We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Shifen Old Street
from US$52.00
More Info
from US$35.90
More Info
from US$85.00
More Info
from US$100.00
More Info
Reviews (1,510)
Filter reviews
1,510 results
Traveler rating
573
686
231
16
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
573
686
231
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky lantern railway track take pictures suspension bridge rice every hour the main attraction pingxi line both sides souvenir shops unique experience paper lanterns day trip ruifang station good luck food stalls peanut ice cream
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 1,510 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2019

This area is very famous for 2 things: the train that passes in the middle of the town, and lanters. there is a big business around it. to enjoy it at its best, I suggest to go there close to the sunset, during the day it is not much of an experience.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank throughmybackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2019 via mobile

We went to Shifen via the TRA at Taipei Main Station and we reached there around 4pm. The staff operating at the train station were very friendly and helpful. Lots of beautiful and obedient little cats! We didn't make it on time to see the Shifen waterfalls so we decided to take a stroll down Shifen and see the bridge. Shifen waterfall closes at 430pm and it takes about 30-45 minutes on foot to get there, so go earlier if you want to catch it.

We did the sky lantern, of course. Prices are all the same throughout the track, even for different vendors, so don't bother trying to find cheaper options. NT$150 for 1 colour, and NT$200 for 4 different colours.

We also tried the chicken wing that was stuffed with rice just a few steps away from the station. Tasted really good and the chicken was tender and nicely marinated. Has a peppery taste. Should try!

We also tried the peanut ice cream burrito. Should try too, but by the time we ordered, there was no more coriander (not that i wanted it, i hate coriander) so that's for you to decide!

The bridge we went on is the Jingan Suspension Bridge and it is a beautiful bridge, good for instagram photos!

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank rustically
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 October 2019

Really enjoyed this stop. This was one of the stops that I had researched and put in our itinerary. Cool to see the layout of the town with the railroad tracks right in the middle. Probably would be a good idea if traveling with kids to keep a close eye on them since the tracks are active and there are trains going through. When I did the research did not really know exactly what this stop entailed. I read about the lantern but guess I thought you just go buy them and let them go. Was very cool to find out that there is a bit more to it then that.
First our tour guide Stephen said that you do not want to buy your own. Buy for someone else to make their wish. Then you get to pick the colors that you want and what they stand for. Then you personalize your lantern with your thoughts, wishes, etc..
We enjoyed a couple local beers while painting our lantern . It was a lot of fun, really enjoyed this stop. Then you get to release your lantern and watch as it ascends.

Date of experience: September 2019
3  Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2019

There was a heavy downpour in the morning but it was not enough to dampen our enthusiasm for the place. We went there primarily for the sky lantern but we managed to shop for souvenirs as well. Our Taipei experience would not have been complete without a visit to this place and I am sure a lot of tourists feel the same way. The place is charming because of the old railroad station that is used as platform for releasing the sky lanterns and equally fascinating because of the row of souvenir shops with interesting finds.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank sonjie923
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 September 2019

We did this as a day trip with Jingtong and Pingxi. We took an early train before 8 am from Ruifang Station to Shifen Station. We put up 2 nights in Ruifang for this purpose although this is also doable from Taipei.

Upon reaching Shifen Station, we walked to Jing An Suspension Bridge. It was a refreshing walk across the bridge under the morning drizzle. From here, we walked further to Shifen Waterfall. Do check out Yen Jing Dong Waterfall (literally Eyeglasses Waterfall due to its shape) on your way to Shifen Waterfall.

Shifen Old Street is a place for releasing sky lanterns. The lanterns are released along the railway track which is lined with shops selling sky lanterns and souvenirs. However, most of the retailers sell the same thing. When the train approaches, people have to clear the track. There’re also some eateries, cafes and street food. We did not release the sky lantern as it was drizzling but we observed others releasing them. Releasing the lanterns on a rainy day is not advisable since the rain extinguishes the lanterns prematurely and the lanterns end up landing on unreachable spots such as roof and utility pole. The residents are having hard time picking them up.

After our lunch and tea break, we took a train to Jingtong, an old coal mine town.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank AllegraLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews