We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
15
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
15
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2019 via mobile

We spent 3 nights there and Gigi, the owner, arranged everything to make this stay amazing. She cooks delicious meals and the view from the tents is gorgeous.
Thank you again for having us, this is paradise!!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Antsimon75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capsalayreefcamp, Owner at Capsalay Reef Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 January 2019 via mobile

Lovely place to stay! Absolutely amazing reef by the door, lovely hosts and Jen and Gigi were absolutely brilliant cooks, we had it to ourselves and it was so peaceful and beautiful. Excellent large hangout area with good games and books, clean western toilets - highly recommend!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Little_alice-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capsalayreefcamp, General Manager at Capsalay Reef Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Thank you Alice. We are glad that you loved our place.

We hope to see you in the future.

Kindest regards,

Gigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2019

The place is beautiful! The island is quiet, not too big or too small (you can go for a nice run or walk). You can walk or swim to other islands :)

The food is even better ;) Gigi is a great cook, she even cooked everything vegan for me and she is really good at it! Had vegan pulled pork (made from jackfruit), vegan pancakes, vegan black bean burger, and much more!

Further the island is quiet and remote, perfect for relaxing and snorkelling. Hope you can enjoy it as well!

We first booked 2 nights, but then added 2 more nights because we loved it!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 15bentek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capsalayreefcamp, Owner at Capsalay Reef Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2019

Thankyou for staying with us. It was lovely to have you both.

And yes I loved making and eating the vegan dishes myself. We are workig towards being more of specialty vegetarian & vegan catering but because we live next door to the fishing village we are also blessed with a fresh fish supply to please pescatarians.

The beach areas we have is quite vast. So it was amusing to see you select a beach to do your morning yoga and the Scandinavian ladies pick another to do their yoga. We are surrounded by yogis!

We hope you can come back to visit us again. I will make you that Mexican open bean tortillas with the radishes on top that you liked or of your fave dishes from our repertoire.

Cheers,

Gigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 January 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and totally recommend you come here. There is good snorkeling at the reef just around from the camp, and so many places to relax around the site that the whole day could pass by without stirring much. But if you miss a meal that would be a pitty as Gigi's food is fantastic. Our bell tent was very comfortable and the solar showers worked well. Gigi is a generous host and a mine of information about the area. We had a great time here and with only small numbers at a time it is like a Robinson Cruiso experience with your own chef! Only runs January through May. Enjoy!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank HYNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capsalayreefcamp, Owner at Capsalay Reef Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2019

Thank you so much for visiting us. I am so glad that both you and children enjoyed their island adventure. It was a pleasure to chef for you all. A Philippine holiday to remember!

Look forward to hosting you again.

Cheers,

Gigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

We found this little piece of paradise via Google maps when we were looking for an island to spend some nights. Looking back we should have stayed longer.

It's just an half hour boattrip from Port Barton but you feel like you are on the end of the world. Island hopping tours were also available with pickup from Capsalay.

Staff was amazing, food was great, even keeps in mind any dietary needs and or wishes. When you go for a walk the dogs keep you company along the way.

Best place we have been in the Philippens!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigi S, General Manager at Capsalay Reef Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thank you Sir for your review!

When we started the business, my husband and I toyed with names for our View Deck. One of them was 'Restaurant at the End of The Universe' (at that time we thought we would like a restaurant open to public attached) - homage to Douglas Adam's Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. Since then sadly no Galaxial Hitchhikers but a plethora of interesting worldly travellers have passed our way seeking a respite from cockerel alarms, throngs of party tourists and noise. Nature is our best calling card.

I am happy to hear my staff had looked after you both very well. And the dogs a somewhat convivial set of companions. All part and parcel of the service.

We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews