We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
11
23
17
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
23
17
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinese style door step tainan railway station minute walk toast convenient location congee apartment interior note stops receptionist budget bus
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Takatama hotel easy to locate, just opposite Tainan railway station just across a street,
The Hotel is at 3 floors, room big Public transport just at the door step. Breakfast good chinese style, the tourism information counter just outside railway station. There is a coach bus station nearby that can bring you any part of Taiwan.

Room Tip: Request for non smoking room and high floor
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David0545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Stayed in Standard Double room, with window but no view.
The room is pretty small. You have a rather small space (about 2ft x4ft) from the main door to the bed, with the bathroom on the right of the door.
There is no space to put your luggage what more to lay them open.
There is definitely not enough electrical outlet to cater for modern day use. The TV and Cable modem have already occupied 2 outlets. Thus only 2 free outlets for use.
The bathroom is compact but clean and the space is bearable.
Comes with free breakfast. The selection is surprisingly good and taste nice.
Location: The hotel is opposite Tainan Railway station but the roads are pretty busy.
Price: For the size of the room, the price is on the high side. We only choose this hotel because of its location and short stay (1 night).

Tip to get to the hotel from Tainan railway station:
Short route: There's a staircase underground to the right of the railway station (if your back is facing the station)
Long route: You can cross the road using the pedestrian crossing on the left of the railway station (if your back is facing the station).

Tip on finding the hotel:
The hotel is located inside a complex building. The main entrance is behind the bus stops. Take the lift on the left (when facing the building) to 3rd floor.

Tip on luggage:
The room is pretty small to accommodate luggages, thus you may want to consider keeping your luggages at the storage room near the Tainan Railway station (TWD50/luggage/day - 28" size). The storage room is to the right of the railway station (if you your back is facing the station), follow the sign and its all the way to the end.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikikamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Despite being a budget hotel at 50+ bucks, we really loved that it had:

1. Great location - right opposite the train station, just a 3-minute walk away. Perfect for us since we're catching an early morning ride to Fenchihu, towards Alishan. It's at a prominent location so it's easy to tell the cab drivers our location. Great to have a 7-11 convenient mart downstairs too.

2. Great staff - the receptionist, Sammy, was kind and knowledgeable. She kindly let us view two rooms and letting us choose which room we liked better. After the swift check-in, she was able to tell us background of the hotel building (like how it was an apartment in the past for many workers for the train station/related), information about the night market, etc.

3. Great room - the room was relatively spacious and comfortable. We liked the overall cleanliness, the wooden flooring that's safer for our toddler, and the nice big windows overlooking the small garden roundabout and facing the train station. The bathroom was visibly a little worn but still clean and well-maintained.

4. Great breakfast - the breakfast buffet exceeded our expectations of a budget hotel. They had the full range of Taiwanese congee-with-traditional-ingredients breakfast, Chinese buns, and some Western additions including toast and egg. It runs like a quaint cafe room - small, clean and adequate.

Tip:
This hotel is just occupying one or two floors of this apartment building. Take note that you should use the lifts on the Left wing (away from the convenient mart on the right wing). You'll only see the hotel lobby once you arrive on the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the roundabout and train station
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

When it comes to hotels, Tainan is not a cheap city to visit. I chose Takatama based mostly on its price (midrange) and its proximity to the train station (adjacent) The hotel is situated on the third floor of an unattractive building and so I had to ask for directions before I figured out where it was. My room was showing much wear and tear but was reasonably clean. Breakfast which was included was surprisingly good --Chinese style, but with fried eggs and toast as well. If I visit Tainan again I would probably spend the extra money for a nicer hotel.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
3  Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 December 2016

About a 2-minute walk from Tainan Train Station (not HSR station), you can see the hotel name from the front of the station. Enter the building to the left of the 7-11, go to the left bank of elevators, the hotel is on the 3rd floor (3F). Friendly staff, with enough English to get critical information across. Check in is at 3, we arrived at 2 and was shown to our room.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, 330 with a view of the building next door and Post building. Older clean room, TV with some English channels, free fast wi-fi, AC, small fridge, 2 bottles of water, 2 double beds, large firm pillows (1 each) phone, tissue paper, 3 night stands, tea/carafe, shower, towels, toothbrushes, hair dryer, hand soap, body wash, shampoo sachets. There is a cold & hot water dispenser on the floor. Breakfast is included with the room price and is an Asian one which we enjoyed. It did include fried eggs and bread to make toast plus peanut butter & jam.

There are some restaurants in the area but you need to look around. There are two 7-11’s around so no problem finding snacks and beverages. Many buses stop out front so there are public transport options available.

Overall, good hotel with very helpful attentive front desk, nice room and would stay here again

Room Tip: Some rooms might have a better view but have to visit to see.
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews