We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Nearby Hotels
US$580
US$550
Beloved Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$414
US$266
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Finest Playa Mujeres(Playa Mujeres)
US$485
US$455
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa(Playa Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$241
US$173
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$397
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riu Dunamar(Playa Mujeres)
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$206
US$164
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$41
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13,009)
Filter reviews
13,009 results
Traveler rating
10,827
1,551
392
149
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10,827
1,551
392
149
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmartini barchez isabelleflavor marketlobsterthe grillsol barrooftop terracemain poolour honeymooncafe kafecarolina pazec poolnon ecroom servicebuilding conciergefrench restaurantswim up room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 13,009 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All of the trip advisor reviews are spot on when they comment on how beautiful this property is! All of the gardens/trees/flowers have been planned with significant attention to detail and the gardeners maintain these areas meticulously. Very lovely! The entire grounds of the resort are uber clean.
All of the workers greet you with a smile and a "Hola" and seem happy to work here.
The rooms are beautiful. We were on the 2nd floor of building 6 which is directly across from the Juice bar at the lazy river. The balcony is shaded until about 5pm and you can get a little sun on the day bed at this time. At night, you can hear all of the music from the nightly shows on the balcony and in your room. There was a smell (musty) to the room particularly after we returned and housekeeping had turned on the air conditioning. It wasn't a big deal but we did notice the smell on our clothes when we got back home.

The iguanas are around the property...they sun themselves in the gardens but do remind yourself to look down when walking as I nearly stepped on one when approaching the beach as he was against the wall and had no where to scurry to.
We looked forward to sailing the hobie cat each day on our vacation but it was "too windy" to sail some days. Apparently wind > 15knots shuts down all beach activities. You are only allowed to sail for 30 minute time slots.

Choice for breakfast is at 2 different locations... the Italian restaurant which sports a gigantic buffet of every possible food/drink you can imagine and the Lobster House, on the swim up pool overlooking the ocean with menu options. The view is very pretty.

We did the 4pm bike tour... not much biking (on a single speed ride) but it was interesting and worth it to see the spider monkeys and climb the tower at the gate house to see a fantastic view of the jungle and resorts and marina. Apparently the 9am bike tour goes in the other direction.

We unfortunately left 2 days early as my ( fit & healthy) husband suffered some never before health problems. We visited the on-site doctor (for a fee) who recommended we go to the cancun hospital for further tests but we chose instead to get an immediate flight back to Canada. We spoke to 3 front desk personnel (to re-schedule the car to take us to the airport and to check out early), not one person asked about my husband's health. We simply booked a flight, packed up and left, It seemed odd how the staff was so nice & helpful all week but there seemed to be no concern for our early departure. Oh well, there wasn't anything for them to do but it just seemed a blah way to end our trip... no "thanks for coming, sorry to see you leave early, I hope everything is ok".

We booked the Seasons private suburban to drive us to/from the airpot. The drivers were fantastic, the truck was immaculate and the drive was about 40 minutes. You just walk right out of the airport (don't stop for anybody in the airport who asks you what company you booked your transport with...they will try to grab your business) and there is a friendly guy with your name... very smooth. I would pay the extra $ for this again instead of shuttle bus!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank real-deal-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is our second time at Excellence and it did not disappoint. Both times we went in March which os a perfect time. Warm, breezy and not humidity. We got a swim up suite and it was amazing to walk out and get right into the lazy river. We were on the spa side and loved the seclusion because we were there to relax, go to the spa and have a little fun. The main pool is always a fun time with activities and music...go early to get a chair. Same at the beach you have to go early because people will put there stuff there and never come back; however the attendants are really good about removing their stuff for you to have the chairs if it looks like they are never coming back. Food is amazing Chez Isabelle was our favorite. Fire pizza at the pool amaz and Lobsters at Lobster House are worth the wait. The staff is so nice and the entertainment every night is top notch. They always have acoustic singers and then a show each night. I can not say enough about the spa you will be transformed by the water therapy circut. This resort is truly Excellent. Book immediately! We can not wait until our next visit.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my 2nd time staying at an Excellence Hotel in Mexico. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The rooms and common areas are immaculate and the people are extremely nice and helpful. The only thing I can say is the service in the restaurants was a little slow. It seems like there was not enough wait staff for the amount of tables there were in each restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pr1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is my family's 3rd year spending 1 week at this magnificent all inclusive resort. The staff were courteous & kind and provided whatever amenities that were needed. The access to the Gulf of Mexico and the multitude of pools, especially the lazy river around the property added to the luxury of the property. The food & drinks were plentiful and there was a variety of several restaurants and bars to choose from. There was also daily entertainment in the evenings. The highlight regarding food & beverage was the stand alone coffee, pastry & ice cream cafe on the 3rd floor of the main building. The property was well hidden and secure protected by a triple set of high gates spaced out several 100 yards apart. The water and food were very safe to consume. The water was filtered on premises. The rooms themselves were large, especially, the swim up junior suites which were located by a pool lagoon or private area pool and the access to the private beach & Gulf of Mexico was very convenient. The rooms were stocked daily with soft drinks, bottled water, beer, wine and candy treats. The rooms were immaculate and kept in pristine appearance by the attentive maid service. There was absolutely nothing one would want for. This property catered to adults over 18. My family & I plan to return next year over the spring break. For those who wish to be more adventurous, there are a variety of tours that the hotel guest services will arrange. Those that choose to stay put at the hotel property, there is a variety of water activities that are available, ping pong, tennis courts and a full spa for those that wish to indulge in their many services.

Room Tip: Swim up junior suites in the Excellence Club are on the ground floor close to the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sskopit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The EPM surpassed every single expectation we had, even after reading all of the reviews. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty, it was heaven on earth.

First thing we noticed was how tight security was. Two big guarded gates to get through before entering the complex. Upon arrival, we were given cool towels and glasses of champagne and asked to take a seat, we'd be taken round to the Excellence lounge for check in. Our bellboy Eric was the first of many incredible members of staff we met on our trip. He was upbeat, enthusiastic and passionate about his job. He was excited to tell us all about it as he walked us to the lounge, pointing out all the hotspots as we went. We were checked in quickly and easily, and Eric took us round to our room. It was incredible. We had a swim up suite, and after pointing out all of the essentials (bottle openers, mini-bar & air con :)) Eric left us to explore the huge room we had with an indoor jacuzzi, double sinks, premium spirits, snacks, soft drinks, and ample water. We had a bottle of champagne chilling on the desk and some delicious petit fours waiting for us!

We were unsure what to expect from the resort as it was our first adult only holiday, perhaps slightly concerned that there wouldn't be any entertainment throughout the day and in the evenings. We could not have been more wrong... an absolute abundance of activities for all tastes, which you are not pestered into participating in, but the entertainment team are so incredible that we felt that we wanted to get involved! The entire team work tirelessly and really made our holiday. A special shout to Francisco, Dante, Monica & Kayla from the team. We love you guys, thank you so much for the water volleyball, aquastrong, archery, air rifle shooting, towel folding... You were all amazing.

The food was all really good. 11 restaurants make sure that there is something for everyone! Options are limited for breakfast and dinner with only a few (I think two?) Being open, but the amount of food available ensured that you never had to eat the same thing twice if you didnt want to. We had a few times we had to wait a while on food, but nothing outrageous. Personal favourites were the Lobster House & The Flavour market. Special thanks to Hector from the flavour market & Louis from the Lobster House(the coconut shrimp was perfect). Also if you like coffee, ice cream &/or macaroons, make sure you check out Aroma. It's on the top floor, and the pistachio ice cream is out of this world.

With nine bars, you're never going to go thirsty. We spent most of the time at either the Sol bar, where you can either go up to the bar or get table service, or at the Prelude Terrace bar, which is where most things happened in the evening. Thank you to Lucia who ensured we always had a drink in our hand, to Angel & Angel who always remembered what we liked, to Miguel who fed us shots all night and to Hugo, who is just amazing - water is for flowers!

Make sure you check out the themed parties that are put on; we made a few friends from going to those who we will keep in touch with! Personal favourite was the beach party. It was incredible. I don't think we could have been prepared for just how incredible this resort is. If you are thinking about going; do it. You will not regret it!

To everyone at EPM, particularly those mentioned above; Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!! We had such an amazing time and it is thanks to all of you. We can't wait to come back and visit again!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank reeg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews