We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
138
10
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
10
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burrito place to stay explore kyoto private bathroom air conditioning continental style breakfast relaxing lounge helpful with suggestions stayed for nights ham tourist information fantastic stay every morning around the corner host futon cereal
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

We wanted to have an unique accommodation in Kyoto and our two nights stay in Oil Street Guest House and Space fits the bill, excellently.

Yasu is an excellent host. He answered all my queries before our stay. He made suggestion and even made reservation for our best cuisine in Kyoto and at the memorable tea ceremony at Camellia.

When we were there, he helped us planned our schedule of places to visit within our limited time in Kyoto - he checked the local train schedule and reserved a taxi to make sure we did not miss our Sagano Romantic Train and its connection. He explained our other destinations to the taxi drivers and made it very convenient for us. He even gave us the weather forecast - told us when we needed our umbrella or otherwise.

We stayed in a lovely room. Sleeping on a futon on a tatami mat was one of the highlight of the trip. On one of the mornings, we got to witness a few monks doing their morning procession. At night, it was very quiet that you may forget that you are in a modern Kyoto town.

We enjoyed Kyoto and our stay at Oil Street Guest House, tremendously. Wonderful hospitality from Yasu and Burrito.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Mawarjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2017

The house is a traditional wooden building with screens dividing the various rooms. It is in a quiet back street, but 10 mins from the metro and the Imperial Palace Garden. Four of us stayed for four nights. Yasu lives on site and is an excellent host, the futons are very comfortable, the breakfasts set us up for the day, and we were able to self cater easily (and that was critical as one of us has to be gluten-free and Japan is a tricky place for that). All in all, excellent!

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank sdfghjk567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed here on our visit to Kyoto. Wonderful place in a great location with a very kind and attentive host. Terrific place to base yourself if your staying in town and 5-10 mins walking to the nearest underground.

The house itself is entirely wooden and about 90 years old. The rooms are spacious but very cosy with comfortable bedding on the tatami mats, lots of blankets and an electric fires/air conditioning as needed. En suite bathroom was terrific with a good shower.

Yasu did a great breakfast every morning and there was always plenty - very generous compared to some of the places we subsequently visited. Terrific little touches everywhere made it feel very homely and comfortable and there are bikes to use if you want. Yasu himself is very keen to make sure you enjoy your stay both in the house and the city and is a good source of advice. His dog is adorable!

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

stayed at four people with a friend the other day. It was very comfortable and wanted to stay consecutively more. It was very happy to be able to spend it being relaxed so much in a traditional building of Japan.

古民家リノベーションの魅力たっぷりなゲストハウス。素敵なオーナーと愛犬のお家に遊びに行くような感覚。とても居心地が良くて連泊したくなりました。是非また行きたいです☺︎

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank YurieN20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Our family of four stayed in Yasu's beautiful traditional house during the new year's 2016-2017. The bedroom was spacious and the bathroom was also spacious. The breakfast was tasty with pastries and cheese, juice and milk. Yasu was kind and made restaurant reservations for us. The location was perfect since it is close to a subway station, buses in Kyoto are often crowded. It was in a quiet residential area but still central, not far from the presidential palace and the Nijo castle. We had access to his well equipped kitchen which was handy since several restaurants were closed on new year's eve and new year's day. We would definitively stay at Oil Street Guest House again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews