We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jason F
Castlemaine, Australia

Great food

Review of Lago de Oro
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 12, 2019
I was here for a martial arts conference. The hotel really looked after us. The amazing food just got better and better each day that we were there (and plenty of it). Simple rooms but suitable for the conference I was attending. Nice pool by the bar to sooth the muscles at night. Oh and you can water ski!
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
6.3 km from Lago de Oro
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
12.9 km from Lago de Oro
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
13.7 km from Lago de Oro
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Lago de Oro
Free parking
Pool
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
15.4 km from Lago de Oro
Free Wifi
Free parking
No booking fees
    15.1 km from Lago de Oro
    Pool
    Beachfront
    ₱4,109
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    • Booking.com
    15.4 km from Lago de Oro
    Restaurant
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • Expedia.com
      ₱4,076
    • Trip.com
    8.0 km from Lago de Oro
      14.7 km from Lago de Oro
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        ₱23,194
      • Expedia.com
        ₱24,784
      15.4 km from Lago de Oro
      View more hotels in Calatagan
      Reviews (75)
      Filter reviews
      75 results
      Traveler rating
      19
      24
      17
      4
      11
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveler rating
      19
      24
      17
      4
      11
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews salt water nice pool high tide peak season wakeboarding mosquitoes serving balayan batangas
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      10 - 15 of 75 reviews
      Reviewed August 19, 2019

      We normally do not go on vacation at this side of Batangas due to the beaches that are not as great as the other towns. But we tried Lago de Oro due to the good reviews about it. Here's my review.
      Good points:
      1. Spacious rooms (at Block 300)
      There is wheelchair access and parking in front of the rooms but best access is via the resto/pool side. Rooms here are clean, spacious and can accommodate four people with ease. With mini-ref, water heater and TV but with few channels. There are tables and lots of chairs inside the room.
      2. Courteous staff
      They are very friendly and well-trained.
      3. Good food
      Food generally good. Price is P799 for whole fried chicken order but pieces good for around 4-5 pax. Rice is P45 per cup but plentiful. Plan for at least P250-P350 per head per meal. Breakfast at P350 was great, can be shared by two but if you are really hungry the P350 set is good for you.
      4. Pool was clean
      A bit old but the pool was clean. Maybe 10-12 people can comfortably swim there. Deepest part is 5 ft.
      5. Affordable Wakeboard Access
      If booked, you pay P250 per head for 3.5hr. Not bad. Instructors very helpful.
      6. Ample parking space everywhere.
      7. Super relaxing view of the ocean. Great lawns to play frisbee or play with your dog/s.
      8. Reasonable room rates. Don't forget to ask for the senior citizen discount for rooms if traveling with seniors.

      A few points for improvement:
      1. Mosquitoes in the room. Not a lot but uncomfortably a few were there. Bring insect repellent lotion!
      2. Wheelchair access is hard from parking area in front of the PWD room. Lago de Oro should provide a more accessible ramp there.

      Water and chips are allowed. There are no nearby places to eat at but there resto offers a variety of food to choose from. The Lebanese grilled chicken was excellent!

      The beach was dirty from the rains. But just the wind and the view are enough to relax you on a weekend trip. Will definitely book again !

      Room tip: Block 300 has wheelchair accessible rooms. Block 100 is nearer the resto and pool.
      Date of stay: August 2019
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Service
      1  Thank michaelbV4892BM
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed July 25, 2019 via mobile

      Went there with my son to do wakeboarding....great : the wakepark is nice and very few riders. Very nice staff which also gives you advice....the hotel is quite nice. Very comfortable beds, and nice location close to the sea....the food is very diversified and very good....only one little complain : very few TV chanels

      Date of stay: July 2019
      Trip type: Traveled with family
      2  Thank artclem
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

      One of the most beautiful way to bond with your family is to bring them in a place where you can enjoy their company with good food, good service and with a serene atmosphere. I was pregnant with our twins during our visit and it was the best experience to ease cravings. Guests are so friendlybas influenced by the culture that place have.

      Date of stay: October 2018
      Trip type: Traveled with family
      Thank zetsuicarolino
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed April 26, 2019

      We stayed here for a night from April 17-18, 2019 and booked was given Room 506 in Block 300. Block 300 is a 1-storey building (no stairs) with a parking lot right in front of the rooms so easy to haul stuff. It's also very close to the pool and clubhouse.

      Room Pros:
      1) big and roomy, with a queen bed and a single bed with pullout (room is good for 4 pax comfortably)
      2) with dining and kitchen area
      3) with spacious and clean bathroom that had good shower area and enough shelves for you to place toiletries
      4) 2 bottles of complimentary water provided
      5) More than enough towels
      6) Comfy bed and pillows!
      7) Quiet at night; has good views of the beach

      Room Cons:
      1) Outdated furnishing - cabinets were old, mini-ref was old and somewhat noisy; room showed signs of age and could have been better for the price (room rate was P2,500 per night or about USD50)
      2) TV did not have cable channels
      3) Aircon doesn't have a remote (you have to call the front desk/housekeeping each time you want to have the temperature adjusted)

      We ate all our meals at the restaurant and the food was good and reasonably priced.

      Wifi was fast and I had no trouble connecting all throughout my stay.

      Staff was super super friendly and accommodating. They know what good customer service means and for me that made all the difference so even if my room was just okay it didn't lessen my enjoyment of my stay. Kudos to the staff!

      Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Lago de Oro. I went there to relax and was able to do just that.

      Date of stay: April 2019
      • Trip type: Traveled with family
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Service
      4  Thank wheremyfeettakeme
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed April 4, 2019

      We stayed at Lago de Oro in Dec. 2018. The resort was nicely decorated with Christmas ornaments and guests could really feel the Christmas spirit. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We reserved 2 rooms facing the pool. The rooms were a bit old but still clean. Aircon was easily adjustable via remote. The highlight was wakeboarding and other activities for the kids such as pony riding and swimming. I highly recommend Lago de Oro if you would like a quick and nice getaway from the city.

      Room tip: Choose the rooms facing the pool on the ground floor.
      Date of stay: December 2018
      • Trip type: Traveled with family
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      2  Thank 134adelaidal
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews