We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Taipei Sunday Morning ”

Din Tai Fung (Shinkong Mitsukoshi)
Ranked #18 of 2,330 Restaurants in Zhongshan District
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

Staying down the road at the Okura Prestige who recommended we try this Taipei icon.

Opens at 11am on a Sunday - just look out for a crowd. Two of us were welcomed into this downstairs restaurant and given an English menu ( see photo) which you note down what you want.

Everything we had was good - we ordered large from mainly starred items. Potstickers fried, pork and prawn spicy wontons and greens with mushrooms were my favs. Taiwanese draft beer hit the spot too.

Staff were really fantastic and watching the action in the kitchen through the window makes for a great food memory.

Great supermarket literally out the door is worth a look too.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Shaunie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We had the chance to visit a restaurant of this fabulous chain in another city already, luckily. It was one of the best eating experiences in Taiwan and we wanted to have this marvelous food again. We were there on a Saturday and had to wait for 85 minutes for a table. As we knew about the quality of the food, we decided to wait (you can spend the waiting time in the shopping mall). And once again it was simply fantastic. Whatever you eat, all of it is best of its class and offers you a unique journey on all what makes Chinese food so special and delicious. The service is fantastic as well and overall it is joust one thing - perfect. A must visit if you have the chance. The view into the factory on how they prepare the dumplings alone is worth a visit, don't miss it.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Our favourite restaurant .xiaolongbao is so yummy . The service are very friendly .we enjoyed very much . We 'll be back soon.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We had to wait approximately 30 minutes, but it was worth it. The service was expeditious and food quality is same as the one in Shanghai, but half the price. Our late lunch included regulars soup dumplings, crab meat/dumpling, two appetizers, hot and sour soup, fried rice, sauté vegetable and two desserts, soft drinks, which the bill included 10% service fee/tips came to approximate $1441 TWD=$48 USD. Last year, we had the same amount of food, except we had two beers at Shanghai (Xingtiandi), which the bill was approximately $80 USD.We have no complaint of the premises and would still recommend anyone who craves the soup dumpling; the premises also validate your vehicle as well. Further, it is located on the newer side of the Japanese department store.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank retiredhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

I am a big fan of din tai fung.
What I love most is the wonton Shrimp soup, the xiao long bai with truffle.
Both this two items were not as good as in other restaurant from Taipei and hong kong.
I suggest to go in an other restaurant!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank fitamanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Din Tai Fung (Shinkong Mitsukoshi) also viewed

Zhongshan District, Taipei
 
Zhongshan District, Taipei
 

Been to Din Tai Fung (Shinkong Mitsukoshi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing