We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Olives Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Green Gates(Kalpetta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
299
42
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
299
42
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbiju and rajihis wifehome stayhome away from homebadminton courtmountain viewvisit wayanadpersonal touchwonderful experiencebeautiful placegreat hospitalityperfect homestayfelt like homestayed for nightseach mealtaste budshomely food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 347 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2018

Following on from the reviews already listed here, namely that of Ravindra, Richard, Avinash and Anil who were fellow members of the Merchant Marine group from Bangalore, it goes without saying that Olives Resort is one that exceeds expectations. It does so on all fronts, namely
1) Quality of the accommodation - the 6 rooms are very well appointed, each with a balcony, airconditioner and TV. There is a seventh room as well without AC and balcony. The only drawback which I found, was that the fridge is connected to the key-switch and hence gets switched off when when one leaves and locks the room. It would be better if this was not so, so that the fridge can keep running even when the occupants are not in, or else the purpose is not served.
2) Overall ambience of the property - excellent.
3) The food - Breakfast and dinner is served by Olives and one couldn't ask for more, be it the quality, quantity or variety.
4) Having stayed at various Home Stays and resorts around the country, it must be said that the owner couple Biju Thomas and Raji are hosts par excellence and go out of their way in being hospitable.
5) Their staff of Remeni and Lizzie too deserve a special mention of going out of their way in ensuring a comfortable stay for the guests.

Room Tip: First floor rooms would be best as it would involve less climbing
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudarshan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2018

To begin with the property is very easy to locate, just off the the main road at Kalpetta, i.e. accessibility is good. The rooms are well appointed, very clean and well maintained. The food was excellent as was the friendly and hospitable nature of the staff, who went out of their way to cater to our needs. We were a group of 13 senior citizens who stayed for 3 nights and ushered in the new year of 2018. The common area where we could gather was very well located and and was imminently suitable for eating our meals or just lounging. There were no power outages and the supply of hot water was plentiful. The excellent meals served at Olives was one of the highlights of our stay. It was very tasty and with a sumptuous menu which catered to both non vegetarians and vegetarians alike. Another good feature was the hot savoury served every evening with tea. Tea/coffee was available at any time for the asking. A very special mention must be made of the couple who run Olives - Biju and Regi who went to great lengths to make our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so choose rooms keeping in mind your ability to climb stairs.
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravindra846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2018 via mobile

We had the most amazing START to 2018.
We Merchant Navy Group from Bangalore booked the entire Resort for our New Year Celebration. We spent 3 Nights and ended 2017 in the best way possible and had an awesome start to 2018.
Hats off to Biju & Raji the owners. They went out of their way to make us comfortable and the food was amazing with a traditional Keralite dish prepared for each meal. They even joined in our New Year celebration and brought a special cake for the occasion.
A simple, genuine couple who put the customers before making money.
Excellent for Hospitality-Excellent for Location-Excellent for facilities-Excellent for Food. Overall EXCELLENT.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Richard1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2018

We were a group of 13 who occupied all 7 available rooms at Olives over the NY week end for 3 nights (Dec 30th - Jan 2nd). It was one of the best holidays we have had. Biju, Raji, their daughters, and the 2 staff made sure we were well fed and looked after. The best part is that they do this with a smile and a genuineness which shines through. It comes from their heart and this is what makes Olives special.
The food both Non veg and Veg was perhaps the highlight of Olives because it is made with lots of love.
Each room is uniquely done up with a personal touch and spotlessly clean. All except a very small room have an aircon, are spacious with all the modern amenities required for a comfortable stay. The 2nd floor rooms have a great view and all of the rooms have sit outs.
All at Olives went out of their way to ensure we had one of the best holidays ever, and for sure we will be going back.. They even have a small swimming pool now which I am sure will be an added asset to a holiday in the summer months.
The only small drawback is that there is no rest room at the ground floor level so you need to go back to the room if you wish to use the toilets. But this too is being provided shortly.There are no elevators so choose a room on the 1st floor if you do not wish to climb too many stairs.

Without hesitation we can say it is one of the best resorts we have been to.

Room Tip: Each room was unique & special in its own way. The honeymoon suite is large. Only one small room has no aircon and small bathroom.
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avinash0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2018 via mobile

Excellent rooms, well maintained. Great hospitality. Made all of us feel at home. Superb food of which there was a great spread. Definitely highly recommend this beautiful homestay to one and all. Will surely be visiting again soon.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Fernandes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews