We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
sunny88sydney
Sydney, Australia

Very relaxing

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 6, 2015
We really enjoyed our 4 nights here. It was so relaxing sitting on the deck watching the birds and the fish in the pond. The cottage was clean and spacious and well equipped, we ate in every night and used the bbq which was great. The hosts Marian and Mike were very helpful and had good suggestions for which part of the Abel Tasman to walk on. We also enjoyed the wineries as well and the wharf at Mapua is a really nice spot for a beer or an ice cream. The fish and chip shop there was crazy busy so we bought fish and chips from the shop at Ruby Bay instead which were delicious!
Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Overview of Windhover Estate with Windhover Villa, the pond, vineyard and The Waters B&B
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Aporo Pondsiders
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
3.8 km from Aporo Pondsiders
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
1.9 km from Aporo Pondsiders
Free Wifi
Free parking
Location
    4.7 km from Aporo Pondsiders
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Agoda.com
    44.9 km from Aporo Pondsiders
    Mapua Garden B&B
      5.4 km from Aporo Pondsiders
      Motel beds with Flowers and New Zealand made Chocolate
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      9.6 km from Aporo Pondsiders
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      19.5 km from Aporo Pondsiders
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      18.5 km from Aporo Pondsiders
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Tasman
      Reviews (18)
      Filter reviews
      18 results
      Traveler rating
      17
      1
      0
      0
      0
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveler rating
      17
      1
      0
      0
      0
      See what travelers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      7 - 12 of 18 reviews
      Reviewed January 7, 2013

      xcellent accommodation and hosts. Could not ask for better and was sorry to leave. Plenty of space, a well equipped kitchen, a comfy bed and a great view. Very generous breakfast provisions are a nice touch. Hopefully we will be back one day.

      Date of stay: January 2013
      • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank PandENZ
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed March 19, 2012

      Beautiful place, very gracious and welcoming host, perfect location - great place as a gateway to Abel Tasman, the wineries, and the beautiful mountain this region has to offer

      Date of stay: March 2012
      • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Alex N
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed April 12, 2011

      Where do I begin?! The accommodation is in three self-contained units jutting out over a manmade pond in a location near to Mapua but completely off the beaten track. There's a large living room/ dining area/well equipped kitchen, a separate bedroom and a lovely deck over the water. There's also a BBQ outside at the back and plenty of parking.

      You're provided with lots of breakfast supplies, plus cheeses, meats, etc as a welcome snack. For once, there is everything necessary to actually cook your supplies i.e. oil, cling film, etc - all the things you would have to hand at home but would never take with you on a round the world trip!

      At first I was concerned because there was no air conditioning and it was very warm but all the windows were fitted with bug guards and opened so it was lovely and cool at night. The deck was magical - we ate all our meals out there and then lounged on the comfortable furniture indoors reading books and sipping wine.

      There's even a phone outside in a small booth with local calls free of charge. It's a short drive to towns in either direction and an ideal stopping plce to set off exploring Abel Tasman National Park.

      If I had one criticism, it would be that it can be irksome if your neighbours are noisy as the properties are built of corrugated materials on shared decking so sound travels. However, we found that being a little noisy ourselves let our next doors neighbours appreciate that we could hear them and they soon pipped down!

      We absolutely loved it here and I can't recomment it highly enough.

      Date of stay: February 2011
      • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank HotelHarry
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed April 13, 2010

      Probably the best we stay in throughout our n.z travels.
      Highly recommended & well worth every penny

      Date of stay: February 2010
      • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank ramnat
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed February 25, 2010

      We arrived at Aporo Ponsiders after a very long journey and from the moment we arrived, we knew we were someplace special. Apart from the lovely, quiet setting, what really makes this place amazing is the hospitality of the owner Marion. She was totally prepared for our young children's arrival, providing sand pails, lifejackets, and excellent suggestions to keep them occupied.
      Our cottage was just the right size, with a living room/kitchen area and a separate bedroom. Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast fixings are provided - eggs, yoghurt, cereal, milk, pastries, fruit, cheese, salami- and you can make your own at your leisure in the morning.
      Location wise, it's an easy drive to Kaiteriteri beach (20 mins), Abel Tasman park, and other restaraunts & shopping- although the b&b itself is not within walking distance to anything- but that's why it's so quiet and peaceful!
      Definitely 5 stars!

      Date of stay: February 2010
      • Trip type: Traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Tonya1
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews