We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
FindHotel
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
132
70
12
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
132
70
12
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand dunes games room port stephens bbq area great facilities wedding weekend self contained comfy bed main bedroom short drive lodge bungalow families accommodation playground pooch carport
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2021

My partner and I stayed here for two nights over the weekend and had zero complaints about our stay. Our cottage (number 7) was clean and comfortable, with all facilities in working order. The staff were friendly and helpful at check-in and check-out. The location of The Retreat is one of its main attractions, as it is close (driving that is) to the sand dunes, Nelson Bay, Salamander Bay Shopping Centre, and Mount Tomaree amongst others . I have stayed here before with my family, seven years previously, and had as lovely a stay then, as I had over the weekend. Highly recommended for an inexpensive, comfortable getaway.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emilyrU3825QZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 December 2020 via mobile

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay. The staff were great and very helpful and made sure that we were comfortable. The accommodation was excellent and all the facilities around the area is well maintained and taken care of. Highly recommend

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank N6685JSevak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 November 2020 via mobile

Beautifully clean and very comfy bed. Slept so well. Lovely staff. Only drawback is the location isn't that close to things - you need to drive to the beach, food or coffee - only 5 mins to Anna Bay but still a pain. Enjoyed my little cabin though.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Riklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

Cottages are well spaced out, providing privacy and quiet relaxing space. You can walk to sand dunes and birubi beach. To take your dogs, make sure to ring to ensure you can book cottages that allow pets. No 4, 5,6 only

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Taraisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle Carter, General Manager at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Thanks so much for review and we are so glad to now have 3 pet friendly rooms available.
Your Bush hideaway truly is what we are with the sand dunes at the back fence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

Pet friendly accommodation which was great. Helpful, flexible staff.close to everything. Affordable. Lots of activities for kids. Very close to sand Dunes.clean comfortable beds. Will be staying here again.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank jeronw852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle Carter, General Manager at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

We understand that pets are also part of the family and love meeting all the furry friends. We have also launched an additional pet friendly room to allow for more rooms to be pet friendly
Look forward to hearing from you for a future stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews