We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”
Review of Avani Kumaon

Avani Kumaon
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Pithoragarh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Avani produces and sells different kind of products which are environmental friendly and natural. At present we have four product lines which are: Textiles (wool, wool/silk, pure silk, linen):naturally dyed handspun shawls, stoles, mufflers, jackets and saris. Natural Dyes (dye powder, extract, pigment); Art Supplies (crayons, watercolors); Lifestyle Products (soapnut powder,organic kumkum).
Reviewed 8 August 2018

the people is very nice they make traditional garments in winter whether
do visst this place and have enjoy for your having memorials

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank bhupender696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

I had the good fortune to visit Avani during my stay at Jhaltola. Its founders Rajneesh and Rashmi, have created magic. I have never seen such clever use of bare natural commodities anywhere. Avani conserves forest by paying the surrounding villagers to collect fallen pine needles, which dry up and start destructive fires. These are used to generate electricity for the villages. The by-product is charcoal which is given to villagers so they don't cut trees for firewood. Every drop of water is recycled and purified in the most ingenious way. Every building has its rainwater harvesting system and even the soul excavated for underground tanks is compressed into bricks for construction. There's a school, hospital, a workshop for solar lights, a manufacturing setup for shawls and sweaters, and so many activities to generate income for the surrounding villagers. I came away very impressed... and humbled.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Prakash51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 June 2018

I stayed in Avani for about 4 months and the experience was so soul replenishing and rejuvenating. working and staying with Avani showed me the ground reality of to what extent people can go to save our earth and environment and at the same reaching out to the locals to help them selflessly. The amazing view of the Himalayan Panchachuli and a walk to the nearby local market of Berinag is a great way to spend in the lap of nature.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank vermaashi2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Humbled to see the great work done by Rajnish and team in providing sustained economic development in the state of Uttarakhand.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank AnkurJoshiEIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2017

To go to this place with children and family is great experience. Lots of things to observe here. Can be try out.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank garhwaliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avani Kumaon also viewed

Gangolihat, Pithoragarh District
Chaukori, Pithoragarh District
 
Dharchula, Pithoragarh District
Pithoragarh, Pithoragarh District
 

Been to Avani Kumaon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing