We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gazelle International Hotel(East New Britain)
Free cancellation until 07/21
US$263
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rabaul Hotel(Rabaul)
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
196
72
5
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
72
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive shoplobsteron siteland tourgreat foodswimming with dolphinspapua new guineabeautiful placescuba divingthree nightsstaff were friendlynew britainpool sideport moresbythe general managerstunning viewsanywhere in the world
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We visited Rapopo Plantation Resort with our three children, all aged 6 and under. The staff was fantastic. The rooms were reasonably priced and clean. A family of 4 can easily fit in the suite. The Dive Shop located onsite was superb - the kids swam with dolphins and snorkeled. We visited the volcano, and collected shells. The food was excellent - lobster or red snapper delivered fresh daily. I don't know why more people have not found this place - it's worth getting there before the word gets out.

Room Tip: The Suite is excellent!
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank stlcardsfan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Kokopo is most beautiful and enjoyable place in PNG especially sea. What a beautiful and sea animal does not afraid to human. All things welcome to us.
from Kokopo to island is so closest where is pisin island and Duke of York. When you go there, You have never seen all environment.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Wow, this place has got it all! Only 5mins from the airport but no airport noise. Great friendly helpful competent and professional staff with a welcome song a fresh flower necklace, awesome food, fantastic room, amazing location!! Endless activities inc diving/snorkeling, canoeing, SUP, explore wrecks, swim with dolphins, climb volcanos, WW2 sites, volcano observatory, visit the Duke of York islands... Can easily fill up 3 days with activities or more!! Or relax by the pool and enjoy meals over the water.... Really, really enjoyed the stay and can't wait to go back for more!!

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank freddyboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 February 2017

A wonderful relaxing holiday. We stayed for 2 weeks and initially thought there wouldn't be enough to keep 2 teenagers (17 and 14) entertained - not the case. Fantastic coral just off the beach, a huge pool, kayaks and paddle boards to loan kept us all busy.
The on site dive and tour shop organised our dolphin trip and I certainly can't recommend this trip highly enough- what an experience- and so many dolphins!
As per previous posts, resort staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
Island pace is slow, don't expect anything to happen quickly, however the purpose of a holiday is to relax and take it easy- so perfect.
We popped in to other accommodation available in the area, and confirm Rapopo is the best choice.
Highly recommend this resort for a relaxing family holiday.

Room Tip: Interconnecting rooms away from the main block and as a result occupied the whole top floor of one block. Views to volcano and ocean.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyjeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Rapopo plantation is absolute Paradise, we were there for a week (for a wedding).
The staff were friendly and accommodating, the food was superb esp the lobster.
we arranged to swim with dolphins and snorkel, we kayaked and swam at the beach front most mornings, followed by drinks at the swim up pool. Swimming with dolphins was amazing, there were at least 100 dolphins and Paul who took us out was so insightful of the history of the area.

Highly recommend Rapopo Plantation Resort for your next adventure. It's a great getaway from a busy city life!

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Angelinah03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews