We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveler rating
35
169
178
117
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
169
178
117
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffetpizza placesea viewbus stopwould stay here againcaribbean seacomfortable roomnice staywater pressuredecent foodhotel barspublic beachgorgeous viewscreole buffetshopping centretwo twin bedsisland
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

My husband and I stayed at Hotel La Bateliere from Feb 23 to March 3. We chose it for value and beach access. Unfortunately, there is just not much to walk to from this hotel and we did not want to rent a car. We made a few trips to the nearby grocery store and ate pizza from the takeout place just outside the hotel grounds. The beach is small but lovely and the beach restaurant, Lili's, has a great vibe and tasty cocktails.

Besides the location, our other complaint about the hotel is that there was just one umbrella by the pool. So there is a race every morning to get the space under the palm trees or the lounges under the one umbrella. I asked the pool manager to put out more umbrellas and he told me that the umbrellas were all broken. That would seem to me to be something that could be fixed in short order.

Generally, the staff at the hotel is very friendly and helpful, though they speak minimal English. I speak some French and we had no problem communicating. If you are uncomfortable in a place where there are not a lot of Americans, then this hotel is not for you.

We loved Martinique and will return again, though I think we will choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are best
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marelarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Super site...
Great food here... really ....
Just taste the buffet on fridays... Moreover a great jazz band up there on fridays.... incredible sound... these guys are great... playing good ones of Mr Hanckok and his watermelon things.
Special thanks To Lucien and François at the bars... wow

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Thank Jerome D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bateliere, Responsable relations clients at Hotel La Bateliere, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Jerome,

Thank you for the excellent review! We're delighted to hear that you had a good experience with us.
Our staff is dedicated to providing our guests with courteous and attentive service.

We look forward to hosting you again soon for another stellar experience.

Elisabeth
Community manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Had a good sleep here.

Room looked and felt awful - wooden slab/stick at the foot of the balcony door - presumably because the door lock didn’t work, rusting furniture on the balcony.

Bed was comfortable with good pillows, bathroom was dark with a smelly shower curtain and cracked porcelain on the bath.

Breakfast was a serious health hazard: I saw countless birds pecking at all the available food - particularly at the egg station, ham, onion cheese, yep the birds had a choice.

However, the Beach is a gem, small compact and safe, Lovely, There is a bar/restaurant directly on the beach, serving great food.

Because of the beach and fab food in the beach restaurant all is forgiven Hotel La Bateliere.
Unfortunately, I can’t recommend you.

I sincerely hope that you return to your former glory - you could be fabulous

Best wishes.
HbHdAeM

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Thank HbHdAeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bateliere, Community manager at Hotel La Bateliere, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear customer,

Thank you for taking a moment to reflect on your experience.
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay: the bed with its good pillows, the food and the beach.

However, we extend our sincerest apologies for any shortcomings you encountered
Should you return to our Hotel, we would love an opportunity to provide you with a better experience.

Kind regards

Elisabeth
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Fantastic location. The small beach is beautiful although it can get very busy at the weekends when locals come down to use it.
The hotel needs some money spent on it! It is in need of a refurbishment - it is beginning to look shabby.
The breakfast is exceptional but too expensive in my opinion at €15 per person.
The dinner menu isn't as varied as I would have thought for the size of the hotel and I felt quite expensive for what you got! Not overly impressed - €24 for a steak.
The bedrooms are large but beginning to get shabby!
The bathroom we had needed a good overhaul. The shower was a hand held shower which if you put it in the bracket on the wall sprayed all over the end wall and the water than ran onto the floor!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank messymassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bateliere, Community manager at Hotel La Bateliere, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen La Batelière for your stay, and thank you for your comment.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 February 2018

But parking is hell. There was some kind of fair in the reception rooms so the parking even for the hotel guests were chaotic. They had a field next to the parking. Because of rain this field became very muddy.
The breakfast is excellent.
Yes - you can see that this hotel is not new. But our room was clean. The staff polite. ANd the price is set to the standard.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bateliere, Community manager at Hotel La Bateliere, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Jan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment.

We are sorry that you have to complain about our parking, we usually organise seminar and professional events but we propose two very important parking which can welcom many cars.
We will not miss to let all members of staff know about your compliments and feeling.
We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,

Elisabeth
Community manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews