We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
33
70
26
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
70
26
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstour groupoutdoor poolnice hotelground levelone nightnight marketlove rivergymbathroomlobbyamenitiesconciergethemelaundrypillows
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This hotel looks modern and bright but it is in fact 60 years old. It was the first international hotel in the city but it has now been completely refurbished.

I and my wife stayed in this hotel for two days. The room we had was bright and clean, with trendy décor and a theme of cute aliens on the wall. The size of the room is less than one would expect from a 4 star hotel but there is a full range of amenities.
Inside the spacious hotel lobby, there is a quiet reading area with a good selection of magazines and newspaper, as well as a self -service business centre available for free. There are two restaurants on the lobby level. The buffet breakfast is served in one of them. The quality and variety of the breakfast were average but international guests might be somewhat disappointed.

Although the location of the hotel is good as it is close to the subway station, there are very few shops in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. In fact, the hotel is located in a relatively quiet neighbourhood. The “Love River” is about 10 minutes walking distance away, and the other tourist spots on the other side of the river are not too far. However, in the summer heat, walking is not really an option and taking a cab is the only way to get around, so the location of the hotel is really of minor importance.

The hotel has a gym, a coined operated laundry, and a 25m outdoor pool. The outdoor pool on the ground level is clean, well maintained and hardly used by guests. There were very few children in the pool when I dipped in the pool one afternoon. I swam for about half an hour and it was very enjoyable. This has to be one of the best features of the hotel.

The staffs at the front desk were helpful and friendly, always ready to offer their advice. We did not have a single problem with the housekeeping or any other issue during our stay. Even though this is not a five star hotel, we did enjoy our brief stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ptseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Very helpful staff, excelent location, very good breakfast, comfortable beds.
It is hard to find fluent english speaking people in Kaohsiung but luckily the receptionists in this hotel were able to guide and help us very much!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Fredo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
華園飯店, 客戶關係經理 at Holiday Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Hello Fredo,

Thank you for your wonderful comment! We are thrilled that you enjoy your stay at Holiday Garden Hotel. We have staffs who speak Mandarin, English, Japanese and Korean, we glad that you found our staff helpful. We hope we will have the opportunity to host you again in the near future, see you soon!

Holiday Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Followed tour group to Kaohsiung and staying in this hotel for a night. Hotel is very near the night market which starts at 5pm. The roads are blocked for vendors to set up stores selling food, tea, desserts and many more. There are many shops around the corner too. Lots of stuff for ladies!! Especially skincare, makeup items, health supplements from Japan. Can even hav tax return at airport with certain amount spent.
The bathroom in hotel room is very nice with granite top.
Will recommend this hotel if I'm visiting Kaohsiung next time!

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank helloamytoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
華園飯店, 公關經理 at Holiday Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Hello dear helloamytoh,

Thank you for your comment, we will keep providing excellent service and hope we would have the chance to host you again in the near future. Thank you! And see you soon!

Holiday Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2016

This hotel was pretty nice for a business trip. The lobby was lovely; the staff was kind, helpful, and spoke English well; the breakfast was delicious. There was some wear and tear visible in my room, but it was very clean, spacious, quiet, and well maintained, with a very comfy bed. I slept great despite the jet lag. The cleaning crew did a great job cleaning the room but not rearranging my stuff (which always irritates me). The temperature control in the room worked well, and the internet was reliable. My room view was disappointing -- a brick wall -- but the hotel has too towers that look like most of the rooms would have much better views. The gym was clean and the equipment was decent. Overall, a good value and great experience. Also, the Lihue Night Market was an easy walk for good, cheep dinner and something to do.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NCDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
華園飯店, 公關經理 at Holiday Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

DEAR SIR

Thank you for the comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

I had actually stayed at this hotel many years ago after a ferry trip from Yokohama. Was surprised to see a refurbished hotel. It was nostalgic for me to walk around the vicinity. Room is spacious. But the bright sunlight shone in when curtain is drawn. Would have like a sort of sunshade on the exterior. I was happy to be back even for a night after a long while.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
Thank Edmund K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
華園飯店, 公關經理 at Holiday Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Dear

Thank you for the compliment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews