We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (928)
Filter reviews
928 results
Traveler rating
653
197
47
14
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
653
197
47
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country resort tuna ice cream main building fish get away swimming pool couple of hours high quality reception staff were very helpful excellent service taking care hilltop location main course panoramic view starry sky popilia
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 928 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2018

A pleasantly laid out 'bungalow ' style complex, with superb views. Accomodation comfortable and clean,with outdoor patio, including table and chairs, nice swimming pool (quite shallow), walking trails, excellent buffet breakfast and imaginative menus at dinner. Bar prices very good, the one downside being very poor wifi receptiom

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank cliff3232016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzionegroup, Direttore at Popilia Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear guest, we are so glad you have a pleasant stay in our Resort. We always pay attentiont to all of our services, in order to give to our guest an unforgettable experience. As regards the wifi, we know that the signal is poor and we are working to increase it. We hope to see you again. Best regards, the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 October 2018

I had my wedding at Popilia country Resort and from the moment that we started planning our wedding there, it felt like family. Our guests, coming from all over the world were amazed by this charming resort and the ambiance there, and were all delighted by the high quality and large variety of food offered at the Pool Buffet as long as at the seated dinner. It really felt like home! The staff is amazing, and works passionately taking care of every single detail. We came back 1 month later to spend a day at their relaxing wellness center and eat again at their exceptional restaurant,
we had the same warm hospitality as the first day we met them. Highly recommended for a relaxing vacation and for weddings overall!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2018

We travelled to this hotel as part of a tour group. The hotel setting though beautiful, is remote,so there is no opportunity to walk out on an evening an visit the local town. The "bungalow" rooms are set out over quite a large area with no thought given to allocation. A single lady down by the perimeter fence, a couple only metres from reception. It is a long walk uphill from the outer bungalows. Breakfast was good as it was for all the guests, BUT and it is a big BUT the dinner served to our group was very very average.
First course was usually rigatoni or fusilli or rice. A small portion. The second course one night was two small pieces of roast pork loin cut so thin with a potato square. Another night it was sea bass fillet with a courgette topping. - very little fish. The only night they served a decent main course was the night we had tuna. The accompaniments to these main courses were a scattering of carrots another night a few potatoes. The desserts were ice cream , another night fruit cut so thin fanned out on the plate. A small piece of cake (tray bake) another night.
If there was a wedding on then you were hurried through the courses - the staff were needed elsewhere. That does not excuse the abrupt attitude of the dining room staff .
Also on our first morning at breakfast, not knowing where to sit we sat outside and we were rudely shouted at and told to go to our "allocated seating" .
Obviously as a wedding venue it has everything to offer - as a base for visiting Calabria with a tour group - it has not.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank r00m_with_a_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzionegroup, Direttore at Popilia Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear guest, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort. As you have seen, it is completely surrounded by the nature and expecially the cottages, where you stayed, are the perfect solution for those who want to live a relaxing moment.
As regard the restaurant, we would like to inform you that you stay was part of an organized travel with a tour group. Also the menu was prechoosen, even though we give the possibility of a second choice. We are so sorry you had no possibility to have your breakfast outside, but the weather was not good so we didn't set the table in the garden.
We really hope to see you agai. Best regards, the hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2018

The hotel is beautifully presented in well maintained grounds with a lovely swimming pool. The rooms are cottage style and were very comfortable & very clean. The bathroom was equipped with shower gel body lotion etc. There wasn't a kettle in the room which was a shame. Although the situation is beautiful it is very remote. This was a disadvantage for us as we were on an organised tour which meant we were rather stranded in the evenings. There was a good choice of food at breakfast but dinner was rather disappointing. The meals were rather bland international food. This may have been down to the tour company we travelled with, rather than the hotel. The service was slow & rather chaotic. They seemed rather overworked. Not surprisingly for such an isolated place the wifi was poor. There were a lot of weddings whilst we were there, some of which were rather noisy. The staff were all friendly & hard working. The reception staff were very helpful.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Traveller1XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzionegroup, Direttore at Popilia Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing our resort and for appreciating the beauty that surrounds it.
We are so sorry that some aspects were not to your liking. As regards the meals, we would like to ensure that all our dishes are prepared only with high quality ingredients and also our service in the restaurant, as well as all the staff, is able to handle the workload. We regret that the presence of some marriages has disturbed your pleasant stay. Generally, since the areas are different , this never happens. We thank you in any case for all your suggestions, such as those concerning the kettle and the wifi, we will try to treasure it to make our service better and better.
It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we like to work every day. Best regards, the hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

I had a very unpleasant experience with the personnel at the reception desk ! I went there to spend a day with my family and while I was relaxing at the pool someone from the reception called me to ask if I brought food in the pool from home she said they were just randomly checking !i felt really offended since I spend a lot money at the restaurant and at the pool bar!anyway customer service except for the pool team that there were really nice , i was very disappointed and for sure i will never go back

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Emanuela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews