style Stayed as part of pre-cruise tour so all transport provided and no time to explore the surrounding area. English speaking staff and signage so language no problem

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gilliano9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2018

This large hotel is situated just steps away from the Nishiki market and the main shopping street. Access to the underground shopping plaza is via elevators from the hotel, so this also is very convenient. Staff was very courteous (par for the course in Japan), rooms clean and spacious. There are taxis on site if needed.
The Geon district with its restaurants and nightlife is a 15minute walk away.
Two bottles of complimentary water was available each day and wifi is free.
Elevators can be a bit slow at times but there are multiple elevator banks available.
Would defiinitely return if in Kyoto

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PPM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We chose this hotel because we’re traveling with our two children and it’s very hot right now in Kyoto. The fact that this hotel had a swimming pool was a plus for us. Until we wanted to use it. They charge you for it! 32 bucks a person. Ridiculous.
The hotel smells old, rooms are not very pretty. Location is good tough.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank 2maruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed three night stay here as part of a pre-cruise land tour. We enjoyed our stay very much - it is convenient to many popular areas like Gino district and Nino castle, there many restaurants at the hotel as well as in the basement and within walking distance, same for high end and convenient store shopping and scenic river walks. After traveling for 24 hours to get to Kyoto, we found the hot shower with great water pressure, the many bathroom amenities (like combs, brushes and bath salts) to be relaxing and a nice surprise was that we could plug our cell phones and camera batteries into the outlets without digging through our luggage to find our converters! Another nice touch was the two free bottles of mineral water we had in the room each day, especially after a long flight. There was both a bathtub and a shower. We had a room on the tenth floor and it was quiet with a beautiful view of the three mountains surrounding the city. The breakfast buffet is one of the best we have experienced with many Japanese and Western and continental items to choose - something for all tastes and a great way to sample Japanese food. We didn't care for the dinner buffet, not as much selection and very costly (about $45 US per person), but it was convenient after a long day of sightseeing...we should have tried one of the restaurants in the basement that looked good. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Cathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 June 2018

This hotel is an old-school hotel, since 1888 in the old city of Kyoto. So, even though you can generally expect good experience, there are some inconvenience for modern travelers. Here are some pros and cons in my opinions

Pros:
1) Great location. Close to a beautiful river (great for jogging ) and entertainment area (shopping and dining)
2) Spacious room (compared with Japanese standard)
3) Politeness of staff

Cons:
1) Unheard rules to use the fitness gym.

In the morning:
You have to pay approx. $20 (even as a hotel guest)
Opening hours is 7.00-10.00am
Final check in time is 9.00am ( I was refused to enter at 9.30am !)

In the afternoon:
You have to pay approx. $30 (even as a hotel guest)
Opening hours is 1.00-10.00pm
Final check in time is 9.00pm

Monday is closed
Weekend is 11.00am-9.00pm

2) Old building and room. Though it is good enough, everything is old compared with modern hotels

If you are a fitness person like me, stupid rules of fitness gym might annoy you.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank HiroH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews