We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 07/27
US$57
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambience Hotel(Zhongshan District)
US$90
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
THE Tango Taipei NanShi(Zhongshan District)
US$117
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
YoMi Hotel(Zhongshan District)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shin Shih Hotel(Zhongshan District)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$46
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$46/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$41
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Via Hotel Loft(Zhongshan District)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/22
Book now, pay at stay
US$42
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Okura Prestige Taipei(Zhongshan District)
US$220
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Taipei(Zhongshan District)
US$224
US$202
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,130)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveler rating
616
436
64
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
616
436
64
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsming courtjapanese hotel chainred brickle cafequality beddingzhongshan stationnice parksroom was nicely furnishedjapanese touchrooftop pooljapanese businesshigh tech japanese toilethotel classthe hotel was fully bookedbakery shopspoke japanesemitsukoshi department store
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Centrally located with 10 minutes walk to Zhongshan MRT .
Easy to get to and from airport by Daiyou bus . The stop is 20 metres on its right . Alternatively taxi to Main Railway station is only NT$80.
Front desk staffs are friendly and efficient .
House keeping is clean and efficient
Concierge gave wrong direction to the restaurant we wanted to go.
Room we had was about 24 m2 .
Dated and need refurbishing urgently though there are new refurbished room
Free Wifi and only 2 bottles of water per day .
Not worth for price paid .

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Happy258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2015

My husband and I are currently staying here for a 3-night vacation. The hotel is conveniently located to a tea house that still uses the old method of brewing coffee, grocery store with local fruits/traditional snacks, and reasonably-priced restaurants. The area is great for walking and exploring. We appreciate the excellent staff who graciously allowed us to move to another room (first one was a little tight for two people with lots of luggage), told us about an out-of-the-tourist-radar jade wholesale place, and other places of interest. Request politely is my mantra when traveling. Royal-Nikko has contributed to an unforgettable vacation in Taiwan!

Room Tip: Ask for newly-renovated rooms
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ri920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Very clean hotel in a good location. Service is of a very high standard, staff could not have done more to help us. Breakfast was very Japanese and could have done with a few more options to suit western tastes.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Dean_0989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

Pros
Excellent location, 5 mins walk to Zhongshan station.
Non-smoking hotel
Walking distance to many eateries
5 mins to Mitsukoshi Department store
Basic amenities of a Business hotel


I'm comparing Hotel Nikko to similar international hotels and not to Taiwanese hotels since I'm paying an international hotel rate.

Cons
Furniture is dated with scratches. When you open the cupboards, they look like they're made of cheap plywood.
Gym and swimming pool are tiny. Not for swimming, possibly for sunbathing with no attempts to beautify the surrounding. Maybe it's just to be able to list that it has a swimming pool.
Room is small and poorly designed. There's a Japanese style ironing press. But since there's no space, it's in the corridor and on my first night I kicked my foot against it. In Tokyo, such press boards are usually built into the cupboard not plonked in the hall way.

Besides the basic room, I didn't request for nor received any service so I can't comment if service is good.

Can only say that I've experienced better facilities and services in business hotels in Taiwan and internationally for the price range.

Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank line l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
老爺大酒店, 總經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Taipei and taking the time to share your comments about our hotel. We hereby express our gratitude for your comments as well as apologies for the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay.

First of all, we are pleased to know that you find our location excellent and easily accessible. However, we understand that there were some issues of concern which have comprised your stay.

Regarding the guest rooms, our latest remodeling was completed by Kume Sekkei, a leading Japanese design company, featuring the use of pastel color scheme designed to engender a homely ambience. We have reflected your comments on room size and furnishings to the housekeeping staff for improvement in the future. For your next visit, we invite you to stay at our Premier Room; it is a spacious 38 m2 room with separate toilet and bathroom design, fully-furnished with shower toilet, shoe-dryer, stationery kit, L‘Occitane amenity, and much more. A renovation has been planned in the foreseeable future, and we will duly take your kind words into consideration.

Moreover, thank you for your comments on our outdoor pool (open May through September) and gym on the rooftop, which have been notified to concerned departments. The rooftop facilities are favored by our guests since the high altitude offers a panoramic view of Taipei city.

Finally, we have always endeavored to offer best available rates to our guests, with possible adjustment during trade show periods and holiday seasons. Various discounts, such as early bird package and long stay package are available on the hotel website to meet our guests’ travel needs. Please refer to our website for discount packages when you plan your next visit to Taiwan.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies. Having celebrated our 30th anniversary last year, we remain committed to the service of “Safety, Security, and Comfort” to our invaluable guests. Should you have any further advice, we most welcome your additional comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Located just 5 mins walk away from Zhongshan station, this hotel packs value in both price and convenience.

As a Japanese brand, you can expect the best of service that only the Japanese knows.

Rooms are big with ample space, and they even provide L'occitane toiletries!

Breakfast is good, with a wide variety of local, international and Japanese cuisine.

Definitely will appeal to a wide variety of travellers, whether you're in Taipei for work or holiday, with friends, family, or alone.

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wilson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews