We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
271
91
12
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
91
12
3
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Very lovely resort enjoyed our stay there. Staff friendly and willing to go out of there way to be helpful. The 7 hour tour of the area was a great service, food excellent. Even though the area round about is a bit run down we would recommend it for a relaxing stay. :)

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Loreena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Manager at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Thank you very much, for your positive comments and for taking the time to write your review. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and the food at our restaurant. Your comments on the staff, regarding their friendliness and helpfulness, they were really happy to know you enjoyed yourself and our services, the Island Tour and having a relaxing stay, while you were staying with us at Royal Embassy Resort. Regards, Phil Seal /Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2015

The Royal Embassy resort is a beautiful and peaceful oasis just off a busy and noisy main road near Kamala beach. We stayed for 2 nights in the September low season and the resort was almost empty. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, The lobby, restaurant, and rooms are beautifully decorated in classic Thai style and also well maintained and clean. The staff overall is lovely, polite, and helpful. The owner, Phil was very visible and attentive.

The hotel itself was lovely, but the area? Not so much. The hotel provides a free shuttle to Kamala Beach: Great! But Kamala Beach itself was dirty (lots of trash both in the water and washed up on shore). YUCK! This was a big disappointment: Not the Resort's fault but be aware. We instead spent the next day hanging out in the hotel's awesome pool. A much better option! The pool is clean and even includes massaging jets in one of the nooks. Very nice!

Taxi fees were much higher than expected and higher than I remember from previous visits to Thailand. We took a taxi from the airport to the ferry (for Phi Phi) for 600 Baht. The taxi from Royal Embassy to the airport was 800 Baht tho the distance was much shorter. Also the taxi fee to get to/from Patong was 400 Baht each way, pretty high especially given the distance. Though we liked the hotel, the location is not desirable. The extra amount for taxis to get places is a consideration.

Our one bedroom suite with kitchen was large, comfortable, and fully equipped with fridge, stove, dishes, etc though we only used the fridge. We also had a balcony overlooking the pool: EXCELLENT! The bed was typical Thai "firm" (aka: quite hard) which we like! The bathroom was HUGE with nice amenities, plenty of towels, and good water pressure. It was nice for a couple of nights, but would be even better for a longer stay.

Included breakfast: A number of Western and Thai options. Overall pretty good, but not great. Juice was good, especially the pineapple. Cereal was a tad stale. My husband enjoyed the Thai options. But there were issues with getting fried eggs well done: I suspect that is just not common order. Both days the yoke was quite runny. Plus service for breakfast was rather hit or miss. Probably due to the low season. But once our orders were taken and we were served, the server just disappeared. No checkin to make sure all was well (which it was not -- yucky eggs) or offers of coffee/tea refills. We eventually hunted her down for a coffee refill. REALLY surprising given the service level in other areas. Maybe something else was going on... Not sure.

There were a couple of other "glitches" that prevent me from giving a full 5 stars:
- The first morning we woke up to no water. My husband went out and found a maintenance person who pledged to "fix it soon". After waiting a bit, we just went to breakfast. After breakfast there was still no water so no shower that morning! We were given extra free waters to brush our teeth (THANKS!) but it was not a great start to our stay. Hey, stuff happens... It was fixed when we got back from the beach.
- The in-room DVD player did not work (picture but no sound). When I called I was told this was a known problem and they had "forgotten" to replace it. No replacement unit was available. The only other DVD player was in use. *sigh*
- (nit) the list of TV stations provided did not map to the actual channels on the TV.

All in all: a great place. Lots of positives. I just wish it was closer to a NICE beach.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kmcoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Thank you so much, for writing such an informative review,, both positive and those area's that show us. we have room for improvement. All our staff really try hard to offer the best service possible, so we have used your review to make sure, we can do a better job in the future. Your comments on the beach are justified, but just to explain to you, that we had had a lot of wind and rain in August and September, which does cause the beach to be untidy and the water not clear, however now, with the weather more settled, the beach is back to normal, nice and clean with clear blue water.
I agree with you regarding taxi and Tuk Tuk charges, they are to high and the new Governer of Phuket, has stated that they will work with the Taxi and Tuk Tuk companies, to either make meters manditory, or have a maximum charge system, as an example, currently 400 to Patong and looking to have a charge of 240 to 260 baht charge. Regarding the service in the restaurant, I opologise, my normal waitress was on holiday for the month of September and my receptionists, were doubling as watresses and receptionist in the mornings, so some times were at the reception desk looking after a guest and the service in the restaurant was below our normal standard. The DVD problem also I apologise for, it was my fault, as mentioned to you, I had totally forgotten to get it fixed, after the guest prior to you informed us, the sound was not working., it has now been repaired as has the communication with the chefs, regarding how to ensure that when guests ask for their eggs to be cooked a specific way, that both the watress and chef fully understand. The water problem was just one of those things, I have owned the resort almost 5 years and this was the first major problem we had had, with the main pump breakin down. The reason for it taking longer than you were informed, was that the repair company had to go to Phuket Town, a forty minute drive from here, for a new part, that was first thought, could be purchased in Patong, only a fifteen minute drive from here.
Finally a big thank youy for all the positives, it was a pleasure to meet you and your husband and I am sure should you ever come back to Phuket Island, most of, if not all of the negatives, will be fixed or vastly improved on. Regards Phil Seal Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Stayed in one of the beautiful villas for about USD50/- a night, which I thought was incredible. The villas were large, clean, and aesthetically pleasing. The overall landscaping of the resort was very pleasant too. Staff was very friendly and helpful. What surprised me the most was the breakfast - a la carte with limited options (local and Western), but excellent - one of the best meals of my entire Thailand stay.

Location: didn't get to test it much as I stayed only one night, but the popular beaches like Patong are <10 mins drive away. And Kamala is right there of course.

Overall - recommend unequivocally.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SBahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

Great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and the food at Ambassador Bistro, our restaurant, It was a real pleasure to meet you and your friends while you were here and wonderful to know you enjoyed our services, food and facilities, Your comments on the staff also are much apprecriated, I am extremely lucky to have such a good team.. Many thanks Phil Seal Qwner Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2015

We stayed for 7 nights at the end of August from Monday 24th to Monday 31st August as a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children).

To summarise, our stay at the resort exceeded our expectations in terms of quality, service and accommodation standards. This is one of those places where you come to relax and have a very high personal level of attention being more of a ‘boutique and bespoke’ stay. All the staff and the very visible and hands on owner, Phil, provide an exceptional level of service.

We booked on the basis of the very positive reviews from Trip Advisor and had high expectations of a family friendly environment.

The resort, pool and gardens are immaculately maintained; on our stay we saw the level of attention everyone put in and daily upkeep was very much evident (even though we were there when it was low season).
The resort in Kamala, which is not so touristy or busy as Patong and is geared towards being family friendly. It is close to Kamala beach (10 minutes walk or free shuttle bus there and back).
The Kamala town markets area on Wednesday and Saturday and within a stone’s throw away.
We booked a day tour and various activities through the resort; these were competitively priced. We used the Hotel’s driver, Wood, for taking us to areas like Patong and around, again, at reasonable prices.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with a fully functioning kitchen and modern appliances. It was tastefully furnished. Air-conditioning worked perfectly. Beds are of a good standard. It was cleaned daily to a good level with towels replaced daily.

The breakfast and restaurant food are excellent with a varied and fresh menu which caters well for children.

We got to know the various members of staff well during our stay. Check in and check out were straightforward.
Bella, Fon, Paysaan and Wood were all very friendly, efficient and professional. Bella and Fon speak excellent English. Nothing was too much trouble in terms of queries, helping out and accommodating requests. They all provided ideas and local knowledge on things to do.
Phil is at the heart of everything that goes on and you can see that he really does care about the resort, his staff and making sure that guests have a pleasant stay.

A truly memorable stay – Royal Embassy Resort and Spa deserves the accolades and we hope to return in the near future.

Mr and Mrs R Parmar, London, UK

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakhee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

Thank you so much, for your positive comments and for taking the time to write your review.
Really great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. I have already passed on your comments to our staff regarding their friendliness and helpfulness, the staff were really happy to know you enjoyed yourself and our services, while here at Royal Embassy Resort, it is excellent feed back for me also. Once again, many thanks, always nice to receive a good review.

Kind regards
Phil Seal
Owner/ Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed in low season so fairly quiet. Had a lovely bungalow, of which there are 5, fronting the pools and garden. Everything very clean and well maintained.
Nothing is too much trouble for Phil and Arree and their staff, esp Bella, Fon, Wood and Paisan.
A couple of great chefs turn out excellent food at all hours, so we chose to eat at the hotel most times.
Only drawback is 400 baht trip to Patong, where most of the shops, restaurants, businesses etc. are, although the hotel's own car will go for 300 baht.

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 2WallysPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2015

Great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and the food at Ambassador Bistro, our restaurant,
The taxi price to Patong and other areas on Phuket Island is high, however it is being addressed by the new Governer of Phuket and there is talks going on right now.. The hope is that further down the track, all taxi's and Tuk Tuks will have meters, rather than the currrent set price. If this happens, a trip to Patong will be around 240 baht, a much more realistic price for the 9 KM,
Your comments on the staff also are much apprecriated, I am extremely lucky to have such a good team.. Many thanks Phil Seal Qwner Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews