We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Destinia.com
Prestigia.com
Etrip
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveler rating
967
54
18
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
967
54
18
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner la corte dei papi david papi steam room our honeymoon the cottages beautiful hotel heaven on earth very special place makes you feel cooking class tuscan countryside wonderful place main building spa rooms grounds property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2021

What a wonderful find. If you plan to visit Cortona itself or the area around Assisi even, do not miss a chance to stay here. The rooms are lovely (try the spa rooms as an added treat), the food is outstanding (presentation and quality) and the wines are so good we are ordering some bottles to have at home. The owner David, is passionate about his Estate and its family history and that passion translates into what is a signature of Italy - true family hospitality. He and his staff are perfect hosts. All the guests just had huge smiles all the time and were chatting up a storm with one another because everyone was just feeling great to be there. It was just superb. An added bonus - ask for Angelo if you want a drive around Cortona. Oh and its super dog friendly with some walks also around the hotel for your pup. Loved this hotel so much. Stylish but relaxed. We will definitely return.

Room tip: The garden cottage was a really lovely choice and the spa rooms are just superb.
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 669babettev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2021

We spent a week in Cortona and searched for the best restaurant in the area - Relais La Corte dei Papi was a top choice on Tripadvisor, and to ensure we had a good time without putting anyone in danger we booked a room for that evening. The experience as sublime - David and his staff instantly put us at ease, and he gave us a walking tour of this amazing family farm turned villa. Don't let the word farm put you off, it is anything but ... incredibly well-appointed, modern conveniences in every way (a shower that connects to Bluetooth - what will they think of next?!?) and a truly first-rate experience. There are currently 16 rooms in total, and if we could ever arrange everyone's schedule this would be an outstanding venue for a family reunion, wedding or engagement party,

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William_McGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2021

What a wonderful place to stay! Everything is beautiful: rooms, grounds, restaurant, office. David, owner, is the most cordial host we have ever had; he even brought early morning coffee to our room. The staff is amazing and the service we received was impeccable. Breakfast and dinner were always very good. And David produces his own wine which is excellent.
It's a great place to stay to visit Tuscany cities, wineries, and other restaurants.
David and our driver Simone chose great excursions every day we were there. It was great to have a driver so I didn't have to drive and figure out routes, parking, etc. Simone was great; he picked us up in Florence to go to Relais La Corte dei Papi and drove us to Venice - our next stop in our trip - when we left.
Thank you for making our trip easy and memorable and great!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RJG7987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2021

Our stay at this Tuscan villa was a dream. The property has been in family hands for generations, so the experience combines an authentic family feel with a relaxing luxurious getaway. And you are surrounded by the idyllic hills and vineyards of Italy's most prized wine country. The countryside is quiet and there are neat walks on old dirt roads nearby. David and his staff are exceptionally professional and attentive. The food is amazing. I still can't stop thinking about the t-bone steak and the local wine made from grape's in the backyard. We took a fun and rewarding cooking class with the hotel chef. There is really no comparison to any other hotel experience. My hat is off to David and his team.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank milesa984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2021 via mobile

We booked a small suite up a flight of stairs at the fabulous property 10 minute easy drive to Cortona. The suite was huge with 2 easy chairs and a couch in the sitting area, a large bedroom, a bathroom with 2 separate sinks all decked out in brocade. The Relais has a restaurant used by locals as well as hotel guests with refined cooking well worth sampling during a stay. What makes this place fabulous is the hospitality and service provided by David Papi. He caters to every whim as he fufills the needs of a wide variety of types of guests with a soft, smiling demeanor all the time. The Relais is a magnificent place to rest, to use as a headquarters for visiting Cortona, or with help of David a central place for guided tours of Tuscany,Sienna, and wine country

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank MDrooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews