We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$82
US$65
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$127
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$49
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/23
US$61
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
US$25
US$20
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chamil House(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/21
Book now, pay at stay
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
US$258
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$336/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
US$181
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$330
US$269
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,814)
Filter reviews
1,814 results
Traveler rating
1,257
383
120
30
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,257
383
120
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomgarden pool villadeluxe balcony roomour honeymooniced tearibsturn down serviceday bedhead chefsun loungersopen airbeach bagmai khao beachturtle villagebeach frontlocal restaurantsseafood
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 1,814 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

My boyfriend and I stayed at SALA Phuket for 10 nights this March and we don't have a bad word to say about our experience!
The hotel is bursting with luxury and decadence; from the personalised room scent, bathroom products and pillows when you arrive; to the beautiful facilities throughout the resort.
All the rooms have the bathrooms outdoors but the design has considered plenty of privacy and it proved a uniquely refreshing experience to step out of the shower into the balmy warmth of the balcony.
The staff were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The front of house, pool attendants, restaurant/bar service and even the Chef made us feel very welcome but respected our privacy at the same time. All the gardeners and housekeeping staff always greeted us when we walked passed.
We ate in a number of different restaurants during our time in Phuket and nothing topped the delicious Thai food served in the SALA Restaurant. The adventurous menu proved innovative but without sparing any taste - we were extremely impressed.
The hotel wasn't fully occupied during our stay but this added to our experience. The limited number of guests made the resort feel more exclusive and meant that our time spent around the main pools wasn't disrupted with too much noise.
If you don't want to spend the money then you won't enjoy your time here but if you do, you'll certainly get more than your money's worth.
We've fallen in love with Thailand thanks to SALA!

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms don't cut any corners. Our pool villa didn't get too much sun as there are lots of trees in the resort.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hmcg2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I am utterly sorry but we absolutely can`t chime in with all the many positive comments. We were recommended this hotel by good friends but unfortunately don`t share their great memories with our stay here. Firstly, for a hotel in this price range and well-known chain in Thailand, we were so disappointed that, although informed by email, they had forgotten or ignored that we were on our honeymooon. No flowers, no champagne, no nothing. Not that it`s a must have or do, but in 4 weeks on honeymoon and alltogether 5 hotels, all of the other ones made an effort. I even told them at the reception again that it was our honeymoon- still no reaction. Villa was nice, design really nice as mentioned multiple times. The pool (one of the reasons why we chose the hotel) was great, but early morning but still during opening hours there was no service there really and we even had to check for towels ourselves. The towel station was usually only in service about an hour after the official opening time. Not the end of the world, but for a hotel this size and class simply not acceptable. The prices at the bar were - as expected though- quite high. Fair enough, I get it, but: no peanuts, complimentary snack not served to all guests, complete lack of service (had to remind staff of orders, orders were forgotten, brought to a different table, 15 min wait time for G &T, etc.), ran out of our favourite wine after 2 days and the list goes on. If you are charging prices of a 5 star hotel bar, then you need to deliver 5 star service as well. Fail on this one. Food was great, no complaints. Only thing that was quite obvious - loads of British guests there and for whatever reason, although our English is quite good, the chef would only chat with the Brits. Maybe Germans aren`t welcome? Who was very welcome though was guests from a boat and yachting club event that was hosted at the hotel while we were there. The manager did state in a letter to the guests that they apologize for any inconvenience - well, to be honest, a small gift/drink/something to make up for that would have been nice in addition to the letter. We felt quite disturbed by the fact of a party in the garden that wasn`t for the REAL guests to attend and then late night at the bar there was a couple of rude fellows making their way to the bar, obviously part of that event. All in all I think this is more style than substance as we do expect the service to go along with everything else. Not very attentative staff overall. I`m happy to pay the extra dollar, as long as the hotel and staff are willing to go the extra mile.

Room Tip: Unbedingt Villa nehmen!
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Haidhauserin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Haidhauserin,

Thank you for you sharing your review from your stay in January. It was disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Since your time with us several months ago, we have been working to improve in many areas which you have mentioned provided a service standard lower than your expectation. We have also adjusted a lot of our pricing especially in our beverage lists to offer better value.

However, to suggest that "Germans aren't welcome" is of course completely untrue, as is evident by the countless excellent reviews from our German guests over the years from any number of review sites. German guests remain one of our most prominent guest nationalities. We do not discriminate or offer a varied service to any guest based on nationality or race. I am sorry that our Executive Chef did not find an opportunity to meet directly with you during your stay, however, this of course is not a reason to suggest we are somehow biased based on nationality. The resort was operating at full capacity during your stay and I am sure that Chef was not able to meet with all of our in house guests on a one on one basis during that time.

The Asian Superyacht Rendezvous is one of our more popular annual events, and is scheduled to continue to be held in January for at least the next two years. We see this as a wonderful opportunity for guests to see some spectacular yachts as they make their way through the Andaman seas during this particular time of year. We are looking in coming events to provide more interaction opportunities with the Rendezvous, including the opportunity to go on board with the boats during their daily racing and attend the mixed events. This event was not limited to only outside guests, but many of the crews, captains and support teams were also residents of the resort during this weekend. Overall feedback form most guests is that they enjoy the spectacle, so I am sorry to read that you found this disturbed your stay.

Once again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at SALA Phuket.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Loved everything about this place. Villa design, cleanliness etc all top class as you can see in the photos. But the staff! Super attentive and thoughtful, always friendly with a kind smile. Everyone is so nice here.

I came for an extended weekend as a break from work stress. Definitely feel rejuvenated.

Beach is very nice, secluded and peaceful.

I also love their spa. Had the best Thai massage in my life - please ask for a girl named Ing.

Hope everyone will enjoy this place as much as I did.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
Thank jocelyntse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2018

It was an unforgettable stay. The workers were Incredible. Always helpful and polite. The hotel has beautiful swimming-pools, a big garden and restaurant right next to the beach. I didn´t want to leave the hotel. Rooms and bathrooms had an amazing deco!! The breakfast was really good and had a big variety. Couldn´t be more happy with my stay.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Isabel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Setting is beautiful and little villas well and tastefully appointed which helps as there is no sea view and you could be anywhere. Breakfast menu is very good but lunch and dinner food is disappointed. Thai buffet was extremely bad and messy. Beach is beautiful to look at but not safe and stuff discourage swimming in the sea on the arrival. Do not go there if you like swimming in the sea. But hotel is not to big, it is quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: all the villas are similar and none has a sea view
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Anatravels49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews